No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Devoncourt Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
16 DOUGLAS AVENUE , EXMOUTH, EX8 2EX
The Devoncourt Hotel & Apartments comprises 49 hotel rooms and suites with one and two bedroom apartments accommodating four or six people respectively, many with sea views, balconies, double bathrooms and kitchenettes. There is complimentary wi-fi throughout the building and available in all rooms and apartments. There is also a free car park on site available for all guests.

There is an on-site restaurant called Brasserie 16 who are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, booking is advised. The Restaurant is extremely popular and is renowned for its high quality of food and service. It is run by the Townsend family who have a wealth of experience within the catering and hospitality industry. A Friendly Welcome, Good Food and Good Service are their Priority.

Picture of Devoncourt Hotel, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 181 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sympathy for the Manager!
This hotel could be absolutely brilliant, however, since it has been left in the 1960's, it is far from even adequate. The bed was small and very uncomfortable, although clean everything had a dingy appearance as it had not been decorated or up-dated for decades. The bathroom ceiling had a large crack all the way across and bath panel held in place by a piece of wood. The room had a balcony which one would not wish to use as it was dirty and needed painting.
Our sympathies go out to the staff and manager who seem to swimming against a tide of neglect due to the owner's reluctance to invest in any re-furnishment.

Reviewed by
B Lowndes

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great facilities but a little outdated
Great hotel facilities for a long weekend but a little outdated and several of the room appliances didn't work very well - very bad toilet flush, very hot shower, hair dryer broken and bathroom light didn't work properly.

Reviewed by
J Green

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
Had a short break but wanted to stay longer. 205 Was a spacious apartment but a bit dated.
Comfy bed and huge flat screen TV.
Shower over bath for me and walk in shower for disabled husband so ideal.
Lovely,friendly.helpful staff. Super leisure facilities. Easy parking and access to beach.
Will return.

Reviewed by
S Perrin

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well managed and scenic outlook, all staff and management very pleasent and very helpfull.

Reviewed by
E Sargeant

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
really enjoyed our stay, beautiful garden, lovely pool, helpful staff, great sea view room!

Reviewed by
david c

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devoncourt Accommodation
The hotel is very tired and in need of refurbishment, however it was friendly, clean, and had a lovely atmosphere. Location is perfect. I would challenge the 4 star rating.
It's a great place for families, just a short walk to the beach, and plenty of room outside and inside for children.
It isn't really a place for a couple to have a weekend get away. We were visiting friends and so it ticked most boxes for us.

Reviewed by
Sharon G

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay in the Devoncourt. The outside (gardens, putting green, croquet, pool, tennis was great, the bar and seating area facing the gardens were great and it is close enough to the beah as well. We were in a front facing room with a bath and huge TV, but it maybe didn't quite fit with the splendour out the back. Overall, a good place to stay in Exmouth.

Reviewed by
E Yarker

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious accommodation and very welcoming staff
We only stayed one night but were most impressed by the Devoncourt Hotel. Desk staff are super friendly, warm and welcoming. We had an apartment with large rooms, a balcony and a view over the lovely gardens. Decor is a touch passé but still comfortable and reminds one of a more solid and generous era when hotel guests were not crammed into small purpose built spaces. The rooms were excellent value for the price and we were sorry we were only staying one night.

Reviewed by
Claire M

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent

Reviewed by
chris p

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In Need of Updating
Lovely white linens, very clean but bathroom let it down, clean but very old.
Unfortuately the bed was a little hard, pillows were nice and fluffy, nice room just for me.

Reviewed by
Shelly Hills

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next