The Montcalm London City

5

42-46 CHISWELL STREET, LONDON, EC1Y 4SB

Price From 387.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (53)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Ball

  • April 2015

The Montcalm London City

Was amazing looked after and what a hotel it has the WOW factor.

  • Don Manley

  • April 2015

Five Star

I booked the hotel for a birthday surprise for my wife, who did not know where we were staying.

When I booked the room I did mention it was a birthday surprise. When we arrived to check in my wife was asked if she wanted a complmentry bottle of wine for her birthday, which I thought was a nice touch. Hovever, when being passed the key pass to our room, I was informed that we has been upgraded to a suite. We stayed in the Wow suite, which was fantasic, four poster bed, leather furniture etc and one of the best bathrooms and shower ever. I have never been upgraded before and it could not have happened in a better hotel. The staff were exelent, even popped into the attached pub to remind me my cab had arrived for my wife's other surprise a meal in the Shard. I have to say the hotel and staff and the level of service was first class and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a touch of luxury in London. I would also like to thank the hotel and staff for the pleasant surprise of an upgrade and making our stay most enjoyable. Thank you The Montcalm, London City.

  • francis w

  • April 2015

The Montcalm is a hidden gem

Good value for this quality of a hotel, great location, excellent food in the Jugged Hare, very helpful staff.

Confusion layout but when you get used to it, it all adds to the unique experience of the converted brewery. Two Tube stations within three minutes walk.

  • L Roberts

  • April 2015

Surprising upgrade

  • Daniel E

  • April 2015

Excellent

Booked this for my son and future daughter in law, hotel staff could not of been more helpful, even gave them an upgrade.

  • N Garbett

  • March 2015

A pleasant surprise

Booking this hotel was a last minute decision.

We arrived rather early, we were given a room straight away. Our room was big enough for one night stay. It looks like it has recently been refurbished, the room was very, very clean, I loved the little touches, spent some time working out the shower. The Barbican centre is just around the corner from there, this was a bonus as we had a celebration at the Barbican. For London Prices I feel what we paid was a fair price. I would recommend this place. I will definitely stay here again.

  • William P

  • March 2015

A downhill experience after walking through the entrance!

Had my room preferences checked out before arrival which was a nice touch.

However, upon arrival I HAD to present the credit card used for prepaid booking. No budging here which is pretty inconvenient, just referred back to the small print on the website. Then taken on a hike to my room via 2 lifts and an up and down corridor, all pretty confusing. Shown an exit that avoids the trek but not informed you can't reenter that way. Another hike and eventually work out you can get back in (u challenge!) through the gastro pub. I'd feel safer if the lift had to be enabled via a room key,

After phoning reception to find the light switch to extinguish the coffee making light, hit the very comfy bed and pillow menu chosen pillows, am then awoken at 6am with the bathroom plumbing making loud glugging noises for about 5 mins. Reception not well trained to deal with feedback, clearly expecting a smiling everything was lovely answer to how I felt about my stay. Had a follow up email apologising which is fine, but no response to the check i comments.

Will I stay again. Not too sure which is a shame as well located and nice room.

  • J Lee

  • January 2015

In the city

A splendid hotel.

  • Adam B

  • December 2014

fantastic!

Fantastic hotel and great value for money.

Excellent service!

  • Matthew L

  • December 2014

Faultless

My girlfriend and I took a recent trip to London and stayed at the Montcalm in the city hotel.

The hotel had an extremely good offer on at the time so we decided to take advantage. The hotel was extremely nice with large rooms of which were very clean. The staff were excellent and couldn't do more to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I will be returning and would definitely recommend this hotel. FYI nearby parking is very reasonable.