No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE CHESTER ABBOTS WELL HOTEL

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester, CH3 5QL
Book into our 4-star Chester hotel, close to the city's main attractions and cosmopolitan buzz. The Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel is nestled amid two acres of landscaped gardens just two miles from central Chester and the Cheshire Oaks outlet village. The 126 guest rooms offer internet access and satellite TV. The Brasserie and The Bar offer gourmet cuisine, light snacks and a cosy spot for a nightcap and there's an indoor pool and fitness centre. Our 11 meeting rooms welcome up to 220 people..
Picture of MERCURE CHESTER ABBOTS WELL HOTEL, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent hotel for price but service should be better
The hotel itself is good value, with free parking and welcoming reception area. Rooms are small but sufficient though bathroom was very compact...
The leasire facilities were tired looking and changing rooms/pool area was cold.
My main concern was the lack of service at the bar. Despite there being around 10/12 people in the bar area there was no bar staff to serve, to teh point I needed to go to reception to ask why when I wanted to order food and drink. A member of staff arrived and I did feel like I was an inconvenience to him, as did other people their, in fact most started to laugh at it as every tie anyone wanted a drink no one was around to serve.

Reviewed by
David W

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New year
Nice place in a great location for Chester, the zoo and other attractions

Reviewed by
Lloyd H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for Park and Ride into Chester
Check in was quick and efficient. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Room a little tired but clean. Drinks expensive at the bar.
Good selection at breakfast but as we ate early on Sunday the dining room was quiet and food had sat a little longer on the hotplate than it should which meant that lots of elements were cold. However, really convenient for the park & ride into Chester which for us, as this was a girlie shopping trip was key. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Julie White

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Robbs Retreat.
Hotel ok but only one bath towel between two. For the price it would have been nice to have biscuits in the room to go with the tea and coffee (surly wouldn't cost that much.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MERCURE CHESTER ABBOTS WELL HOTEL
Clean comfortable and quick service.

Reviewed by
C Sloan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure
Although the room and en-suite was rather compact, the stay offered good value for money with no complaints whatsoever. Will be staying again next year

Reviewed by
David D

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Zoo trip.
Great hotel location for the zoo and Chester. Dissapointed with the room fell below the normal standards of Mecure. Far too hot, poor level of cleanliness and shower pressure just did not happen. However good staff and great food.

Reviewed by
L Clark

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top weekend
Great hotel ideally situated with only £5 taxi into centre of Chester. Room very clean and huge comfy bed.

Reviewed by
J Southern

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient overnight stay
stayed in this hotel as it was convenient for a family event nearby. Soft furnishings in the hotel require a revamp. But that said, bed was very comfortable, shower hot and strong, and plenty of tea/coffee in room, free parking on site. Staff were lovely. Had a evening meal in the restuarant which we enjoyed and wasnt over priced. Returning to the hotel for a night cap, we paid £14 for two glasses of wine. Thought this was excessive. Stayed in other city hotels and never been charged this much.
Hotel was outside of the city centre and a car is needed to access easily the city.

Reviewed by
Tracey T

From Frizington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired & Dirty
Hotel is in a great location but is dirty & tired.The room was dirty, the carpet was disgusting.
The food was rubbish, tasteless and customer service is a word that clearly the staff do not know or understand.

Reviewed by
IAIN R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next