No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Chester South

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
WREXHAM ROAD, CHESTER, CH4 9DL

Located on the edge of historic Chester, the Holiday Inn Chester South is just off the A55 road, beside Chester Business Park. The hotel features a modern leisure centre, stylish restaurant and free on-site parking. The hotel is also served by a park-and-ride bus service making access to Chester City Centre easy.

The spacious bedrooms at Holiday Inn Chester South have high-speed internet access and air conditioning. All rooms have a private bathroom, a flat-screen HD TV with on-demand movies and tea and coffee-making facilities.

The leisure club includes a swimming pool and cardio equipment. The Junction Restaurant features a terrace and serves modern British dishes. Breakfast comprises of a full hot and cold buffet.

Just a 15-minute drive from Chester Zoo, Holiday Inn Chester South is a 5-minute drive from Chester Racecourse.
Picture of Holiday Inn Chester South, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break

Reviewed by
susanne r

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was as described. attempted to ring the front desk to order a taxi, after 20 minutes had to walk down to reception as know one was answering. at one point there was only one person serving in the bar and he was also providing room service to the room's so was a bit over run. the person in question was not at fault for this as he made us feel really welcome. also the showers in the room was barely warm,apart from a few minor issues are stay was comfortable and relaxed.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valentine break
We booked into this hotel because we couldn't book our favourite hotel in Chester as it was full. However, the room was surprisingly spacious and clean although we felt the food could be improved. The reception staff, I thought, were a bit off hand and appeared to be bored having to deal with people.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We arranged to stay here for two nights over a weekend during December and were extremely disappointed. The boilers shut down on the Saturday night so there was no hot water, and albeit it this is not their fault, the level of empathy was extremely poor. We were simply told an engineer was on his way but they had no idea how long it would take. We had to wash over the sink in the bathroom using water from the kettle. The plug in the sink was leaking so it didn't even hold the water. We were simply offered a complimentary drink which is not an acceptable way to compensate no hot water. We did not accept the free drink and hoped we'd be offered a discount upon settling the bill the next day. When we went to pay, the amount was the full total. I had to request a discount for the lack of hot water (which was still not working at 3am when we got back) and was told "it's not our fault and we did offer you a drink". After complaining further, we were only offered £40 off a total of nearly £300 which I do not see as an acceptable amount.

ManagementResponse

Dear Emma B, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to the lack of hot water. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guests. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Emma B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
The only thing that let the service down and the food was that we paid for breakfast in the hotel on the Sunday morning. We were shown to a table and no one asked if we wanted tea or coffee. It took 15 mins before we got any. We then walked over to the hot plate only to find that there was little or no food to eat. It got to the point we didn't have any and requested a full refund, which i received. so did the rest of my party (10). They stated the reason was that everyone had turned up at the same time for the breakfast. Sorry this is your responsibility to plan and prepare for this type of outcome.
I know this sounds bad, but i would also like to sat that the rest of our weekend was excellent, the rooms were very clean and well maintained.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mick McGowan, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. While I was delighted to hear that you liked the clean and well maintained rooms, it is regrettable to hear that you were not satisfied with breakfast service. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Mick McGowan

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Holiday inn, just as expected. Clean, well appointed room, nothing flash, good price.
What was surprising was the food, surprisingly good.
The staff, from the initial greeting by the receptionist to the bar staff was exceptional. Few minutes from the centre of Chester made it a perfect location.

Reviewed by
R Weedon

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff
Staff were all friendly and really went out of their way to help.
Room was clean and had a nice big TV. Walls weren't great at insulating sound though.
City Centre is a bus ride away, so if eating at the hotel it can get expensive as prices are high (especially with an additional charge for room service). The food was good, but no better than you'd get in most gastro pubs.

Reviewed by
M Mir

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
The roms were very clean and had everything needed for a pleasant stay. the one thing we did notice was the staff they were very polite,efficient,and helpful and we will be staying again in the near future.

Reviewed by
D Himsworth

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Breakfast was all cold.
The free wifi is a massive con. £5.00 per hour.....
The complete hotel is very tired. Worth about £30.00 a night. Not the masive £90.
No beer.
It smelt musty.

ManagementResponse

Dear R Warr, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I truly regret that this visit was not 100% satisfactory on a couple of aspects especially with the breakfast served being a disappointment and hotel ambiance being below par your liking. This shall be rectified and I appreciate you bringing this into our attention as your comments are our best means of considering for upgrades needed. Regards, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
R Warr

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
Have used Holiday Inn many times and find it superior to other hotels of same type because they offer great value for money. However disappointed that you have to pay for Internet in room.

ManagementResponse

Dear Lynn R, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We're sorry you were not satisfied with our Internet policy. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Please be assured that we have taken note of your comments and have forwarded for review and enhancements. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Lynn R

From Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next