No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Furzeleigh Mill Country House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Dartbridge, Old Ashburton Rd, Ashburton, Buckfastleigh, TQ11 0JP
Situated in its own grounds with a sunny south facing aspect,this character 16th Century former corn mill offers the warmth of a homely atmosphere with hotel quality and service in a superb central location. Close to the ancient stannery towns of Ashburton and Buckfastleigh and the medieval town of Totnes, midway between Plymouth and Exeter. Furzeleigh is within the Dartmoor National Park, bordering the South Hams an area of outstanding natural beauty, and is perfectly placed for holidays or business, moor or coast. Easy walking distance to the popular Buckfast Abbey, the Butterfly Farm, Otter Sanctury and the South Devon Steam railway which runs from Buckfastleigh to Totnes with links to River trips from Totnes to Dartmouth. Easy reach of Torbay with its complete range of resort activities, many National Trust properties and gardens, the Eden Project, moorland villages, craft centres. All 14 attractively furnished and well decorated bedrooms overlook the beautiful River Dart valley have en-suite facilities, remote control TV’s and beverage tray. The 'Mill Room' is now a character beamed restaurant which is renowned for its quality offering excellent well priced menus with many choices including our daily fresh fish board and vegetarian selection. We choose fresh local produce above all and our desserts and pastries are made in our own kitchen, cream from West Country farms.and a selection of fine wines add to the enjoyment of your meal. A residents lounge for that quiet moment or relax with coffee after dinner and a cosy well stocked bar Please Note: We are a Non Smoking Property. Pets allowed. Check in:14:30 Check out:11:30.
Picture of Furzeleigh Mill Country House, Buckfastleigh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief holiday
Friendly staff and excellent food. Rooms were clean and tidy.
Only one slight problem was the traffic noise from the roads, soon got use to it though.

Reviewed by
Tina H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Had a very relaxing break at the Furzleigh Mill. The owners are very friendly and plenty of choice for breakfast to set you up for the day. There is plenty to see and do around the area.

Reviewed by
H Martin

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief holiday
The hotel was very welcoming and helpful with bus times etc.
The room was not enormous but was extremely well designed, The shower could have been a little stronger.
The position of the hotel was good for road access and buses.
I came for a restful break and came away refreshed.

Reviewed by
E Bradley

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great weekend in South Devon, hotel was excellent, room was very comfortable, food was great, Bob and Anne are great hosts

Reviewed by
J Ingram

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly accommodation
The hotel was very conveniently sited and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is a bit dated and the beds were rather too soft for us but may suit others better.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly helpful staff
my stay was perfect from start to finish

Reviewed by
H Obrien

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room I had on the top floor is less spacious than that on the middle floor in which I stayed previously and has an exposed rafter within my height. The 'en suite' door (i.e. toilet and shower) didn't close and the shower pressure feeble. The food was tasty, hot and promptly served though I'd always considered that baked beans were an integral part of a Full English Breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Payne

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant break
The hotel was not too big so service felt personal and it was very convenient as a base from which we could visit different parts of Devon and Cornwall. The decor was old-fashioned (which we liked and appreciated as it made a change from the bland conformity of some more modern hotels) and the furnishings were comfortable; everything was very clean. It was quiet in spite of being so close to the A38 and our room had a lovely view. The ensuite was somewhat cramped and the shower not particularly powerful but we felt that came with the age and style of the building. There was a roomy bathroom down the corridor had we wanted to use it but the ensuite facilities were perfectly adequate. We had a room with a double bed and a single bed (and a wonderful low chair by the window!) and so had plenty of room there. The staff were all very friendly. The food was traditional and delicious; a good choice for breakfast and we also enjoyed a generously portioned meal the evening we arrived. One morning we walked into the village and up a nearby hill from which there were beautiful views. There was some refurbishment of rooms going on in the daytime but it did not interfere with our stay at all and the owners are to be thanked for keeping the hotel in good order. We were very satisfied and may well use this hotel again on another occasion.

Reviewed by
N Morris

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General review
I stayed for only one nights bed and breakfast at the Furzeleigh mill country house in the middle of February and whilst my over all experiance was excellent, I felt the price of £55 was a bit much for this time of year. The owners and the staff were all very nice and could not be faulted and the whole place was very clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
comfortable and very quiet one night stay, excellent breakfast, friendly staff

Reviewed by
J Trew

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next