No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

4AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
West Street , Wiveliscombe, TA4 2JP
The White Hart is a former coaching inn dating back some 350 years, standing in the old town of Wiveliscombe it offers the ideal base for both business and pleasure with its combination of traditional qualities and modern facilities.
Located at the foot of the Brendon Hills and nearby Quantocks Wiveliscombe provides a gateway to Exmoor and is a perfect place if you love walking and the great outdoors. Close to both Taunton and Wellington it is an ideal location for the business traveller who wants something individual.

Following major renovations it obtained a high scoring AA 4 star inn rating with the inspector commenting that “The White Hart has been transformed and the high standards now offered are a credit to the new proprietor and chef. ”

Real Homemade Local Food
Over recent years the White Hart has grown a reputation for high quality home cooked food using locally sourced produce. This commitment has resulted in the White Hart being shortlisted as one of four national finalists in the 2008 Publican Food and Drink awards for local food pub of the year. On offer is the daily changing menu as well as the White Hart Pub Classics.

Real Local Ale
Ales from Wiveliscombe’s two breweries Cotleigh and Exmoor are regularly on offer. In addition a variety of other regional and award winning guest ales are always available.

Real Friendly Service
A relaxed and friendly welcome awaits you to this still little discovered corner of Somerset.

Ensuite Rooms
The White Hart offers 16 quality en-suite rooms which are competitively priced and offer a welcome alternative to the lodge accommodation. Each room is individual in character whilst offering flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, telephones and double glazing.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Wiveliscombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Stay
A warm, friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
Mark Dunn

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

décor tired stairs quite steep staff were excellent.

Reviewed by
M Powell

From Olney, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
Friendly staff, good beer, great food and good accommodation at a reasonable price. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
L Gulliford

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

xx
xx

Reviewed by
Sandra B

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not 4* but good value for money and well located
I remember reading that this was a 4* hotel. That is not the case, in reality it is about a 2* hotel. However that said, the hotel was perfect for 35 ppn. Clean, good location for getting to the moor (car) and good breakfast. Would recommend at the late rooms price - we actually stayed another night! But not worth the full price.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly my husband was very ill in the middle of the night but there was no one around to help.
The room was very cold and noisy. We had to leave in an emergency. This was not a good stay for us due to his illness, and loss of wallet. The stairs were a major problem, even though the hotel were told of the disability in advance.

Reviewed by
m osborne

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spooky
I stayed here on Halloween, but apart from several young people touring the town in fancy dress, there were no screams, apparitions or bumps in the night. In fact I had a good night's sleep, until the room next door started a cacophony at 6.30 in the morning. To be honest it was only the noise of their shower, which was right next to my wall. All in all, a good place to stay, and the only drawback is walking to and from the car park, which is some distance from the door - ok in good weather but not in the rain!

Reviewed by
K Gowing

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value night away
Although the bedroom we stayed in was in need of re decoration we had a good stay with exceptional value and good food at a fair price

Reviewed by
graham p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome and delicious food!
The hotel was perfect for our long weekend trip with the children. Host very welcoming and food excellent. Great value for money

Reviewed by
Katherine H

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent standard of service, good food at reasonable prices. Obviously an old character inn but room had a modern feel. My only criticism was it was a bit noisy for half an hour around midnight due to drinkers leaving pub across the road. Might be an idea to request a quieter room.

Reviewed by
s white

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next