Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Shaftesbury Hotels > BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Royal Chase Roundabout, Shaftesbury, SP7 8DB
The BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel is a country hotel, situated only four minutes from town, in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. This is possibly Dorset's friendliest hotel where guests will discover a charming home away from home, a hospitable hideaway in the very best traditions. The BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel is a happy mix of all that is best in hotels. Delight in the genuine warmth of welcome, the appreciation of what really makes for a memorable stay and our longstanding commitment to the highest standards of service and quality. Close to the center of historic Shaftesbury, the BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel revels in the surrounding glories of the Dorset countryside and the ample charms of Somerset, Wiltshire and Hampshire.
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel, Shaftesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly this was an unfortunate experience.The room was very hot although the window was already open and a fan in action in the room, making it unpleasant to stay or sleep.
Dinner average but breakfast very good.
The staff were pleasant.

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and corridors very hot even with fan , had been refurbished but not a great finish in bathroom (black grout not nice !) . The soundproofing is terrible and therefore the rooms are very noisy.
Staff are always lovely but this is a very basic hotel with very basic facilities . I stay here for work but I wouldn't choose to stay otherwise . I feel it's overpriced for the standard.
Breakfast is good as are meals in restaurant .

Reviewed by
Julia W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We are now in summer!
Hotel generally ok but room temperature a little warm as it had been a hot day. Worst of all though was the mega thick duvet which would have been fine on a chilly winter night but for Mid-Summer night it was somewhat uncomfortable. Surely thinner quilts for the summer would be appropriate, you would at home!

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent. The most professional and friendly service
Before I arrived I received a courtesy call about some ongoing renovations. On arrival the reception team were absolutely fantastic. Renovation work did not disrupt my stay at all. The most professional and friendly service given by all the team. Best Western are usually very good at service, but this team really shine.

Reviewed by
Nikki P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Base for visiting family
The hotel is well placed for us to visit family and when there are a few of us staying the bar area is useful to gather in. The staff are very nice and are friendly and helpful. The prices have been steep this year (they seemed reasonable last year) and the hotel is now overpriced for what you get, as the rooms are basic and the decor old fashioned.

Reviewed by
Katharine P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never disappoints
Staff are always friendly and helpful. Thank you for making my stay really pleasant.

Reviewed by
L Elford

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reception staff were excellent , the bar staff were very slow to show one the ropes , which room etc to eat in .Breakfast the same but slower,had to ask for toast . They were however very friendly .

Reviewed by
A Mee

From France
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spacious and gracious room and hotel - great value
We planned to stay in a Band B but the Royal Chase was so much more spacious and gracious with big rooms and beds, a quiet ambience, good food and even an indoor pool..and just walking distance from Shaftesbury town centre. Oh and the Receptionist was friendly, attentive and helpful

Reviewed by
Anthony W

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money.
Stayed for one night after attending a function near by.We only did 'bed and breakfast' so our only dining experience was our breakfast was cooked fresh snd yo order sd opposed to a buffet arrangement you find at many hotels where you dodge the fried egg that has been there all morning! Our room was very spacious with a four poster bed and en suite complete with spa bath. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. If you pressed me for a minus then a few cosmetic touches here and there, but show me any public use building that wouldn't. I would say that The Royal Chase Hotel was the best value for money night away we had ever had.

Reviewed by
RICHARD P

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Everything was good about our one night stay

Reviewed by
richard H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next