Harriet House B&B

4

MARKET WAY, Canterbury, CT2 7JH

Price From 167.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Robert P

  • February 2015

A Canterbury tale

Very welcoming and helpful.

Room was a little "tired". Breakfast was adequate. Had a good nights sleep. Could have got a hotel for a little more money with more facilities. Convenient bed for 1 night but would not stay any longer.

  • Nigel B

  • November 2014

Perfect

I recently had to spend a few days on a business trip in Canterbury and for a change, travelled by train (from the north of England); this meant that I would need digs close to the area I was visiting and Harriet House came up trumps.

A warm welcome, with handy advice on what the area offered set me up for what turned out to be an extended stay.

My room was spotless with a very comfy bed, flat screen TV, the usual tea & coffee facilities and a small fridge stocked with soft drinks and chocolate. The en suite bathroom, a touch compact and bijou, was also spotlessly clean with superb shower and a vast array of hand soap and creams etc. Free WiFi is provided (with a code offered on arrival) throughout the building.

One of their crowning glories are the breakfasts offered - just about every taste is catered for including full English and Continental fayre, but also available are waffles and my favourite, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs.

It's a short, level walk into town where there are many eateries and just over the busy road there is a Sainsburys supermarket, a high street coffee shop which shall remain nameless and a sports centre if you are feeling that way out.

Canterbury West railway station is a 8 - 10 minute walk but there are plenty of taxis covering the area and there are also bus stops nearby. Hosts Terry and Chris work tirelessly to provide a warm and pleasant hostelry and I am looking forward to my next visit. Heartily recommended.

  • W Kilworth-Mason

  • July 2014

Harriet House offers service, comfort and style

This B & B is within 10 minutes walk from the centre of Canterbury, offering easy access to railway stations, bus station, shops and facilities and to the historic sites at the centre of this very walkable city.

The proprietors were welcoming. The breakfasts were excellent. The place was well-maintained and stylishly but unobtrusively decorated and appointed. Even my single room was well furnished with thought having been given to the appearance and the utility of the fixtures.

  • Elizabeth P

  • March 2014

Very comfortable room and within easy walking distance of central Canterbury (just make sure you book a table if eating out for dinner).

Great customer service and easy to find.

  • joseph n

  • February 2014

The Best!!!

I want to thank Terry and Chris so much for my wonderful four night stay in Canterbury.

I loved everything about Harriet House, they have done a magnificent job in all aspects of their BnB. My room was quite lovely, (single room 2), everything is deeply considered, with regards to furnishings and comfort. Terry and Chris gave me such an honest and relaxed welcome, it felt like I had stayed before and I came down for breakfast every morning with a real sense of joy and vigour for the day ahead. From the breakfast selection, heated towel rails, powerful shower with gels and shampoos, easy to use flat screen TV and strong signal Wifi, handy mini-fridge and free mints at the door…Everything was just top drawer.

I heartily recommend Harriet House, thank you Terry and Chris, and if I am ever in Canterbury again, I will surely book with you again.

  • Martin Minett

  • November 2013

An enjoyable short break

Good room, good breakfasts, very helpful - thank you

  • Stephen F

  • August 2013

Just what we needed and exactly as specified

From the moment that we walked from the car to the house we felt comfortable, the host welcomed us in & showed us to our room; we didn't even have to carry our bags upstairs.

The food was well presented, what we ordered & freshly cooked, we even ended up leaving some because there was more than we could manage. There was plenty of tourist material in the entrance lobby & advice on local routes from the host. Definitely go back if we visit the area again.

  • Alison Woodnutt

  • July 2013

Helpful and efficient personal attention - bag carried from car to room.

Spotlessly clean linen and towels changed frequently. Contents of mini fridge welcome in a very hot week. Choice of menu and timings for breakfast excellent. Much more chance of getting a full English breakfast cooked at just the right time than in many 5* hotels. Would be useful to advise guests that the front entrance is very steep indeed. Access from the rear carpark much easier.

  • Barbara T

  • July 2013

Late booking for overnight stay

We were greeted in a very friendly manner when we arrived - and also at breakfast time.

However, we had made a late booking for a single night on a very hot evening and this small attic room was clean and adequate for that, but we would not have wished to make a longer stay. It was obviously a one-off but sleep was disturbed by noise outside both late at night and early in the morning. It was useful to have a chiller cabinet in the room, but rather surprising that the small bottles of water, juice and small chocolate bars were all £1 each. (Not that we took advantage of these). We have stayed at much cheaper similar B&B accommodation where unlimited bottled water and fresh milk has been supplied free.