No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill Hotel & Spa Destination

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Milton Street , Chester, CH1 3NF
Discover Chester's favourite venue, The Mill Hotel & Spa Destination has a waterside location within the centre of the Roman City of Chester. The Mill offers Complementary Car Parking, use of the 60ft Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and State of the art Techno-gym. The Public Bar has 16 different hand-pulled beers to choose from each week and has been featured in the Good Beer Guide for the last 10 years. The original Griffith's Corn Mill was built in c1830; the latest extention was completed in 2001 adding the south wing, which is connected with an internal bridge over the Shropshire Union Canal. The Mill has 5 different grades of rooms, from the Standard Rooms in the original Mill Building to the Spacious Club Class Rooms and very special Champagne Suite in the South Wing Building. All rooms are en-suite, have sky television and 8m wired internet. The Mill offers extensive dining options, with 5 options to wine & dine. The award wining waterside Canaletto Restaurant is open daily for lunch & dinner, serving food from both A la Carte and Table D'hote Menus. Friday & Saturdays in the Canaletto Restaurant are Dine & Dance evenings with dancing until 1.00am. L'eaut Cuisine Broad-beam Restaurant Cruiser moored alongside the hotel sails for lunch & dinner 7 days a week. Seating upto 50 people, the vessel has a licensed bar and dance floor. There are regular special events held, including Queen Mary Crown Cruises, Cruises and Roman High Tea Cruises. The Brasserie Flambe Steak Restaurant is open Sunday - Thursday, serving a range of starters, main courses and sweets plus a selection of special Mill Flamed Coffees. The Peppermill Trattoria located on the ground floor of the south wing building ideal for a light lunch after the gym, serving a range of sandwiches, baked potatoes and salads. The Deli Bar located within the Hotels Real Ale Bar, serves a range of traditional home-made bar meals.
In the tranquil surroundings of our Beauty Spa, we use only the finest Pevonia Botanica Products to provide face and body treatments for both men and women. Our retail counter stocks a comprehensive range of products, with free consultation and guidance. Further facilities include St. Tropez Ultimate Air Spray tanning booth, Hair Salon, Nail Bar and Kinesis Studio.
Picture of Mill Hotel & Spa Destination, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 306 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large hotel well placed for sightseeing
The furnishings of our standard room in the old building were tired and the double bed was 4'6" wide which seemed small these days. The quality of the food was good and the staff always pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Angela L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Great room, enjoyed a swim, easy walk into Chester city centre. Great value for money, cannot fault the place.

Reviewed by
P Clarke

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Poor value for money, basic functional room - Better facilities in a Travelodge! Personal requests overlooked which would have made our stay more memorable and not even able to book an evening meal in the restaurant!

Reviewed by
L Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break Mill Hotel and Spa, Chester
Whole experience very enjoyable. Excellent accommodation, very helpful and obliging staff, food very good and well priced, and standard of cleanliness throughout hotel very good. Easy for access to centre of city, and good base for travelling the area. Would recommend hotel to anyone. one of the best if not the best hotel we have in which we have stayed.

Reviewed by
john d

From oakham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
Friendly efficient and helpful staff . Clean and comfortable room. Good quality of food for breakfast and dinner. Good choice of food and drinks in bar.

Reviewed by
David F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food on the barge cruiser and breakfast was very nice too

Reviewed by
karen W

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dine on board!
Hotel experience not that good because workmen were digging up and relaying the main road right outside our room all night so sleeping was difficult!..Breakfast selection ok but not great (no black pudding, mushrooms, fried bread or hash browns) but quality ok.
The restaurant experience for both dinnerand a dining on board the hotel boat was EXCEPTIONAL. Two of the best 3 and 4 course meals we've had anywhere.

Reviewed by
GERALD HOBBS

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weekend
Good quality hotel, good value for money. Very friendly staff. Comfortable room very clean. Central location no need to use your car once parked. Excellent venue for a relaxing weekend away.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline G

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
The hotel was clean, comfortable, ideally situated in the centre of Chester. Great value for money. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
maureen clark

From gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Excellent hotel and great value for money. Only real issue we had with the room we had was the shower. I stand about 5'8" and the shower was too low even for me. I dread to think what it would be like for someone at 6'. Apart from that The Mill was excellent. Made use of the sauna and swimming pool and was impressed with both. Plenty of choices for food at reasonable prices and the bar wasn't overly priced like most hotels I've stayed in. All in all a great hotel which I would recommend without doubt.

Reviewed by
K Palmer

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next