You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Commercial Hotel Chester


St Peters Churchyard Northgate Street, Chester, CH1 2HG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jamie Shaw

  • August 2016

The Commercial Hotel Chester

Very helpful staff and very central location.

Could be too noisy if children were any younger than ours at 9 and 11. Room itself very nice and bathroom fantastic

  • Hugh H

  • May 2016

Rooms above a Bar

This is not an hotel but a series of rooms above a busy pub.

There are no reception or sitting room facilities. I could not find the Wifi and the TV in my room did not work. The rooms and clean and comfortable but if the bar is busy and music is playing do not expect a nights sleep.

  • Stuart B

  • May 2016


Great place to stay , rooms were great ,staff so welcoming and friendly .

Would definitely return .

  • a smout

  • December 2015

we booked for only one night the location is great you are in center of chester

the room was clean and a good size the staff and the owner were frendly and the breakfast in the morning was great would definatly stay again

  • T Jones

  • June 2015

Amazing room!!

We stayed in "Keats" room.

Amazing. Bathroom was something else very clean and well presented. Bed very comfortable.

Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.

There really is a DJ till 3am!.

In all would stay again

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments onto the staff.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,


General Manager

  • Georgina B

  • March 2015

Enjoyable, quirky city centre hotel

We stayed in the Byron suite, needing two separate rooms, for one night.

Although the bar and public rooms were closed for refurbishment, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly - even ringing me the day before to make sure I understood how the closure would affect us and meeting us from the car park so we could get in without getting lost. The place is definitely a pub/club with a few rooms - don't expect all the expensive bells and whistles that go with a big hotel - but the suite was lovely, spacious, comfortable and homely. Really well set up for us and a fantastic bathroom. For a simple, comfortable overnight (or longer), it is much more than adequate. Highly recommended - I will be back. Thank you to all working there, especially Rebecca the Manager.

  • neil c

  • January 2015

vibrant and lively

This place has a great feel to it - the room was very impressive and free entertainment in the form of DJs or live bands was an added bonus.

Not the place to stay for a 'quiet get away' but we loved it. Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble.

  • Linda M

  • December 2014

In the heart of the city

Room was beautiful and spacious.

Staff were welcoming and in an ideal location. We were advised in advance about the disco until 3.00 am, we slept right above it base box rocked us to sleep. Had a wonderful nights sleep, the disco did not bother me at all. Disappointed that we were unable to get food on the Saturday night as they closed the kitchen early as the bar was too busy.

  • B Barfield

  • November 2014

Superb Hotel with style!

We stayed in the Byron, it was beautifully decorated & the bathroom was to die for.

It was a lovely peaceful stay, yet the place made you feel quite alive. The hotel was like no other that we have stayed in before, the decor throughout was amazing & quirky, the staff were very friendly & welcoming. The bar areas, the breakfast room & even the stair well had a wow factor for all of us. The food was scrumptious & even the background music was superb. Overall we loved our stay there & would highly recommend it.

  • C Jones

  • October 2014

Guest experience at The Commercial Hotel

Once we had checked in at the bar, and negotiated our way the very busy bar we were taken to our room.

The member of staff tried to explain a bit about the room, but as it was located over the DJ dance area on the ground floor and as there were crowds outside, his voice in the room, standing only two feet away was hardly audible. However the room was clean and tastefully decorated and well presented.

As far as the staff was concerned, apart from Jack( who was leaving the hotels employ that night,) who also checked us in, the others had very care less attitude because when we wanted to check out the following morning it was not explained to us that breakfast was served until 10am. We were informed the following evening that it was served until 11am on check in. So when we asked for breakfast at 10.55 am there was some confusion and told that breakfast was no longer available and after having already paid for breakfast, and the chef still being present in the kitchen ( as it was admitted by the member of staff) we were informed that we had to pay again for breakfast!. A continental breakfast was not even offered although cereal packets were on view!!. It would have been a nice gesture if they had offered just orange juice coffee and toast, as the staff were not busy at that time and were complaining of being tired and wanting to go back to bed. The carpets downstairs were soiled and damp with alcohol from the previous evening and smelt stale. We were also not informed that the glitter ball was plugged into a standard 13amp socket in the room, and consequently as we were using the room it was unplugged by us in order to charge our phones ( not knowing what the supply was for ) and subsequently plunging the DJ and room into darkness . It is suggested that the electricity supply for the glitter ball be out of guests rooms, and placed in an area that is only available to staff, for health and safety purposes and to prevent playing blind man's buff with the DJ downstairs.

Response from hotel

Dear Miss Jones,

Thank you for taking time to write your review regarding your stay.

Following your reservation made on Thursday 25th September I personally left a message on your mobile the following day and explained about the DJ's we had on that weekend because of the Chester Races. It was the last race day of the season and Chester race course had 30,000 people attend. We have always been a popular bar for race goers and this was reflected upon check in.

Unfortunately Jack, who checked you in should have explained about the plug in your room and that breakfast is only served until 10am. As you rightly said, he left last weekend and is no longer in my employ so I cannot verify your comments.

I have taken note of the Sunday breakfast staffs attitude and will be speaking with them regarding your review.

I have taken your experience very seriously and will be making changes immediately.

Thank you once again and kind regards,

Rebecca McClelland,

General Manager