No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Birmingham

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS
better because it’s Birmingham
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's raring to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all!

• 7 Floors, 131 bedrooms
• 2 meeting & event spaces
• Check-in: from 3 pm, Check-out: till 12 pm
• 25 parking spaces
• Local public transport: Birmingham New Street Station is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel
• Restaurant & Bar & Lounge in the hotel
• Safety deposit box at the reception
• Take it easy: Breakfast with more time for relaxation on every sunday until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm
• Desk, telephone, 26-inch flat-screen TV, air conditioning, hair dryer and bath amenities in every room
• Free on-demand pay TV with Sky Sports and premium movie channels
• Copy machine and fax available
• Room service is available
• GYM
• Complimentary Wifi

SEVEN STOREYS OF RELAXATION
You may not be aware that Birmingham is home to over six million trees, yet just one pentahotel. We love trees, but we wouldn't dream of sleeping in one, so might we suggest that you hug them by all means, but sleep with us? Apart from the comfort of your pentaroom, everything else on each of our seven floors is wonderfully at ease as well. Our unique pentalounge was designed by star Italian architect Matteo Thun to be a restaurant, bar, meeting point and chill-out area all in one. You've never checked in to a more relaxed hotel reception, we promise.

Picture of pentahotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 176 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Breakfast
Staff were welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was great - I have never had such a choice before. Dining room and bar area had a pleasant atmosphere/appearance.
Bedroom was adequate - some furnishings were a bit shabby e.g. stains on sofa. Also only 1 pillow each.
Lovely toiletries provided. TV had free films. There was also a gym and free pool table - though we didn't use these.

Reviewed by
K Petrie

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great escape
Great hotel for a city escape. Nice vibe, cool to have a pool table and pinball in bar area. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul P

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
The room service food options are very limited and somewhat unhealthy, not what you need after a long day at work and travel, choices of burger, BLT, fish and chips or pizza! I also had to contact the hotel twice after departure as they left the pre authorisation amount sat on my credit card of £106 despite me asking for it to be removed at checkout {they said it wasn't on there and I had to show them on the app on my phone it was} and when I checked a day later it was still on there so had to make the call again to get it removed. Part of the table fell apart in my room when room service was delivered sending the bin and my belongings shooting across the room. Unlikely to stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Lisa Patient

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant and no fee for late check out
Very friendly environment, we stayed over on Saturday night great atmosphere on arrival as the reception is combined with a bar. The best part about the stay was not having to pay for late check out at check out on sunday is 3pm. Which means no early wake up calls from the cleaners rushing you to leave your room. I would defiantly recommend if you are going out the night before. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
E Nicholson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Hotel was in an excellent location. Room was pretty much what I expected. Would stay again if in Birmingham. Late check out on a Sunday was great. Parking isn't great on site was full when I got there. Multi-storey near by but not cheap and remember to take the ticket with you if parking there. Need it to get into car park as a pedestrian

Reviewed by
Steffan A

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
Lovely hotel great location.

Reviewed by
Keely R

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel - inconsiderate guests
What a shame, this place is really neat, clean, spacious rooms, perfect location for going out, complimentary bottled water, free movies, quirky bath products but the other guests were a disgrace. We stayed on the 6th floor on a Saturday night. Probably should have known better. We got back around 2am. Heard a couple arguing most of the night, doors being slammed. Worst of all some mofo knocked on every door whilst walking down the corridor at about 5am. Complimentary earplugs would be perfect. We probably won't stay again but I except it probably wasn't the hotels fault but it looks like they are attracting idiots.

Reviewed by
Tina B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Penta Birmingham
Bit annoyed that I booked a superior room only to be told on arrival that it wasnt available.
Room was adequate enough,staff were helpful.
Room service cheeseburger was huge and tasty,but was 13 quid!
The cleaners knocked on my door all morning which was a joke. Surely reception can tell them when I've checked out!

Reviewed by
Anthony Sullivan

From reading , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, very very helpful and accomodating staff
Had to change room on 1st night due to problems with plug sockets etc & various parts of rook falling apart (literally). Thereafter the accomodation could be improved like the addition of a cupboard like other 4 star hotels.
But have to reiterate I've never met such lovely, co-operative, accomodating and helpful staff at any other hotel before. Customer service is 5 Star!

Reviewed by
Afshan H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year break
Staff were amazing, breakfast is out of this world.

Reviewed by
steve davies

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next