Reviews - Woodcote's


Hooton Road, Ellesmere Port, CH66 1QU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (80)

98% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lindsey H

  • August 2015

lovely hotel but just a few niggles.....

I absolutely can't fault the cleanliness of the hotel, nor the friendliness of the staff.

I don't understand why breakfast isn't included in the price of the room - the choice is fairly limited, portion size isn't great, and it wasn't anything special - certainly not worth £8.50 (I'm comparing this to other places I've stayed).

  • H Mullaney

  • July 2015

Nice place

Stayed in room 14.

Nice room with usual amenities. Comfy bed and good powerful shower. Room was in a building behind main building and car park so fairly quiet. It in an upstairs room but has slightly squeaky floorrboards so glad we weren't in a downstairs room as it may have been a tad annoying. Found price a little expensive for what it was especially as it was room only. Paid less for premier inns and would say they are slightly better for the price.

  • Carol P

  • July 2015

Excellent hotel

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a base near to Chester and Liverpool and within easy access to all the visitor attractions around the Cheshire area.

Hotel room was superb, clean and spacious and the food is all home cooked and of excellent standard and value. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Kathleen E

  • June 2015

Woodcote House Hotel: one night, one breakfast

Return visit.

Most welcoming. Staff and facilities delightful. Thoroughly recommend. Short walk from room to main property for meals COULD be a problem if raining - perhaps mention in information. Would suggest clarification re Breakfast not included in price and quotation of price for Breakfast. Needs brighter/higher levels of lighting to facilitate reading in comfort.

  • Margaret S

  • June 2015

How soon can we stay again?

We enjoyed every minute of our b&b overnight stay.

John was the perfect reception host, showing us to a delightfully furnished comfortable bedroom (a photo of which could easily grace the pages of a glossy magazine) with a spotlessly clean en suite bathroom. The evening meal was most enjoyable with good quality ingredients being used, well presented and at reasonable pricing. Breakfast was also served using good quality ingredients of which there was plenty of choice. Only sorry we had to travel on to another area. On the basis of "if you can't say anything nice......" I have dismissed writing reviews on other hotels. So you have read that this one really got it right for us. Don't think you could be disappointed either.

  • Josephine C

  • June 2015

Faultless customer service

A second visit to this gem of a hotel.

From our arrival, to departure, the staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and professional, with a special mention for John. He seems to genuinely care that all guests have a great visit. The hotel, itself, is very comfortable, and the food excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Woodcote House.

  • R Ware

  • May 2015

Amazing service, A Great Stay, Wonderful Experiance

It was a wonderful experience, very relaxed and peaceful our room was lovely, a really good size clean and tidy.

The owner of the business John was so lovely, I couldn't of asked for a better service. We had breakfast in the morning which was amazing I honestly cannot say a bad word me and my partner had an amazing stay. Thank you John

  • Michael P

  • March 2015

Extremely polite and helpful - would def recommend!

The room was clean, spacious and had the necessities needed for a weekend stay.

The staff were extremely polite, friendly and only too happy to help. Before we arrived I called ahead and requested a more romantic room as this trip was a surprise for my girlfriend. when we arrived they had upgraded us to a superior room, which I thought was very kind. I also asked them to discreetly place a bottle of champagne (which I had bought along with me) in a bucket of ice in our room for a certain time and came back to room with the Champagne waiting. I think they focus on the little things which make the travellers stay more welcoming and memorable. I would highly recommend staying at the Woodcote hotel, it is within a short driving distance to all the local attractions.

  • J Yarrow

  • March 2015

Friendly and helpful staff.

We had the breakfast and evening meals which were excellent.Freshly cooked and nicely presented. Our room was quiet and cheerfully decorated.

  • Kathleen E

  • March 2015

Woodcote House Hotel: two nights, two breakfasts

Extremely welcoming and friendly.

Surprised to be in 'garden' accommodation/extension - not a problem, just unexpected. Be prepared for a possible need for an umbrella from bedroom to dining-room and back. [Weather fine during my visit.]

Very warm, comfortable, clean. Spacious BUT the table/work surface was extremely limited and I had planned to do some study and revision each evening. Service at breakfasts + quality and quantity of food: excellent, attentive, obliging, friendly, generous. Directions excellent; parking: splendid - convenient and spacious. Excellently positioned for my visit to a sports event at Ellesmere Port and for a gardens visit to Ness Gardens - both on the Wirral: 4 miles to one event; 5 miles to the other.