No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Birmingham

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS
better because it’s Birmingham
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's raring to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all!

• 7 Floors, 131 bedrooms
• 2 meeting & event spaces
• Check-in: from 3 pm, Check-out: till 12 pm
• 25 parking spaces
• Local public transport: Birmingham New Street Station is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel
• Restaurant & Bar & Lounge in the hotel
• Safety deposit box at the reception
• Take it easy: Breakfast with more time for relaxation on every sunday until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm
• Desk, telephone, 26-inch flat-screen TV, air conditioning, hair dryer and bath amenities in every room
• Free on-demand pay TV with Sky Sports and premium movie channels
• Copy machine and fax available
• Room service is available
• GYM
• Complimentary Wifi

SEVEN STOREYS OF RELAXATION
You may not be aware that Birmingham is home to over six million trees, yet just one pentahotel. We love trees, but we wouldn't dream of sleeping in one, so might we suggest that you hug them by all means, but sleep with us? Apart from the comfort of your pentaroom, everything else on each of our seven floors is wonderfully at ease as well. Our unique pentalounge was designed by star Italian architect Matteo Thun to be a restaurant, bar, meeting point and chill-out area all in one. You've never checked in to a more relaxed hotel reception, we promise.

Picture of pentahotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 176 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel - inconsiderate guests
What a shame, this place is really neat, clean, spacious rooms, perfect location for going out, complimentary bottled water, free movies, quirky bath products but the other guests were a disgrace. We stayed on the 6th floor on a Saturday night. Probably should have known better. We got back around 2am. Heard a couple arguing most of the night, doors being slammed. Worst of all some mofo knocked on every door whilst walking down the corridor at about 5am. Complimentary earplugs would be perfect. We probably won't stay again but I except it probably wasn't the hotels fault but it looks like they are attracting idiots.

Reviewed by
Tina B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Penta Birmingham
Bit annoyed that I booked a superior room only to be told on arrival that it wasnt available.
Room was adequate enough,staff were helpful.
Room service cheeseburger was huge and tasty,but was 13 quid!
The cleaners knocked on my door all morning which was a joke. Surely reception can tell them when I've checked out!

Reviewed by
Anthony Sullivan

From reading , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, very very helpful and accomodating staff
Had to change room on 1st night due to problems with plug sockets etc & various parts of rook falling apart (literally). Thereafter the accomodation could be improved like the addition of a cupboard like other 4 star hotels.
But have to reiterate I've never met such lovely, co-operative, accomodating and helpful staff at any other hotel before. Customer service is 5 Star!

Reviewed by
Afshan H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year break
Staff were amazing, breakfast is out of this world.

Reviewed by
steve davies

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would highly recommend
All staff efficient, helpful and friendly. Room was simple and clean.

Reviewed by
H Baker

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
Staff are extremely helpful and can't do enough for you. Breakfast was amazing and the bar/restaurant area is well set out, loved the decor! Rooms were clean with nice little touches, free movies, bottled water and toiletries.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

homely
A good hotel .and the staff where so helpful .

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel I have stayed in for a while
From arriving could not have asked for better. The staff where so friendly and helpful and the atmosphere within the hotel was complete relaxation. The rooms were perfect even down to the luxury soft towels. the location made the hotel even better with it being just a short walk into the shopping centre. The breakfast, what can I say I wish I could eat like that everyday

Reviewed by
T Barnes

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced Marlboro Country
I got lumped with a smoking room (I didn't even know these still existed!). I'm an ex-smoker (20-30 a day) and my home never smelt this bad.
Great decor in the communal areas and a good atmosphere, the room was therefore a complete disappointment. Bad laminate flooring and terrible bedding.
Breakfast was good, better than most.

Reviewed by
O Ludlam

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

let down
No help with parking even though laterooms website said onsite and off site parking available. On site was busy but then just to be told that i would have to find somewhere or leave on the side street which looking at the area was unacceptable. Room was dirt and had previous guests belongings in. Toilet flush wasnt working and nothing was done to fix. Got to the stage i didnt use the toilet and left early in the morning. Oh and breakfast was cold....sorry but all true...Poor

Reviewed by
Shaz A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next