No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swallow Hotel Glasgow

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
517 Paisley Road West , Glasgow, G51 1RW
*Free Wifi now available throughout hotel*

The Swallow Glasgow is a busy, friendly, hotel on the outskirts of the city centre, offering an ideal base from which to enjoy the thriving and cultural city of Glasgow. The hotel is a great location for exploring the west coast of Scotland and is within easy reach of Glasgow Airport and main routes to the West Coast, Ayrshire, The Borders and Edinburgh. You are within walking disctance of Ibrox Stadium and the Science Centre.

The hotel hosts 116 bedrooms, all with private bathrooms and equipped with satellite television, telephone, hospitality tray, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, and free wifi.

The restaurant and bar offer a range of dining offers from a snack to a steak, including a nightly menu and house specials.

The Swallow Glasgow hotel is widely known for its hospitality and friendly atmosphere, and with the city centre just a minutes drive away is the perfect city break for couples and groups alike.
Picture of Swallow Hotel Glasgow, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 202 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, great location, room nice and clean, breakfast good.
The only thing we could fault was the mattresses on the bed. They weren't comfortable. Could feel all the springs through them. The pillows were good though. Everything else was excellent, an we would use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
J Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good on a bad day as staff had been given notice.

Reviewed by
Christopher C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
Some of the décor and carpeting is beginning to look dated.

Reviewed by
Robert Purves

From West Linton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent amenities and friendly staff
The room was good with everything in it I need. Tea making , wifi, iron and board . The fact that it is dog friendly was essential for me.
I thought the bar menu could be varied a bit more .
I was very pleased to be staying there and it was easy to get to Central Glasgow.

Reviewed by
D Piper

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay in glasgow at the swallow hotel
The swallows staff were friendly,helpful and polite the room was clean and tidy the breakfast was first class definitely stay there again a ten out of ten from me

Reviewed by
K Muddiman

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The advertised reduction from £100 to £ 50 was misleading - the room would never be worth £100.
I complained about the quality of the first room and reception staff were helpful and friendly - showing me another two rooms. The second I was shown was just acceptable - but the hotel is basically very run down and shabby which - as was certainly the case with the first two rooms I was show, made it unpleasantly dirty and smelly (walls, carpets etc).

Reviewed by
Joanne T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor

Reviewed by
barrie h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Read previous reviews so already knew what to expect , paid £100 a night as commonwealth games were on had tickets so had no choice to take what was on offer ! No rates normally reflect hotel conditions. Quite sad really to see this once smart hotel in such a poor state of repair wonder how long it can remain with today's travellers demanding ever higher standards of accommodation . Must be very disheartening for the staff all of whom seemed very pleasant and helpful .

Reviewed by
jayne c

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean room and breakfast very good.
Evening meal value just ok but very basic quality.
Only ate in hotel for breakfast and only first night in the evening.
Price extremely cheap.

Reviewed by
janice f

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Swallow
I found the hotel needed a make I ER, furniture/decoration etc needs urgent attention.
Evening meal very limited range and expensive for what it was.
Service quite slow.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next