Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
58% would recommend it to a friend
Dene Hotel Chester
The hotel is all over basic.
Outside the hotel is a block of chalets which do not look appealing. Luckily we were based inside the hotel. The room on first glance looked clean and quite modern, I would say it must be one of the refurbished rooms looking at the other reviews but when you look closer fixtures are unclean and pretry much all broken. You can not control when you have the heating on in your room so if you happen to be in your room mid afternoon or the morning prepare to be very cold. The bed was comfy and clean enough and the town centre is about 4 mins in a taxi. I paid £41 to stay here on a bank holiday and would not pay more.
good - not much thing to say
Bed was soft, room/bathroom looks small, good customer service, wifi only work at the entrance and restaurant area but not in the rooms, Parking gets full quickly, you can hear people above your room.
Lovely room, a few problems...
Greeted with friendly manner and charm.
Room was large and clean, however - returning in the evening there was no hot water from the taps, shower or bath. Also, the Kettle cracked after use, meaning boiling water burnt my hand and poured all over the table with our things on, rather annoying. However regardless of these downsides, staff were lovely, willing to help with providing a new Kettle etc.. Breakfast was lovely and bedroom was stunning.
I don't want to be too negative here.
The area is quiet, the room was clean, the shower was hot and the bed was large and comfy. We slept well, which is the main thing. I paid around 90 pounds for a bank holiday Saturday night; maybe that's cheap for Chester, but I expected more: The room looked tired (e.g. the bathroom door didn't close properly, the window frames were a bit tatty). Toiletries aren't provided as I expected (we checked, they don't), and the towels were getting a bit threadbare. Maybe if we'd complained, they'd have swapped them. I just can't recommend the hotel at the price I paid.
Cheap not so cheerful..
We didn't have great expectations because the room was quite cheap (superior double ).
On arrival the room seemed okay, the bathroom was dingy, lit by low energy bulbs that were not bright enough. There were no pillow protectors and the pillows were disgusting. The walls are paper thin, there was a lot of noise both from upstairs and next door. The bar area was characterless and we waited nearly an hour for food ( that wasn't too bad ) but I was told I couldn't have a sweet because it was after nine even though we'd ordered at 8!. The staff were helpful but I would advise that paying a bit extra for other accommodation would be advisable unless you are happy to share with contractors away for the week and put up by their firm in cheapo rooms.
No towels in room, breakfast inedible, staff unhelpful. Couldnt even iron a shirt no working iron
To say this place tries to command £100 per night is laugable.
No towels in the room, and took 20 mins to get us some, iron needed and got one which didnt work, and couldnt find an ironing board. breakfast was sparse and inedible, egg rock solid and burned, coffee like mud. Cant rate this place poorly enough. And the staff didnt want to know
We were given a "chalet" outside the hotel, so not even in the main building.
It was small, dark, shabby, poorly maintained.
Hardly any signal for the tv. Toilet not fixed to floor or wall. Only one small mirror in whole room, which you had to be a contortionist to croutch to see into. Shower curtain too short so floor flooded with each shower. No heating for most of stay. Trouble getting hot water in shower. Awakened really early both morninfs by inconsiderate guests through paper thin walls. When I checked out the receptionist was too busy yawning and didnt ask if we had enjoyed our stay. Just as well as would have reeled off all of the above to her.
An overall poor experience
I expect the very basic from a budget hotel but what we received fail to even meet those standards.
We arrived to an extremely humid room with excessive steam on windows, it could be smelt.
After returning from diner we returned to a cold room, with no room telephone we were left to search google for the hotel reception telephone number. The denial of the problem didn't help "Sir the heating comes on at 9pm. It'll warm up" at 9:30pm our room was freezing as were the heaters. We were given an old heater 40 or minutes later.
The toilets wasn't fixed to the ground properly, tiles on the wall had sharp edges due to not being finished.
At 6:30am we discovered that we had no hot water. Another call to reception revealed that there was no one on site with access to the boilers until 7am. At 7:20 am I called again, the receptionist claimed to have checked and that everything was fine. Thanks for letting me know, oh no you could t because we don't have a room phone. Ironically the water was still not working.
The receptionist gave us a key to another room for us to shower. This shower wasn't connected correctly making it too hot. We were forced to turn it down.
Having been left with little confidence, we asked for our breakfast to be refunded, something they declined because they don't so refunds.
A budget hotel but stands as a model for others.
A good clean room. no complaints
Dene Hotel Chester
Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast was good.
Rooms a little disappointing. Could do with a decorate and simple things like having all the knobs on the draws, TV working. Room had a slight odour to it. Just needs a little more TLC..... hardly in the room so it didnt matter to me but I think if I had wanted to be in the room longer it would have been an issue.