No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devoncourt Resort

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
16 DOUGLAS AVENUE , EXMOUTH, EX8 2EX
The Devoncourt Resort & Apartments comprises 49 rooms and suites with one and two bedroom apartments accommodating four or six people respectively, many with sea views, balconies, double bathrooms and kitchenettes. There is complimentary wi-fi throughout the building and available in all rooms and apartments. There is also a free car park on site available for all guests.

There is an on-site restaurant called Brasserie 16 who are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, booking is advised. The Restaurant is extremely popular and is renowned for its high quality of food and service. It is run by the Townsend family who have a wealth of experience within the catering and hospitality industry. A Friendly Welcome, Good Food and Good Service are their Priority.

Picture of The Devoncourt Resort, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 184 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
The hotel looked very nice from the outside and upon entry the reception was supported. my booking was found quickly and they completed my booking in very well. The room was on the first floor and I took the lift (its very old and the type you see the wall moving no security to protect the moving parts) My room was next to the lift. When I entered the room it smelt damp but looked clean and well presented if a little old fashioned. The bathroom had a very old pressure driven shower with a choice of burn or freeze settings. the tiles were broken in places and although someone had tried to fix they still fell off the pipe boxing. The bed was comfortable except for the bobbly sheets I think they were quite old and in need of replacement.
I didn't try the facilities as I had work to do. The night was a very long one with the noise of the lift moving and banging throughout the night.
The staff once again handled my check out with great efficiently. I would not stay again.

Reviewed by
Dawn S

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Standard
A lovely clean room,well furnished with an amazing view.
The leisure facilities are arranged in a rather chaotic fashion but everything worked and again was nice and clean.

Reviewed by
David P

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortabe
very comfortable room, bit dated but this made it more comfi. clean bedding, clean bathroom and apartment. corridor very smelly kitchen well equipped. didn't get time to use facilities, but looked good.

Reviewed by
T Hall

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My sister and I had a wonderful time. It's in a beautiful location with beach a few minutes away. The suites are excellent value. Thanks to all the staff.

Reviewed by
J L

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
could not fault the hotel or the staff

Reviewed by
alan s

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop off in Exmouth
We found the facilities at the hotel very good however our room which turned out to be a suite was very dated however it served the purpose for our overnight stay in Exmouth where we enjoyed a superb meal on the River Exe floating restaurant before going on to our main holiday in Cornwall

Reviewed by
Valerie R

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sympathy for the Manager!
This hotel could be absolutely brilliant, however, since it has been left in the 1960's, it is far from even adequate. The bed was small and very uncomfortable, although clean everything had a dingy appearance as it had not been decorated or up-dated for decades. The bathroom ceiling had a large crack all the way across and bath panel held in place by a piece of wood. The room had a balcony which one would not wish to use as it was dirty and needed painting.
Our sympathies go out to the staff and manager who seem to swimming against a tide of neglect due to the owner's reluctance to invest in any re-furnishment.

Reviewed by
B Lowndes

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great facilities but a little outdated
Great hotel facilities for a long weekend but a little outdated and several of the room appliances didn't work very well - very bad toilet flush, very hot shower, hair dryer broken and bathroom light didn't work properly.

Reviewed by
J Green

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
Had a short break but wanted to stay longer. 205 Was a spacious apartment but a bit dated.
Comfy bed and huge flat screen TV.
Shower over bath for me and walk in shower for disabled husband so ideal.
Lovely,friendly.helpful staff. Super leisure facilities. Easy parking and access to beach.
Will return.

Reviewed by
S Perrin

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well managed and scenic outlook, all staff and management very pleasent and very helpfull.

Reviewed by
E Sargeant

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next