No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parklands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ogbourne St George, Marlborough, SN8 1SL
We are a quality family run hotel and restaurant in the tranquil village of Ogbourne St George in Wiltshire, just five minutes drive from junction 15 of the M4 motorway, Swindon East. The caring for and well being of our guests is our priority and we offer a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a characterful restaurant. Parklands Hotel has been converted from a 275 year old inn and now provides up to date accommodation in an atmosphere of warmth, ease and charm which is ideally suited to cater for the business traveler, walkers and those just visiting the area. Our lounge bar offers somewhere quiet to sit where you can enjoy a selection of wines, draught beers or simply relax with an aperitif before your meal. We have a choice of fourteen bedrooms which comprise 8 more spacious Superior and 6 comfortable Classic bedrooms: for your stay all of our rooms are centrally heated with individual thermostatic controls to each radiator, complimentary items, 1st & ground floor rooms. PLEASE NOTE: Arrival is from 15:00 to 22:00: earlier/later arrival or departure times may be met by prior arrangement. We are a no smoking accommodation: we do not accept pets and are not particularly suitable for children under ten years of age. We offer a variety of accommodation stays: multiple nights, single nights, dinner/breakfast: single occupancy and these can be found by contacting the hotel directly.
Picture of Parklands Hotel, Marlborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful break in the country
We booked this hotel at the last minute as we needed somewhere to stay for the night. Mark and Nicola were excellent hosts and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The food, both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent , both in it's presentation and taste. The room was nicely decorated with good attention to detail and had everything that we wanted. We hope to return.

Reviewed by
R Lincoln

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Welcoming and pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
clare b

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Lovely hotel, were made to feel very welcome. We were doing a charity trek the next day and had to be up very early, we asked them about sorting out a breakfast box so that we didn't start the walk on an empty stomach and they did, we were up at 4am and came down to some breakfast they had prepared which was very appreciated. The restaurant on site is also very good, my only complaint and it's not a massive one is that the food seemed to take ages to get to us, waiting over 30-45 minutes for our starter and again the same amount of time for our main - the restaurant wasn't even half full which seemed strange that we had to wait so long.. makes you wonder what they would have been like if they had of been full... food was excellent though when it arrived :)

Reviewed by
Karen E

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small hotel in a peaceful setting in rural Wiltshire.
Our room was on the small side and its decor dated. The toilet and washbasin in the ensuite shower room appeared to be very old. We stayed during a period of very warm weather and the window in our room opened only partially. (We were grateful for the electric fan supplied.)
We ate in the hotel's restaurant and thought the food tasty and well prepared. We didn't mind waiting whilst the food was being cooked. Breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
J Haynes

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Very friendly staff (Owners),quiet neat and tidy rooms, excellent food would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feels like home from home
Compared to other hotels on similar price range in The area, this was good value for money. Very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
A Firdaus

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay for a business trip near Swindon
Was made to feel very welcome. Nice beer & cider. would stay again when I'm in the area!!

Reviewed by
Peter T

From St Asaph, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute decision
We suddenly had to find somewhere to stay near Swindon at very short notice that had parking for a large van. The Parklands came up on the searches at a sensible price and we were really glad to have chosen it. The building was immaculate with our bedroom having been recently decorated. The public rooms were cosy and the staff were welcoming. Food excellent and sensibly-priced. It's on our list for a return visit.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Briggs

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
We had a lovely 2 night stay.
The hotel was comfortable, clean and quiet. The lady was friendly and helpful.
The hotel was on a walking route and had facilities for drying boots and equipment although we didn't use it.
If there was to be a complaint, it would be that the breakfast service was a bit slow. However, we were in no rush so it didn't really matter.

Reviewed by
Jenny Harding

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding value and a five star restaurant plus excellent service.
Mark and Nicky offer what must be the best value deal in the UK. Just five minutes from the M4 in a quiet Wiltshire village. Can't fault it.

Reviewed by
Richard Collins

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next