No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brookside Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brook Lane , Chester, CH2 2AN
Brookside Hotel
Chester’s Hidden Gem

Where Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.

An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free car parking and Hot Spot Wi-Fi in all bedrooms & public areas.
Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat.
Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits, draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites.
In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.
All rooms are individually styled & serviced daily. Bedrooms include flat screen freeview TV/DVD player, digital radio, hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own private bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.
The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you.

In the interest of all guests staying at our hotel, we do not accept bookings for stag parties.
Picture of Brookside Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay.
We have just arrived back from a two night stay. The hoteliers are lovely,they can not do enough for you. The negatives that we are putting are for the hoteliers to see mainly. As they are so easily rectified. Breakfast was nice but we felt rushed. Dinner was also good apart from the fudge cake. The room we stayed in was 26. The bed was very low, so if you have a poorly back ask to be moved. The room is cleaned and bed made everyday. All in all it was a fantastic stay. It's not a very long walk from the centre. The cab ride was only £4.80. They book the cabs for you. It's really nice atmosphere. Pif you stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by
J Murby

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint hotel.
After a two night stay at this hotel we feel relaxed. The hotel was lovely. The room was nice and well decorated. The food was nice apart from the pudding. Breakfast was nice but rushed. The hoteliers were lovely hosts. The staff are really nice too. The walk to the city was good. The cab ride was just £4.80. If you are wanting to eat out go to la Fattoria Italian, but book as soon as you know when you are going as they are really busy. They take bookings a month in advance. All in all it is a great place to stay. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
James M

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Break
Pleasant, value for money stay.

Reviewed by
David S

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute short break
The hotel was very well presented both the room and the hotel itself. Staff very helpful and cheerful.
The meal in the restaurant was very good as was the breakfast. The room was very comfortable and roomy, and very pleasing, if I had to make a criticism it would be on my wifes behalf and that would be that there was no hairdrier in the room. Had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
r davison

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for shopping in Chester and taking in the sights.
My two adult daughters and I received a very warm welcome. All staff are exceptionally helpful very friendly/professional and actually wanting to please guests. Thanks to the help and advice from staff we were able to fit a lot into two days. We shopped in Chester, visited the Cathedral, ate lovely meals and visited Chester Zoo (discount price booked by hotel). All staff made you feel they were there just for you and nothing would be too much trouble.. A very clean hotel, comfy beds and the cosy rooms throughout the hotel all had little unique qualities. Even my two adult daughters agreed it was an ideal choice and looked forward to returning to the lovely peaceful atmosphere after shopping etc. Breakfast was a very pleasant experience. The calm and soothing atmosphere, smiling helpful staff and good food set us up for the busy day ahead. Would recommend this if you want to be close to city but away from the hustle and bustle.

Reviewed by
H Hutchings

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
We stayed for 2 nights. room very clean and comfortable beds had 2 good nights sleep. breakfast great, also had evening meal on one of the nights which was very nice and value for money. all staff were very friendly and helpful, given map of chester on arrival and information regarding taxis and buses into town. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
p russell

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brookside Hotel Chester
Arrived early at hotel so room not quite ready, but they kindly let us leave the car in the car park so that we could walk into town (about 10 minutes). On our return the receptionist (male) declared Room 21 his favourite room! It is on the second floor and at the back of the house, so nice and quiet. We had booked a Four Poster Double Room - when we entered the room there was a double bed, which indeed had 4 posts - but these were short posts - not our idea of a four poster. However, the room was a reasonable size, in that it also had a single bed insitu, small table and chairs, plus a dressing table - so we didn't make a fuss. The bathroom had a bath and overbath shower which worked fine. The bathroom could have been cleaner - there was a layer of dust on the toilet roll holder - and the holder itself and the bin let the room down - plastic and more 'industrial' looking. The bath was a good size. Breakfast (we are both vegetarian) was on the meagre side - we had a cooked veggie breakfast but there was only one vegetarian sausage and it just looked a bit thrifty. There was plenty of cereal or fruit though and we were offered more toast with breakfast. On paying the bill we mentioned that we didn't think the room was really a 'Four Poster' and the receptionist (different male) checked what room we were in and was most apologetic and explained that it used to be a Four Poster Room but the bed was removed after refurbishment- he adjusted our bill accordingly and said how disappointed he was for us and in the hotel for letting us down. He also printed off vouchers for Chester Zoo that got us 22% off the entry fee which was great. All in all the hotel is just ok - the staff were all pleasant, but on balance it was disappointing not to be given the room we had booked and the room we did stay in could have been cleaner, particularly the bathroom.

Reviewed by
S Catling

From Ferryside, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally situated hotel for visiting Chester lovely hotel
1st time to Chester would definitely come again 10 min walk to centre hotel very clean and welcoming Reception/barman a lovely guy massive help with local info , ordering taxi and even making us a snack when we arrived back to late for restaurant we did however find our room (22) a little on the small side and the shower pressure could have been better but did not distract from a lovely weekend would definitely return

Reviewed by
Beverley Potts

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brook side hotel
Customer service was excellent value for money. toilet needed some updating - painting and was generally needed skirting boards given some attention. Other than these couple of minor points our stay was very pleasant.

Reviewed by
S Bennett

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend the Club Room! It's a single room with a small double bed squeezed in.
Such a tight squeeze you could see where the Hoover had not been able to get close to skirtings and the walls were scuffed. I've slept in bigger rooms in a caravan! Also large cob webs around ceiling (photos taken). Reception and breakfast area were fine. Paid a double room price for a single really!

Reviewed by
N Sear

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next