No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Parade, Parkgate, Wirral, CH64 6SA
Breakfast included, Free WIFI and Free Parking...Coastal hotel on the
Wirral, with fabulous views over the Dee estuary to the hills of North
Wales. The Ship Hotel offers great food and drink, free Wi-Fi, free parking
and comfortable en-suite rooms at good value prices.

On Parkgate's Parade, the Ship Hotel is within easy reach of both Chester
and Liverpool. All of the attractions of the Wirral are close by, including
the village of Port Sunlight, the Lady Lever Art Gallery, and the area's
many golf courses, including the world famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club at
Hoylake (host to the British Open in 2006 and 2014).

The well-stocked bar sells a range of award-winning real ales, fine world
wines and refreshing soft drinks. There is a cosy open fire and a spacious
heated patio area. Food is served daily and the homemade menu features a
variety of hearty dishes including lighter options as well as filling mains.
The Sunday roasts are a favourite with the locals.

All of the en suite rooms are clean, warm and comfortable, with a digital TV
and tea/coffee facilities.

The Ship Hotel also has a large, free customer car park.
Picture of The Ship Hotel, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ship Hotel
There is something lovely about The Ship Hotel, the whole package of bringing the Beautiful wirral peninsula and coastal views of north Wales and the Marshes of the River Dee .. Lots of history and you feel it . I go there to chill from working in a city in the Midlands. I love the Wirral and I was blessed with being Born there 30/06/1968 🙏

Reviewed by
Gary Moran

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a charming hotel situated on the river Dee. The room I had overlooked the Dee and onwards to North Wales. Even had an ice cream parlour next door which was busy in the evening.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room clean and very adequate for my nights stay. Food in the restaurant excellent and a bar that served real ales. Deffinately will stay here again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Steve G

From Yateley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay room was clean and had all amenities that you could need. Food was very good with a varied menu.

Reviewed by
M Hillary

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Open Golf visit
Stayed here with my son on the Friday night to visit the Open Golf at Hoylake on the Saturday. We were a little concerned that there were vacancies during at a hotel this close to Hoylake and at reasonable prices (less than half of many others). We need not have worried. From the friendly welcome, confirmation we could leave a car in the car park next day, through to more than adequate rooms,and excellent beer selection it was difficult to pick fault. The restaurant was very busy and the food was a bit short on taste but ok. This might be picky as it was very hot and humid. Breakfast was a bit slow the next morning but tasty when it arrived. Overall a good experience.

Reviewed by
Nick Thornton

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair for the money, good parking, excellent location, food good but a little tired in the communal areas.

Reviewed by
Graham R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel in a lovely setting, it was perfect for my requirements.
My only niggle was the fact that the window did not open, which made the room unbearably hot at night.

Reviewed by
Jill K

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful small hotel
We stayed here to join family in celebrations. Our room was very clean and comfortable, albeit snug, with a superb view over the Dee. The food was good and managed to cater for awkward diets! The stairs can be a challenge with luggage if you are not in the peak of fitness, but manageable and the staff helpful when not too busy.

Reviewed by
Alison P

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food and service good

Reviewed by
s buston

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was good but dated in areas rooms simple but clean food was amazing

Reviewed by
A Hopley

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor! Building site
When we arrived at the ship in Wirral we were pleasantly welcomed to what can only be described as a building site right next door. We were woken on all 3 mornings by workmen & plant operating machinery. I would honestly think twice about staying here

Reviewed by
Ronnie J

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next