No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill Hotel & Spa Destination

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Milton Street , Chester, CH1 3NF
Discover Chester's favourite venue, The Mill Hotel & Spa Destination has a waterside location within the centre of the Roman City of Chester. The Mill offers Complementary Car Parking, use of the 60ft Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and State of the art Techno-gym. The Public Bar has 16 different hand-pulled beers to choose from each week and has been featured in the Good Beer Guide for the last 10 years. The original Griffith's Corn Mill was built in c1830; the latest extention was completed in 2001 adding the south wing, which is connected with an internal bridge over the Shropshire Union Canal. The Mill has 5 different grades of rooms, from the Standard Rooms in the original Mill Building to the Spacious Club Class Rooms and very special Champagne Suite in the South Wing Building. All rooms are en-suite, have sky television and wifi. The Mill offers extensive dining options, with 5 options to wine & dine. The award wining waterside Canaletto Restaurant is open daily for lunch & dinner, serving food from both A la Carte and Table D'hote Menus. Friday & Saturdays in the Canaletto Restaurant are Dine & Dance evenings with dancing until 1.00am. L'eaut Cuisine Broad-beam Restaurant Cruiser moored alongside the hotel sails for lunch & dinner 7 days a week. Seating upto 50 people, the vessel has a licensed bar and dance floor. There are regular special events held, including Queen Mary Crown Cruises, Cruises and Roman High Tea Cruises. The Brasserie Flambe Steak Restaurant is open Sunday - Thursday, serving a range of starters, main courses and sweets plus a selection of special Mill Flamed Coffees. The Peppermill Trattoria located on the ground floor of the south wing building ideal for a light lunch after the gym, serving a range of sandwiches, baked potatoes and salads. The Deli Bar located within the Hotels Real Ale Bar, serves a range of traditional home-made bar meals.
In the tranquil surroundings of our Beauty Spa, we use only the finest Pevonia Botanica Products to provide face and body treatments for both men and women. Our retail counter stocks a comprehensive range of products, with free consultation and guidance. Further facilities include St. Tropez Ultimate Air Spray tanning booth, Hair Salon, Nail Bar and Kinesis Studio.
Picture of Mill Hotel & Spa Destination, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 310 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mill hotel and spa
All the staff were very friendly and professional, was an added bonus to have use of the spa was nice after a long day out to come back for a swim and sauna, only had dinner once in the hotel food was lovely.

Reviewed by
M Humphrey

From FELTHAM, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Shaun T

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding value for money
Great service all round.
Food great quality and not overpriced for a hotel.
Outstanding ranged of real ale in the real ale bar, and again good pricing.
Room was very clean with plenty of space
I will have no hesitation of using this hotel again.
Thank you for a great stay.

Reviewed by
Daryl B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mill Hotel & Spa Destination
No hot water in room. Offered another room.

Reviewed by
P Austin

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mill Hotel & Spa Destination
Great room and hotel only concern was the fact the bed was two singles on on super king size support which was a bit of a nuisance. But swimming pool and spa was great would highly recommend it thanks Ray Wood.

Reviewed by
Ray Wood

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

January Break
This is the second time we've stayed and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Pool and Spa facilities were excellent. We had a really relaxing time.

Reviewed by
Amanda R

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel and good value
The service at the hotel was superb as was the food, the ambiance of the hotel was good.
the disappointment was that we had 2 rooms booked for the same price yet one room was appointed with a double bed and was small yet the other room was larger and better appointed with a kingsize bed, this did not hamper us or make the stay any worse but it was slightly frustrating when I booked the hotel.

Reviewed by
david owen

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad stay
Overall not bad stay. Television in room was drifting off channel and we could not retune easily. Person pushed hotel invoice through bottom of room door in early hours which woke us up. We had previously received invoice when we checked in and paid?! Breakfast was good and hotel staff pleasant.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mill Hotel & Spa Destination
Nice position in city good value for money restaurants we would go again in Mill Hotel & Spa Destination.

Reviewed by
G Jones

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful hotel by canal
This was the second time we had stayed here and it was very busy just after Christmas but the hotel didn't let us down. The hotel staff were very pleasant and the room was extremely comfortable. The location of the hotel on the canal side is excellent, not far from the centre of town and within reach of walks around the walls. The breakfast was first class and again the staff were very pleasant and efficient and eager to please. We will definitely stay at The Mill Hotel & Spa again if we return to Chester.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next