No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cobblers Cross Lane Forrest Road, Tarporley, Nr Chester, Cheshire, CW6 0DJ
The ultimate in luxury awaits you in the heart of Cheshire at the 4 star Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. Set in 360 acres of breathtaking Cheshire countryside, this luxury hotel mixes traditional values with a contemporary design & comfort. Whether you're enjoying a spa weekend, leisure break, business trip or golf event, the Macdonald Portal Hotel provides the perfect setting.

All of our bedrooms have been stylishly designed with your comfort in mind. The elegant furnishings invite our guests unwind and our attention to detail, together with our 24 hour room service, ensures that your every need is catered for. For that “extra special” occasion why not book one of our feature rooms, with private balconies which provide that extra touch of luxury.

Located at the heart of the hotel, the elegant Ranulf Restaurant gives you the opportunity to sample our 2 AA rosette winning menu, whilst our extensive wine list is sure to delight. With superb health and leisure facilities, including an 18 metre indoor pool, Techno Gym, luxurious Spa and 3 golf courses Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa truly has it all!
Picture of Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, Tarporley, Nr Chester, Cheshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
The hotel, service and food was great and we couldn't fault it. My only complaint is that the car park has no lighting.

Reviewed by
NATASHA L

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You Get What you Paid For
Nice location. Place is a little bit corporate and used as a conference facility. The price of a nice glass of wine was almost eye watering but the wine neither the less excellent. The food is very good and the staff are very pleasant especially in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel
Really excellent place to stay with a stunning setting, and first class rooms

Reviewed by
david s

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We played golf and had two lovely days on a wonderful course, however , we will eat in town next time.
The food is very bland and too expensive for what you get. When we arrived arrived we had a pot of tea for two, it cost £9 something! and the meal in the evening was nothing to shout about.

Reviewed by
J Seddon

From Rhosneigr, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Beautiful location with helpful and attentive staff. Really enjoyed our stay.
Only slight problem - the postcode given on the website didn't work for our satnav, so type in Cobblers Cross instead.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally...adequate
Fine for what it was - a quick stop-over before an early meeting. Important basics were there - big bed, good sheets, fluffy towels, newspaper delivered with your wake-up call, free wifi. They don't put dressing gowns in all the rooms which is annoying (although the v.kind guy on reception found me a spare). No mini-bar in the room unless you book some kind of package in advance(!) and pretty basic room service menu after midnight.
The grounds looked beautiful.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some good points, some bad points!
We booked two rooms via LateRooms and specifically requested they were to be close together. The reception had not been notified (presumably by their central booking) and were unable to even put us on the same floor as the other members of our party. The rooms were comfortable and quite well appointed with much of what you would expect of a hotel major chain. However one interesting point was that there was a message to state that any beverages or snacks brought in from outside and consumed on the premises would be charged corkage or a levy! So beware do not take any of your own wine, water or snacks!!! We ate in the restaurant on the first night we stayed and the food was reasonable but not of the quality expected of a hotel of this type. Another major point was that the waiting staff were not very attentive and it seemed they each had tasks they would not err from. Consequently we needed to ask for a jug of iced water three times (the third time directly to the head waiter) before we got any. At breakfast any empty plates on our table were left by staff who passed us by on several occasions. So to summarise .. the restaurant staff needed direction and training, the central booking system needs to be reviewed. We have stated that we would stay here again but on the proviso that the hotel improves its service in the restaurant and gets rid of the outdated threat of corkage for bringing in your own drinks and snacks!

Reviewed by
Michael D

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakaway
Lovely hotel with first class service ,I was staying on B&B and the breakfast was excellent every morning,Rooms are a good size and well presented.Close by is the village of Tarpoley which has a nice mix of shops and bars

Reviewed by
JAMES Samson

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
very comfortable staff very accommodating and friendly
wish we could have stayed for longer

Reviewed by
Anna C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Nice hotel, only issue was there appeared only to be no one serving at the bar for long periods, as the busy waitress was off doing other tasks.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next