No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandymount Hotel

Herbert Road Lansdowne Road, Dublin, 4
Sandymount Hotel enjoys an excellent location in Ballsbridge, close to the city centre and Dublin's famous Sandymount Strand. The DART train station is only 2 minutes from the hotel and 2 stops to the city centre. All of the main shopping, tourist and business districts are within easy reach including the O2, RDS, Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium.

Following a recent refurbishment, Sandymount Hotel now boasts 168 contemporary-styled guest rooms. All rooms include luxury beds/designer bed throws/modern artwork/comfortable furniture/ensuite bathroom with bath and shower/plasma TV/in-built wardrobe/dressing table with large mirror/tea & coffee facilities/direct dial telephone/iron and board/hair dryer/FREE WIFI/FREE parking/FREE access to hotel business centre.

Breakfast is served in Whitty's Restaurant which leads to the hotel's 2 acres of private landscaped gardens. The Line Out Bar is open for casual dining throughout the day and evening.
Picture of Sandymount Hotel, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Met expectations
Nice and clean and tidy hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to leaving. Served as a good point to access city centre and the 02 Arena, if I'm back over in Ireland I would use again

Reviewed by
Neil R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, staff very friendly, remembered me from my last visit.
Just love this hotel, the staff are fantastic, rooms lovely and food very good.
Lovely walks into Sandymount village and Ballsbridge.
The receptionist remembered me from my last visit and made sure I was given a lovely room.
We sat out in the garden and had our drinks...just lovely.
A real gem of a hotel in Dublin.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Our gardens are fab aren’t they? Perfect for a summer day! We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, John Loughran, Owner

Reviewed by
Mary Hamill

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good food and convenient location
The bar food and breakfasts are good. The location is very good easy for the Dart and easy walking to many places. Room size is variable so good to check when booking and on arrival that you get the type of room you need.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback. Yes our location is certainly a bonus with our proximity to the city, the train line and the beach. We hope you’ll visit us again on your next stay in Dublin. Kind regards, John Loughran, Owner

Reviewed by
JACQUELINE D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for the Dart
The Sandymount is a very nice, well appointed hotel with friendly staff. Accommodation is reasonably priced Sunday to Thursday, with compatible prices to similar hotels at weekends.
It is very handy for the Lansdowne Road Dart station and conveniently situated close to the Aviva Stadium (if you are a rugby or music fan) and Ballsbridge centre with a range of shops, pubs and restaurants.
The red Dublin sightseeing bus stops right outside daily for an 8:50am pick up - this is a feeder bus that takes you to join the main service on O'Connell St.
Breakfast is until 11am Sunday so you can have a lie in!

Reviewed by
Richard Outram

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad..
Hotel was clean and looked lovely from the outside and nice big reception area, however, I personally thought that the room was a bit basic and dated, especially the bathroom. Not much of a view from the room. Hotel is right beside the Aviva stadium in Ballsbridge in a quiet area approx 20-25min walk into the centre of Dublin which is ideal if you still want to be close to the centre but not directly in it. A great perk to the hotel is that it has complimentary parking which is secure!

Reviewed by
K Ward

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well organised, good location
Easy parking, pleasant staff, good breakfast. 20 minutes wi-fi isn't much but I'm being picky now. Nothing to complain about at all.

Reviewed by
David I

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value and convenient location
The Sandymount offers good value accommodation in a very convenient location. It is easy to easy to walk to the Aviva stadium, RDS and the Strand. It is also a lovely area around the hotel. Bar food is good as is the breakfast. The rooms can be variable so worth making sure you get the size you want when you book.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review and I’m glad you enjoyed the food. We our proud of our menu and we endeavour to use Irish suppliers where we can. John Loughran, Owner

Reviewed by
JACQUELINE D

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

conveniently located for business or pleasure
Comfortable and reasonable quality accommodation for the price. Easy walk to the beach and pretty Sandymount village.
Food good too.

Reviewed by
JACQUELINE D

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

boutique hotel close to town
Lovely hotel in the picturesque suburb of Sandymount. Two stops from the city center and only 30 mins walk. lovely relaxed and friendly hotel with helpful staff and good rooms and food. Not too friendly for older and disabled as plenty of steps. There is a lift but not well located. Would go again as its close to the sea and in the lovely suburb of Sandymount.

Reviewed by
Michael O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

James Joyce would stay here!
My wife and I loved our short stay at this hotel which I would describe as being comfortable and good value for money, low key and unassuming, with helpful and pleasant staff, It is in a great location right beside the Aviva Football Stadium and within easy walking distance of main city centre attractions as well as the nearby restaurants in Sandymount and Ballsbridge, not to forget the spectacular Sandymount Strand. A short five minute walk to nearest train and bus services, the hotel also has good parking and is located in a quiet residential street.

Reviewed by
Martin K

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next