Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

4

Cobblers Cross Lane Forrest Road, Tarporley, Nr Chester, Cheshire, CW6 0DJ

Price From 283.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Rebecca B

  • March 2015

Excellent

It's hard to fault anything during our stay really.

We thoroughly enjoyed it. Hotel in beautiful location, rooms lovely and clean. Breakfast and evening meals were to an excellent standard.

  • A Southam

  • February 2015

Well Worth a Visit

A historic property set in woodlands, Spa and a championship golf course so plenty to do and explore.

Stayed one night over Valentines weekend as found a good deal on a B&B rate of £86. Super King bed very ooba comfortable. Husband a bit disappointed that there were no biscuits on the hospitality tray for a 4* hotel. If you are using the Spa make sure you pre book your treatments as on the day tried to book myself a 30 minute facial to relax and unwind but unfortunately 'no can do' on the day, then no availability on the Monday before leaving (:+(. We ate in the bar/lounge as only wanted a small meal but more than a sandwich or soup @ £7. For an AA rosette dining experience, thin French fries, ham and fried eggs wasn't gourmet and pretty much the basic level of pub grub. It should be more along the lines of Gastro pub food for the price and a much better presentation on the plate. Two small glasses of wine £14 and the meal set us back £40. Food and drink is very over priced so be warned. No complaints with staff very helpful, and friendly. Chatted to the bar supervisor James who was very knowledgeable about the history of the property and the changes that had been undertaken by the company. He should go far as enjoyed his work and importantly people. Breakfast was pretty much top notch with a buffet, stewed berries, cereals, croissants, yoghurts ham cheese choice of juices with a tasty hot cooked English breakfast to order did set us up for our return home. We would we go again most probably but only on a good deal rate. A one night stay with breakfast here can cost normally around £150 a night but sorry McDonalds we just wouldn't pay that.

  • Lisa H

  • January 2015

Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Clean, spacious room and we were given a free upgrade on arrival which was a nice bonus.

Good breakfasts, freshly cooked to order and they were flexible with the menu. Lovely spa facilities with an 18m pool which was never too busy. Overall, a very enjoyable stay for a relaxing 2 night break :)

  • Leslie Smith

  • January 2015

7th wedding anniversary

My Wife and I stayed for three nights for our anniversary the whole experience was fantastic, the setting, the spa and leisure facilities, the food, service nothing was too much trouble anything you ordered was at the door before you had replaced the phone....Many thanks for a wonderful visit....

  • A Taylor

  • January 2015

Excellent hotel lovely stay!

We had a lovely stay at the hotel.

Spacious rooms with large comfy beds. Nice pool area and spa facilities. Good value for money - great if u want a quiet get away

  • Linda S

  • December 2014

Nice hotel

A little out of the way but all good.

Staff friendly, food good. What you would expect from a Macdonald hotel, although I suppose this was a little dated compared to others I've stayed in.

  • Jenny G

  • December 2014

Mother and daughter treat

This was a one night stay away break for my daughter and myself, an opportunity to draw breath and relax for a while.

This hotel allowed us to do that and in style. From the very comfortable room, robes, tea & coffee making facilities and comfortable beds to the last minute spa treatment and swimming pool, it was all good. The only slight downside to the swimming pool was that there was a very energetic aqua aerobics class going on which made us feel we were swimming in a very choppy sea!. We were made to feel welcome and special by all the staff we met. The hotel is in a beautiful location with lovely views with a sense of spaciousness. There are several local attractions nearby and as it is an easy half hour drive from Manchester, it is ideal for combining an enjoyable couple of days touring the area with a bit of luxury.

  • Stephen H

  • November 2014

You Get What you Paid For

Nice location.

Place is a little bit corporate and used as a conference facility. The price of a nice glass of wine was almost eye watering but the wine neither the less excellent. The food is very good and the staff are very pleasant especially in the restaurant.

  • NATASHA L

  • November 2014

Excellent Hotel

The hotel, service and food was great and we couldn't fault it.

My only complaint is that the car park has no lighting.

  • david s

  • November 2014

Superb hotel

Really excellent place to stay with a stunning setting, and first class rooms