No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dene Hotel Chester

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
95 Hoole Road , Chester, CH2 3ND
The Dene Hotel Chester, is an established family run hotel in an attractive setting less than one mile from the City centre. Developed and extended over several decades, the Dene Hotel has become a landmark in the suburbs of this historic city. Our friendly yet professional team prides itself on offering high service standards, while our prices reflect our ethos of giving good value for money. All 53 rooms have en-suite facilities,and we have the ability to alter their set up to accommodate up to four adults, or a family with children. Located within a mile of both the M53 and A55, the Dene Hotel is ideally situated as both a gateway to North Wales and the rural county of Cheshire.

Cooked and Continental breakfasts are very competitively priced to make them an exceptional treat while you stay with us.

The Dene Hotel has ample free car parking, allowing you to wander into the city through the village of Hoole with its many artisan boutiques and local amentities. The city centre and the railway station are less than one mile away and the hotel is located on several of Chester's frequent bus services. Chester is one of the best-preserved walled cities in England with medieval galleried streets and an extensive range of quality shops, ideal for summer strolls and Christmas bargains.

The historic city of Chester is the perfect location for exploring the North West and Wales, and is home to one of Britain's finest racecourses. Snowdonia National Park is less than an hour's drive away and also within easy reach are the Peak District, the Lake District, the Fylde coast and the cities of Manchester and Liverpool. In the immediate vicinity, one can find thousands on places to visit including; Jodrell Bank, Tatton Park, Chirk and Conway Castles, Snowdon Mountain Railway, Mouldsworth Motor Museum and Erddig Hall.

Picture of Dene Hotel Chester, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 154 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice small hotel within easy walking distance of station and town center, staff were very friendly and room was clean and well equipped the only thing missing was a hairdryer but I could have probably hired one but as I was only staying one night I managed ok.

Reviewed by
Marie B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Was ok for one night - take a feather duster for the cobwebs - don't use the shower though you might get wet.
Staff really nice and breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Tanya W

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd stay again
What you'd expect from a hotel at the budget end. Staff were friendly and hotel was clean. If I was to be a bit picky, then I'd say the mattress was very soft, the curtains in my room were hanging off at the top, (but I was still able to pull them across enough to block out the light) and the free wifi signal wasn't strong enough to reach my room.
This didn't detract from my stay, and I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, inexpensive and close to city centre
Was exactly what I wanted for a work trip away from home, not somewhere I would go for a romantic weekend but no complaints, night staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
Andria C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bed was lovely and fresh the room could have been high class if they only taught the cleaner how to do their jpb or paid them a bit more, it wasn't dirty but the cobwebs and dust could easily have been removed.

Reviewed by
Glyn P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
We have no complaints, all in all a very lovely stay, staff were very pleasant and hotel very clean. We would definitely use this hotel again, as far as value for money is concerned it's excellent.

Reviewed by
Paula Osborne

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and almost cheerful
Booked in and was given an outside motel type room . Clean room but the shower did not work. Having told the reception staff he stated the water pressure was too low to improve it. However nothing was taken off the bill . Even though people in the hotel would have had working showers. Overall this was satisfactory as we we on a night out so just needed a bed for the night, a shower would have been nice!!

Reviewed by
A Firth

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

To be honest not very impressed I thought I was booking a hotel roo
Only to be told when I got there we were in a chalet block no where near the hotel .I can't say it was wasn't clean because it was but I didn't like it at all no atmosphere and never got to ho into hotel at all. Would not visit agaib

Reviewed by
deborah s

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Staying on my own and was given a room with 5 beds

Reviewed by
Steven G

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expectations exceeded!
Our room at the Dene Hotel was spacious, quiet, very clean and apparently newly carpeted. It had a pleasant outlook over the local park and bowling club. The bathroom was well appointed and clean. Altogether a very positive experience.

Reviewed by
P Bradley

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next