You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel


Berwick road West Welsh road, Little Sutton, ELLESMERE PORT, CH66 4PS

Price From 106.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (43)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • steven f

  • September 2016

Location worked for what we wanted

It was fine and convenient location with a good price so we would probably stay again but becaus it was quite dated in places and definitely in need of updating in areas , especially the pool changing rooms which were really not nice.

Staff very helpful as other reviewers have said. Bar area looked nice but did not go in there.

  • Elaine M

  • July 2016

Available facilities

Booked this as it had a pool but they have swimming lessons on Saturday mornings that wasn't mentioned on Late Room web site.

Also, booked a family room & it wasn't ready, offered a travel cot but the child is 1 metre tall. Eventually got a single bed made up.

  • Jelena P

  • May 2016

Not worthy of what we paid

Double room with breakfast was £96.decor of hotel is out of date.old and tatty carpets.dirty swimming was okeish.not family friendly at all.we stayed on first floor.the group of young women stayed not far from us(maybe ground floor,the walls are thin).they had party till early hours.fighting and felt like we stayed in hostel because of noise.breakfast was pretty average.not sure how this hotel earned 3 star.stayed in 3 star hotel before and this is the worst hotel ever.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review I am sorry that you felt the hotel wasn't family friendly due to other inconsiderate guests being noisy, we do have a night porter who would of asked them to be quiet if he was made aware, I am sorry on this occasion this didn't happen. I am also sorry you felt breakfast was average we usually get positive feedback on this, please accept my sincere apologies once again for a disappointing stay.

  • P Dale

  • May 2016

Nice hotel good location

Very friendly and helpful staff, the room was clean (although a little dusty on top of the bedhead and shaving light) for us the only thing that let the hotel down was the length of time for meals to come out of the kitchen and the restaurant flooring needs some attention.

Our son loved the pool but said the changing area wasn't as nice as the rest of the hotel. The location is ideal for visiting Chester Zoo and the Blue Planet Aquarium which was the purpose of our stay.

  • Susan M

  • April 2016

Budget room but high price

Upon entering the hotel all seemed pleasant, very nice foyer etc.

We passed lots of very nice doors to reach our room, but as we went through the last corridor fire door the hotel room doors changed, they were old, this was disheartening. The room was old and tardy looking but the bathroom was nice, however in the morning the shower was intermittent. There was a chain on the door!. we used it but it was unnerving that it was there!.

  • Anthony Twist

  • April 2016

Customer Service? Really?

Light fittings hanging off the wall, radiator didn't work, changing rooms for pool/spa reminded me of my old school changing rooms, steam room tatty.

Telephone in the room was dead. Above all woken in the night by some really loud noises, expecting a drunken it was a member of the night staff doing something. When I asked him if he could be a little quieter the amount of disregard and bad attitude from him I received is something I have never experienced before in a hotel and walked off whilst speaking to him. At this point my shocked partner and 10 year old son who heard all of this I decided to get fully dressed to go to reception to see if another member of staff was available and if not to continue my conversation with this particular member of staff. 10 minutes I waited at the reception with the front door open and nobody in site. Not one member of staff showed up, meaning anyone could have entered the hotel and done anything in that time. At that point I returned to my room as I wasn't losing anymore sleep over someone who clearly doesn't understand or know how to show any form of customer service. Avoid - Outdated, shabby, and that's just in reference to customer service

  • neil b

  • March 2016

Relaxing place to stay but atrocious broadband

I had a lovely relaxing stay here.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was great. I enjoyed an early morning swim before breakfast that really set me up for the day. The only thing that let all this down was the atrocious broadband, it was constantly crashing, emails wouldn't sent and web pages wouldn't load.... Extremely frustrating!!!

  • Samantha R

  • February 2016

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Hotel was lovely to stay at,

Room was comfortable although there was a bit of wallpaper peeling and bathroom was a bit cramped but overall a lovely and comfortable room for a weekend.

  • mary green

  • February 2016

birthday treat

Stayed here for 1 night in a suite, lovely big clean room, massive bed.

Had meal in restaurant which was good. Had breakfast in our room which was extra fiver but worth it. We would stay here again.

Response from hotel

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

  • Andrew G

  • January 2016

would think twice before staying again.

After taking on a new job I had to go on a 2 day training course which involved staying in a hotel on my own for the first time.

I felt reassured that once I checked in I wouldn't have to go out until I checked out. On arrival I was greeted by a friendly member of staff I then checked into my room and read all the info in your files. I realised there was no information on WiFi so looked for a phone for reception but that was also missing. I went to reception and they were very helpful and bought a phone to me. I then went to the bar and ordered a meal which was bought very quickly and didn't look very appetising ( belly of pork) I asked for sauce to go with it and the waitress went to get me some, I tried to cut it but it was solid and when the waitress returned I explained it wasn't nice and I couldn't eat it and she replied I know it looks horrible. She offered to get me something else but I really didn't want to try again. So I went to reception to explain so it didn't go on my bill and the receptionist who seemed very young couldn't of helped enough and suggested a looked pub which was very nice. He even asked on my return if I was OK and if I had enjoyed the meal. I wasn't holding out much hope for breakfast after the evening experience and was ready to go to the nearest supermarket but I arrived and was greeted by a very friendly waiter who sat me at a table and explained the breakfast and said if I would like anything else he would try and get it. I asked if they had smoked salmon and he said he would do salmon and scrambled egg I was very pleased with his service. He came over to me a few minutes later to apologise but someone had forgot to order smoked salmon ( which isn't the end of the world I explained I would have toast ) so he got me scrambled egg and I had some of your homemade bread which is very nice. Your staff are trying there best in what I feel are hard circumstances the hotel looks tired the bar doesn't flow right I felt uncomfortable sitting in it. My bedroom was nice but the bath was rusty on the whole length of it and the bin had its lid ripped off so it made it look tired. There was a high pitch noise in the whole building for the first couple of hours which is not relaxing and a member of staff said it does that for a while it's the boiler. Your staff are the best part of my stay the waiter got the price of my breakfast taken off the bill which was over and above what he had to do I can't praise your staff enough.

Response from hotel

Thank you very much for your review and kind words about the team, please accept my apologies for the lack of smoked salmon and poor dinner experience we are currently changing the menu which will improve our offer, I hope your new job is going well.