Reviews - Mill Hotel & Spa Destination


Milton Street, Chester, CH1 3NF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (271)

95% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Robb

  • October 2015

Mill Hotel & Spa Destination

Although the hotel is just 5 mins from city center it is peaceful and relaxing with lovely views of canal from our room.

Everything about the hotel was of a high standard and would not hesitate to recommend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • K Gridley

  • October 2015

Excellent 2nd visit to this hotel

We were so impressed during our first stay here, we both wanted to return again.

We were not disappointed our stay was perfect and the food was excellent. Easy reach of Chester Centre and the railway station..

  • Andrew R

  • October 2015

Well positioned hotel

My main reason for picking this hotel was the fact it has a good sized free car park.

I was optimistic that it would be within easy walking distance of the centre of Chester and that was indeed the case. The walk to the town was only 5 minutes or so. The room was quite large and clean although it was quite stuffy at night. There was a fan in the wardrobe but unfortunately we didn't find it until we were packing to leave, we might well have used it. We made use of the pool and jacuzzi, both of which were fine. Breakfast was a very reasonable standard.

  • James B

  • September 2015

Mill Hotel & Spa Destination

Nice hotel with very friendly staff

  • Debar Baker

  • September 2015

Fantastic hotel

Fantastic hotel !.

We had great time . !.

  • D Faunch

  • September 2015

Room with a view

Room with Canal view not worth requesting Arrived early told to come back later No have you had a long journey .

No suggestion made to have a coffee or lunch while we waited Or let's check if your room is ready now Just come back later Not good service from reception staff

  • dave nixon

  • September 2015

Jill and Dave's

Good , large room , comfy king size bed .

5 mins canalside walk to city

Spot on

  • craig W

  • September 2015

Five Nights In Chester

Nice welcome from reception.

Had requested a quiet room and this is what we got. Facing canal and on fifth floor. There is a busy road nearby so if you stayed on other side of Hotel may be a problem. Booked the trip on the canal from the Hotel and enjoyed a four course dinner. Fantastic value and excellent meal. Breakfast was served buffet style and replenished regularly. Hotel bar was always busy with reasonably priced drinks. bed was very comfortable and room clean and comfortable. No air con which may be a problem l if weather is very hot. All in all a very enjoyable stay and would return.

  • A Gee

  • September 2015

A great Hotel.

My wife and I stayed at the mill over the August bank holiday.

Although upgrades and renovations are taking place to the reception area this did not affect our stay and found the Hotel to be of very good quality. The bars inside the hotel stock a wide range of drinks and are very reasonably priced. If you get the opportunity to take the canal cruise then do, Its a must. We had the evening meal on board and it was lovely.

The location of the mill is excellent, only a couple of mins walk from Shops bars and attractions. Cant wait to go back.

  • D Flint

  • September 2015

Room was nothing special, hotel couldnt meet my requirements, and no air con made it uncomfortable

I contacted the hotel direct to see if we could have a room away from traffic noise and close to reception as i suffer from a disabiliity and a good nights sleep is vital for my condition and my mobility is limited.

The hotel replied and advsied they had put a note on my booking and would take my requriements into consideration when allocating the room...We were placed on the 2nd floor half way down the corridor right above the hotels barge so not only did we have road traffic noise, we had the added noise of people boarding the unboarding the boat, couldnt sleep with the window open as the noise outside was too loud however there was no air conditioning in the room so it was stuffy....Dont think the room was worth £100 a night, we booked an executive room however would have like to have seen a standard room to compare