No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Barton Street, Laceby, Grimsby, DN37 7LF
The BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel is gorgeously Grade II! Near Grimsby, our listed country house hotel nestles quietly in 5 acres of beautiful parkland and gardens, but is close enough to the hustle and bustle of surrounding towns to offer the best of both worlds. On the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds (an area of outstanding natural beauty) the hotel is close to countryside and seaside, just minutes from all the amenities of Grimsby and the family attractions of Cleethorpes. Lincoln is within easy reach too, and the beautiful unspoiled Georgian market town of Louth is well worth a visit for bargain hunters! The hotel is also situated directly on National Cycle Route Number 1 for anyone who wants to bring their bike, but we're equally well placed for walks and hikes!
Picture of Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, Grimsby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't wait to go back! Stunning!
I could not fault this place. In terms of value for money, cleanliness and customer services, the team at Oaklands surpassed themselves. Our room was quiet, comfortable and so clean. The rate we paid for the room was so reasonable, that I had not expected too much. However, my prejudices were blown out of the water as soon as I entered the lobby and later the room. Staff at front of house were polite, well mannered and very professional. The star of the show though, for me, was the restaurant: The Comfy Duck. I was immediately impressed by the quality of service, the menu and the professionalism with which Mr Jafari ran the restaurant: his management of the young team was superb throughout. About the food, I do not have the words to express just how impressed I was. The freshness, presentation, imagination and love of ingredients was evident from the amuse bouche. The young chef, Steven Bennett clearly knows his flavours and how to balance them, with presentation that was nigh on flawless. I am truly shocked that this restaurant has just one rosette. I have been to Michelin Star restaurants that have failed to impress as much as the Comfy Duck. I can heartily recommend the Iced Fennel Parfait, not only for the textures, but the purity of flavour. Would I go back? You bet!

Reviewed by
jacqueline Atkinson

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
nice hotel, good location and very friendly staff - food excellent and bar staff very polite

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From Teddington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Very good hotel with friendly and efficient staff.

Reviewed by
L Gillam

From Llangefni, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely would recommend
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Jeff and his team in The Comfy Duck restaurant were fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break, value for money and excellent service.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
Very nice hotel nice food.
Will stay again staff went that extra mile.

Reviewed by
R Wright

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grim in Grimsby
As late rooms is aware I spend a lot of my time away on business & most of time I have no reason to complain but this hotel was just awful - from room to service to food to lack of atmosphere - just failed on all fronts - it's the only hotel in the area but that does not make it good - does sterling local business in weddings but that because the local people don't know any better - compared to London Manchester Belfast & Brighton it is like stepping back 30 years!!!

Reviewed by
Francesca Burfield

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking experience.
The booking was made at very short notice. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing information as needed.
The water was hot, the bed comfortable and the location excellent for what we needed.

Reviewed by
David R

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room on ground floor. Plenty of parking space.

Reviewed by
M Young

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd return
Very pleasant staff; not sure about the disabled shower.

Reviewed by
David G

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

12 Nights
I had been looking for a hotel to stay in as I had just relocated to Grimsby for work. As such I needed somewhere to stay in while I found permanent accommodation. Using the regular hotel searches this hotel had the best balance of reviews and price. I was amazed at what great value for money I was getting as the room was well decorated, clean, warm, comfortable and the surroundings and main building were picturesque. The food and restaurant were good and all the staff were pleasant. All in all possibly the best hotel in the Grimsby area.

Reviewed by
Y Malik

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next