No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cedars

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bickington Road,Sticklepath , Barnstaple, EX31 2HE
The Cedars Inn Hotel Barnstaple is situated in the Devon Town of Barnstaple with easy access to the North Devon Coast via the A361, within easy reach of Bideford. The Cedars Inn Hotel was formerly an elegant early Victorian country house, and is set within three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, on the outskirts of Barnstaple. The addition of an enormous conservatory (in which the original conservatory is incorporated) to create a sun-filled dining room makes the internal space brighter and more airy still, blurring the boundary between indoors and outdoors. Close by is the spectacular North Devon coast and Exmoor National Park-creating an abundance of attractions to see and do during your visit to the area.

The majority of the accommodation is just a stone's throw away from the main house and all the 32 lodges are self-contained, with en suite facilities, colour TV, Free Wifi, direct dial telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and hairdryer, making it perfect for your business stay or leisure break. We offer a range of double, twin, and family rooms and have a feature bedroom for those special occasions, located in our main hotel building. Ground floor rooms and wheelchair access are available. Travel cots and Z-beds are also available on request.

Whether your visit is for a breakfast meeting, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or a three-course dinner, at the Cedars we have everything you need. You will enjoy our seasonal menu packed with a mouth-watering selection of modern and traditional favourites, at great value prices and complemented by selected fine wines and ales. Chef's Daily Specials are also available. On Sunday lunchtimes we offer a Carvery that has become popular throughout North Devon.
Picture of The Cedars , Barnstaple at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay at The Cedars
We visit Barnstaple regularly as we have friends and relations living in the area. This was our first time staying at The Cedars. We were pleasantly surprised, the staff were welcoming and helpful. We had an upstairs room which was clean and spacious with a good size ensuite. The room was very warm but well ventilated. We decided not to watch the evenings entertainment but instead chose a meal from the extensive menu and ate dinner in the bar. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a good breakfast (plenty of choices). The hotel provides good value all round and we will reccomend it to our friends.

Reviewed by
susan d

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cedars
Lovely welcome at reception, lovely room and fabulous food. Staff exceptionally good. Meals in the lovely conservatory, breakfast great with attentive staff.
Would recommend very highly and we will be returning again soon!

Reviewed by
R Broadbent

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
The only real issue I had with my stay was that my cooked breakfast arrived just as I started to eat my cereal and the older waitress who served me forgot to tell me that I needed to help myself to toast. Just felt a little rushed so that table could be cleared. My cooked breakfast was lovely but not very hot by the time I finished my cereal.

Reviewed by
Sue C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

general observations
Room and facilities generally OK. Bar and restaurant areas tidy but main evening menu selection not that good as a number of items selected were not available.

Reviewed by
F Gualtieri

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cedars
Ideal for us and dog as was location of room. Only adverse comment was untidy area around carpark

Reviewed by
michael lawton

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, lovely food would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Alastair A

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cedars
The staff were friendly and very helpfull, however, I was disappointed with how tired everything looked, a refurb is much needed. We were there for our daughters wedding, a beautiful event very well organised and the staff were brilliant, the whole day couldn't of gone any better. A coat of paint in the function room is needed as the paint is coming off the walls just where the happy couple signed the register.

Reviewed by
ERIKA L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for cyclists on Devon Coast to Coast
We stayed 2 nights. After first night we found an old pair of pyjama trousers behind a chair. Receptionist was very apologetic. All staff were lovely apart from chef who swore loudly about my wife's breakfast choice. I complained and manager spoke to him immediately but I got the impression it was not unusual. Secure place to store bikes which was good. Birds singing in matures trees were lovely. Food was not notable. Mass catering and non-descript, for example, breakfast porridge was instant and pretty disgusting. Very close to Tarka trail which was good. Overall ok because it was convenient.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cedars
I went to a wedding here and the food was of a good standard and so was the room. Perhaps if you are really fussy or expect a lot for your money then you may be able to find fault as some people do can in everything but I thought it was a nice clean and friendly place to stay with a good sized room. The food is also of a good standard.

Reviewed by
c marsh

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Wedding
We had a wonderful weekend staying here to attend a wedding.The room was cosy and clean with every home comfort.Yes it may have been a bit dark due to the trees.The staff were all friendly and efficient despite having our party and others to contend with.The meal in the restaurant was good,but the wedding breakfast was excellent.The breakfasts were also enjoyable with enough choices.Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sharon F

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next