No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Chester South

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WREXHAM ROAD, CHESTER, CH4 9DL
Choose the convenient Holiday Inn Chester-South hotel to get to meetings with ease and relax in our health club. Manchester Airport is 35 miles away from Holiday Inn Chester-South , which is just off the A55 road and has a complimentary car park . Take a dip in our heated pool, or relax in the courtyard garden. It's easy to keep on top of work at Holiday Inn Chester-South with wireless Internet in all Guest rooms and public spaces. Chester Business Park is next door with companies Bank of America , Marks and Spencers Finance and Regus located there. Your meeting in the city centre is only 2.5 mile drive away. The industrial town of Ellesmere Port , with major firms like Shell and General Motors, is 8 miles away. You'll feel revived after a workout in the Spirit Health Club at Holiday Inn Chester South.
Picture of Holiday Inn Chester South, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We arranged to stay here for two nights over a weekend during December and were extremely disappointed. The boilers shut down on the Saturday night so there was no hot water, and albeit it this is not their fault, the level of empathy was extremely poor. We were simply told an engineer was on his way but they had no idea how long it would take. We had to wash over the sink in the bathroom using water from the kettle. The plug in the sink was leaking so it didn't even hold the water. We were simply offered a complimentary drink which is not an acceptable way to compensate no hot water. We did not accept the free drink and hoped we'd be offered a discount upon settling the bill the next day. When we went to pay, the amount was the full total. I had to request a discount for the lack of hot water (which was still not working at 3am when we got back) and was told "it's not our fault and we did offer you a drink". After complaining further, we were only offered £40 off a total of nearly £300 which I do not see as an acceptable amount.

Reviewed by
Emma B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
The only thing that let the service down and the food was that we paid for breakfast in the hotel on the Sunday morning. We were shown to a table and no one asked if we wanted tea or coffee. It took 15 mins before we got any. We then walked over to the hot plate only to find that there was little or no food to eat. It got to the point we didn't have any and requested a full refund, which i received. so did the rest of my party (10). They stated the reason was that everyone had turned up at the same time for the breakfast. Sorry this is your responsibility to plan and prepare for this type of outcome.
I know this sounds bad, but i would also like to sat that the rest of our weekend was excellent, the rooms were very clean and well maintained.

Reviewed by
Mick McGowan

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Holiday inn, just as expected. Clean, well appointed room, nothing flash, good price.
What was surprising was the food, surprisingly good.
The staff, from the initial greeting by the receptionist to the bar staff was exceptional. Few minutes from the centre of Chester made it a perfect location.

Reviewed by
R Weedon

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
The roms were very clean and had everything needed for a pleasant stay. the one thing we did notice was the staff they were very polite,efficient,and helpful and we will be staying again in the near future.

Reviewed by
D Himsworth

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff
Staff were all friendly and really went out of their way to help.
Room was clean and had a nice big TV. Walls weren't great at insulating sound though.
City Centre is a bus ride away, so if eating at the hotel it can get expensive as prices are high (especially with an additional charge for room service). The food was good, but no better than you'd get in most gastro pubs.

Reviewed by
M Mir

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Breakfast was all cold.
The free wifi is a massive con. £5.00 per hour.....
The complete hotel is very tired. Worth about £30.00 a night. Not the masive £90.
No beer.
It smelt musty.

ManagementResponse

Dear R Warr, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I truly regret that this visit was not 100% satisfactory on a couple of aspects especially with the breakfast served being a disappointment and hotel ambiance being below par your liking. This shall be rectified and I appreciate you bringing this into our attention as your comments are our best means of considering for upgrades needed. Regards, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
R Warr

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
Have used Holiday Inn many times and find it superior to other hotels of same type because they offer great value for money. However disappointed that you have to pay for Internet in room.

ManagementResponse

Dear Lynn R, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We're sorry you were not satisfied with our Internet policy. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Please be assured that we have taken note of your comments and have forwarded for review and enhancements. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Lynn R

From Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights with my 17 year old daughter. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. Spent time in the pool and jacuzzi. Easy travel into chester and all it has to offer. A great stay!

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money. Lovely staff!
Stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend, the staff were really nice, I called and told them it was my girlfriends birthday and when we arrived they had upgraded us to a better room, put a complimentary bottle of wine in the room for us and even written a birthday card from the staff which was really nice! The hotel itself is just a bit outside of chester, not really walking distance but again the staff were very helpful in suggesting places to go and booking taxis for us ect and Chester centre is only £6 in a taxi so it's not too bad. All in all the hotel was excellent for the price and I would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
T Gowers

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great stay, nice room, fantastic food! Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
I Williams

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next