No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harriet House B&B

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
3 Broad Oak Road, ALL ACCESS AND CAR PARK VIA MARKET WAY (THE STREET BEHIND), Canterbury, CT2 7PL
A friendly welcome awaits you at Harriet House B&B, our 4 star ensuite bed and breakfast in the historic City of Canterbury Kent with free onsite parking.

Harriet House B&B is located only a ten minute riverside walk from Canterbury high street with all its shops and attractions. The universities are also nearby.

Harriet House bed and breakfast offers stylish accommodation, comfortable ensuite rooms with mini fridges, complimentary wireless internet access and flat screen tv’s along with tea/coffee making facilities, quality toiletries and towels.

Enjoy our delicious English breakfast in our sunny breakfast room and brand new conservatory. We are happy to cater for vegetarians and special dietary requirements. Free range eggs are delivered fresh from a local farm and bacon and sausages are sourced from an award winning local butcher. Other options include smoked salmon or home made pancakes and waffles. We also bake our very own tasty home made bread and various preserves
Picture of Harriet House B&B, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
I recently had to spend a few days on a business trip in Canterbury and for a change, travelled by train (from the north of England); this meant that I would need digs close to the area I was visiting and Harriet House came up trumps. A warm welcome, with handy advice on what the area offered set me up for what turned out to be an extended stay.
My room was spotless with a very comfy bed, flat screen TV, the usual tea & coffee facilities and a small fridge stocked with soft drinks and chocolate. The en suite bathroom, a touch compact and bijou, was also spotlessly clean with superb shower and a vast array of hand soap and creams etc. Free WiFi is provided (with a code offered on arrival) throughout the building.
One of their crowning glories are the breakfasts offered - just about every taste is catered for including full English and Continental fayre, but also available are waffles and my favourite, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs.
It's a short, level walk into town where there are many eateries and just over the busy road there is a Sainsburys supermarket, a high street coffee shop which shall remain nameless and a sports centre if you are feeling that way out.
Canterbury West railway station is a 8 - 10 minute walk but there are plenty of taxis covering the area and there are also bus stops nearby.
Hosts Terry and Chris work tirelessly to provide a warm and pleasant hostelry and I am looking forward to my next visit. Heartily recommended.

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harriet House offers service, comfort and style
This B & B is within 10 minutes walk from the centre of Canterbury, offering easy access to railway stations, bus station, shops and facilities and to the historic sites at the centre of this very walkable city. The proprietors were welcoming. The breakfasts were excellent. The place was well-maintained and stylishly but unobtrusively decorated and appointed. Even my single room was well furnished with thought having been given to the appearance and the utility of the fixtures.

Reviewed by
W Kilworth-Mason

From LIFTON, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room and within easy walking distance of central Canterbury (just make sure you book a table if eating out for dinner). Great customer service and easy to find.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Best!!!
I want to thank Terry and Chris so much for my wonderful four night stay in Canterbury. I loved everything about Harriet House, they have done a magnificent job in all aspects of their BnB. My room was quite lovely, (single room 2), everything is deeply considered, with regards to furnishings and comfort. Terry and Chris gave me such an honest and relaxed welcome, it felt like I had stayed before and I came down for breakfast every morning with a real sense of joy and vigour for the day ahead.
From the breakfast selection, heated towel rails, powerful shower with gels and shampoos, easy to use flat screen TV and strong signal Wifi, handy mini-fridge and free mints at the door…Everything was just top drawer.
I heartily recommend Harriet House, thank you Terry and Chris, and if I am ever in Canterbury again, I will surely book with you again.

Reviewed by
joseph n

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable short break
Good room, good breakfasts, very helpful - thank you

Reviewed by
Martin Minett

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed and exactly as specified
From the moment that we walked from the car to the house we felt comfortable, the host welcomed us in & showed us to our room; we didn't even have to carry our bags upstairs. The food was well presented, what we ordered & freshly cooked, we even ended up leaving some because there was more than we could manage.
There was plenty of tourist material in the entrance lobby & advice on local routes from the host.
Definitely go back if we visit the area again.

Reviewed by
Stephen F

From Sandhurst, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking for overnight stay
We were greeted in a very friendly manner when we arrived - and also at breakfast time. However, we had made a late booking for a single night on a very hot evening and this small attic room was clean and adequate for that, but we would not have wished to make a longer stay. It was obviously a one-off but sleep was disturbed by noise outside both late at night and early in the morning. It was useful to have a chiller cabinet in the room, but rather surprising that the small bottles of water, juice and small chocolate bars were all £1 each. (Not that we took advantage of these). We have stayed at much cheaper similar B&B accommodation where unlimited bottled water and fresh milk has been supplied free.

Reviewed by
Barbara T

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful and efficient personal attention - bag carried from car to room. Spotlessly clean linen and towels changed frequently. Contents of mini fridge welcome in a very hot week. Choice of menu and timings for breakfast excellent. Much more chance of getting a full English breakfast cooked at just the right time than in many 5* hotels.
Would be useful to advise guests that the front entrance is very steep indeed. Access from the rear carpark much easier.

Reviewed by
Alison Woodnutt

From Amersham, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem in a great location
We stayed here in March, booking very last minute. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk into the centre of Canterbury. A spotlessly clean B & B with nice touches, it boasts ample off street parking. If we go back to Canterbury again we would not look at any othjer alternative.

Reviewed by
JOHN P

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect B&B in Canterbury
Harriet House was a fantastic B&B for what we were looking for. Lovely welcome. Parking. Easy walking distance to town. Freedom to come and go as we pleased. Excellent standard of accommodation. Comfy beds. Nothing to complain about at all. The breakfast was good. The service great. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Amanda F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next