No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cedars

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bickington Road,Sticklepath , Barnstaple, EX31 2HE
The Cedars Inn Hotel Barnstaple is situated in the Devon Town of Barnstaple with easy access to the North Devon Coast via the A361, within easy reach of Bideford. The Cedars Inn Hotel was formerly an elegant early Victorian country house, and is set within three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, on the outskirts of Barnstaple. The addition of an enormous conservatory (in which the original conservatory is incorporated) to create a sun-filled dining room makes the internal space brighter and more airy still, blurring the boundary between indoors and outdoors. Close by is the spectacular North Devon coast and Exmoor National Park-creating an abundance of attractions to see and do during your visit to the area.

The majority of the accommodation is just a stone's throw away from the main house and all the 32 lodges are self-contained, with en suite facilities, colour TV, Free Wifi, direct dial telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and hairdryer, making it perfect for your business stay or leisure break. We offer a range of double, twin, and family rooms and have a feature bedroom for those special occasions, located in our main hotel building. Ground floor rooms and wheelchair access are available. Travel cots and Z-beds are also available on request.

Whether your visit is for a breakfast meeting, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or a three-course dinner, at the Cedars we have everything you need. You will enjoy our seasonal menu packed with a mouth-watering selection of modern and traditional favourites, at great value prices and complemented by selected fine wines and ales. Chef's Daily Specials are also available. On Sunday lunchtimes we offer a Carvery that has become popular throughout North Devon.
Picture of The Cedars , Barnstaple at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for a family getaway
We were very well looked after - two of us are coeliac and the staff went to a lot of trouble to get gluten-free sausages and bread and goat's milk for our breakfasts. The restaurant was so good and reasonably priced that we ate there every evening. The rooms were very quiet and we could park very near to our room. In fairness I think the rooms could do with a bit of updating and better lighting, however this didn't stop us having a super time. The location of the hotel is great and in our three days we visited Croyde Bay, Woolacombe, Ilfracombe and on a wet-weather day we took the boys to The Milky Way adventure park. We would definitely like to come again next year.

Reviewed by
Katy A

From Woodstock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A solo traveller on a mid season weekend stay
The staff where considerate, courteous and very friendly. The food was plentiful, with a wide range of choice. The room was well proportioned and clean, the only downside was the fact that the room was very dark and dismal due to the 'jungle' that surrounded the accommodation.

Reviewed by
Susan P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
Accommodation was awful. The damp stench that welcomed us when we opened the door wasn't a good start! Room was dark and dingy and desperately in need of modernisation. The bathroom was awful, very mouldy and unmaintained. The fourth bed was a "put you up" folded up in the corner and when we opened it, it was damp and very lumpy - luckily the main bed was a large kingsize so three of us slept in that. On the plus side the breakfast was very good with excellent choice and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
s parish

From market harborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first 3 nights were ok
The breakfast itself was alright. However on each morning we found the cups had stains in them. Some milk had kerdled.
We also stayed for 2 nights later on that week. When we were staying in our first room no 32 we found it was ok. When we arrived for our second stay we had room 19. We noticed the cleanliness of this room was not good. Mould on the blind in bathroom and in the shower. When we complained to reception we were told it was a room waiting for a refurb. No offer of different room or anythinv else.
Not satisfied with Cedars and will not stop there again.
Gary Benjamin

Reviewed by
Caroline Benjamin

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's very good I recommend to all my friends

Reviewed by
Gabriel F

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stopover was 1st class. the room & bed linen was clean. the breakfast was also very good. value for the money £55 for both of us. many thanks, we will come again.ray jenkins

Reviewed by
ray Martinez-Jenkins

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although it states that The Cedars Inn was completely refurbished in 2010, I find that hard to believe. I understand old but this was grubby. Bed linen and bathroom clean but rooms dark and old wooden structure. Take a fan if you are going and weather is hot. Good selection of food for breakfast but Customer Service not great. Receptionist never got out of her seat to greet us. I would not recommend this Hotel.

Reviewed by
W Field

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The inn could do with a bit of a make over, as the decor looked a little tired, as did some of the seating. On the plus side the staff were all pleasant and helpful. A good value inn if you get it at the cheaper rate, but not at the higher.

Reviewed by
David D

From Truro, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Guests
This accommodation was good for a small family, the room was clean and the staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
karen c

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would return but only if same price wouldnt pay full price
Having asked for 2 rooms close together ended up at opposite side of quadrangle. My dad is 89 and infirm, also a lot of steps. (Ramps available for wheelchairs but more walking if not using wheelchair) Photos deceptive on the back of a housing estate.

Reviewed by
Shaun O

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next