Reviews - Brookside Hotel


Brook Lane, Chester, CH2 2AN

Price From 123.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (45)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Edmonds

  • October 2015

Home feel

This welcoming hotel has a real touch of home about it.

Perfectly situated within a ten minute walk of the centre and with its own car park it is well situated for sightseeing. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Chester which you will need on Sunday's as there are no meals at the hotel aside from breakfast. The morning service for breakfast is fast and friendly and the breakfast is very tasty too. All in all this is a great place to stay.

  • Neal S

  • October 2015

Great place to stay

Great place to stay if visiting Chester and especially close to Zoo.

Staff very friendly and efficient. Room comfortable and very pleasant. However tap water in room horrendous so take bottled water even to make hot drinks as none provided in room. Bar prices a bit steep. All in all a very enjoyable overnight stay and a really comfortable and dry smoking area. Full marks!

  • P Jordan

  • August 2015

Brookside Hotel

This is a Very good 3 * hotel,comfortable and homely the staff are very helpful.

Just a 10 minute walk into the city centre. The breakfast was excellent we also had an evening meal in the restaurant ,all the produce is locally sourced and is of very good quality .

  • Tony R

  • May 2015

Brookside Hotel

Really friendly staff, room clean, comfortable but small!

  • M O'Shea

  • March 2015

Brookside Hotel Chester

Excellent stay...Staff were friendly and polite.

Bed was really comfortable and Food quality was really good. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • K West

  • February 2015

Good Service tiny Rooms

We stayed in a so called family room which was realy only enough room for 1 person.

We complained and got a small reduction. The service was good but I would not recommend for more than 1 night stay if our room (25) was typical of size. I would recommend you see the room first before staying if a family.

  • P Wright

  • February 2015

A weekend at the Brookside

Upon arrival my wife and I were met by the proprietor.

She was very friendly and welcoming. She took the time to explain all of the sights and attractions in Chester and how to reach them. We were then taken to our room. It was on the small side but perfectly acceptable. It was clean and warm as was theen suite. The bed was ccomfortable albeit a little soft in the middle but the pillows quite hard. The following morning we had cereals and toast followed by a full English breakfast. The food was excellent and served promptly. We ate out on the evening so did not try the full menu, but it looked appetising. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Brookside and would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to anyone.

  • S Kiwacz

  • January 2015

Definitely book.

The hotel is a lovely clean romantic setting and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

I went for a child free birthday weekend and it was lovely and peaceful but close enough to all amenities via a very prompt taxi service.

  • J Murby

  • December 2014

Lovely stay.

We have just arrived back from a two night stay.

The hoteliers are lovely,they can not do enough for you. The negatives that we are putting are for the hoteliers to see mainly. As they are so easily rectified. Breakfast was nice but we felt rushed. Dinner was also good apart from the fudge cake. The room we stayed in was 26. The bed was very low, so if you have a poorly back ask to be moved. The room is cleaned and bed made everyday. All in all it was a fantastic stay. It's not a very long walk from the centre. The cab ride was only £4.80. They book the cabs for you. It's really nice atmosphere. Pif you stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • James M

  • December 2014

Quaint hotel.

After a two night stay at this hotel we feel relaxed.

The hotel was lovely. The room was nice and well decorated. The food was nice apart from the pudding. Breakfast was nice but rushed. The hoteliers were lovely hosts. The staff are really nice too. The walk to the city was good. The cab ride was just £4.80. If you are wanting to eat out go to la Fattoria Italian, but book as soon as you know when you are going as they are really busy. They take bookings a month in advance. All in all it is a great place to stay. We would definitely stay again.