No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cedars

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bickington Road,Sticklepath , Barnstaple, EX31 2HE
The Cedars Inn Hotel Barnstaple is situated in the Devon Town of Barnstaple with easy access to the North Devon Coast via the A361, within easy reach of Bideford. The Cedars Inn Hotel was formerly an elegant early Victorian country house, and is set within three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, on the outskirts of Barnstaple. The addition of an enormous conservatory (in which the original conservatory is incorporated) to create a sun-filled dining room makes the internal space brighter and more airy still, blurring the boundary between indoors and outdoors. Close by is the spectacular North Devon coast and Exmoor National Park-creating an abundance of attractions to see and do during your visit to the area.

The majority of the accommodation is just a stone's throw away from the main house and all the 32 lodges are self-contained, with en suite facilities, colour TV, Free Wifi, direct dial telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and hairdryer, making it perfect for your business stay or leisure break. We offer a range of double, twin, and family rooms and have a feature bedroom for those special occasions, located in our main hotel building. Ground floor rooms and wheelchair access are available. Travel cots and Z-beds are also available on request.

Whether your visit is for a breakfast meeting, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or a three-course dinner, at the Cedars we have everything you need. You will enjoy our seasonal menu packed with a mouth-watering selection of modern and traditional favourites, at great value prices and complemented by selected fine wines and ales. Chef's Daily Specials are also available. On Sunday lunchtimes we offer a Carvery that has become popular throughout North Devon.
Picture of The Cedars , Barnstaple at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 95 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

September stay.
Very nice stay.hotel out side areas beautiful. Staff at breakfast could not ask for nicer people. Plenty to choose from for breakfast.booked a meal in evening and it was very good and tasty. Rooms clean. Can make Tea coffee. Plenty of parking. Only negative comment I would give. is room 28 is always dark in side and had to have the lights on shame as sun was so nice out side. And i found pillows uncomfortable. Apart from that I would go back to the cedars. Great hotel .

Reviewed by
lesley o

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

swdgtjl;kl/.
dbsvncxvnv.bm /

Reviewed by
a wiggin

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No-one in charge
I was upset to find that I, as a single person, had paid more for two nights of B and B than the total paid by the two friends I was with. The room was adequate, but the case stand broke as soon as my tiny bag was placed on it, the bathroom was ill-equipped compared with the many places I have stayed for less than half what I paid. The rooms were cleaned late and in a perfunctory way.
On the first morning the vegetarian in our party was surprised when her mushroom omelette contained ham. On the second morning, we has to accost a waiter (a pleasant young man) after waiting about 20 minutes to be asked what we wanted for breakfast. The food was good on the whole.
The fire alarm went off early on our first morning. All guests assembled according to the written instructions in rooms. The alarm was on for probably half an hour. I saw no member of staff in that time and no-one came into the courtyard to confirm we could return to our rooms.
My impression overall was of too few staff trying to deliver all types of work. EG receptionist was also serving table. The establishment needed a manager to be on the premises. Not the best introduction to Old English Hotels.

Reviewed by
M Barrett

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Hotel
Love this hotel but needs renovation through out. Its clean but because it need up dating it still looks shabby. Even the pluming needs sorting out.

Reviewed by
Julie Atkins

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, delicious food and a great nights sleep

Reviewed by
Julie P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Break
Our room was a family room with an en suite shower room. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of room for the 4 of us.
The shower was very hot and high pressured. almost too much !
and overhead we had very creaky neighbours, but apart from that it was fine.
we were dissappointed by the breakfast as the menu is very limited and this had been the reason I chose Cedars over premier inn> i think next time we will go with Premier Inn as the rooms have better sound proofing and are cleaner and more modern. Cedars is possibly better for older families, or couples on their own.

Reviewed by
emma d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5*
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling with pets. They bent over backwards to make you and your pet welcome even providing free sausages for the dog for breakfast. (Cassie was most delighted!)
The dog wasn't allowed in the main restaurant, but was allowed in the bar area which was big enough and clean.
The food was excellent and very well priced 2 main meals for £9.99. I had steak and my wife had ham both of which was much better food that I have eaten in boasting 5* hotels around the country. There was also ample parking unlike some hotels you have to fight to get a space, and if you find one it's miles from where you room is.
So a big thumbs up to the staff for everything, and please keep being pet friendly unlike most of the other hotels which do not allow dogs.

Reviewed by
J Newcombe

From Stratford Upon avon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for a family getaway
We were very well looked after - two of us are coeliac and the staff went to a lot of trouble to get gluten-free sausages and bread and goat's milk for our breakfasts. The restaurant was so good and reasonably priced that we ate there every evening. The rooms were very quiet and we could park very near to our room. In fairness I think the rooms could do with a bit of updating and better lighting, however this didn't stop us having a super time. The location of the hotel is great and in our three days we visited Croyde Bay, Woolacombe, Ilfracombe and on a wet-weather day we took the boys to The Milky Way adventure park. We would definitely like to come again next year.

Reviewed by
Katy A

From Woodstock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A solo traveller on a mid season weekend stay
The staff where considerate, courteous and very friendly. The food was plentiful, with a wide range of choice. The room was well proportioned and clean, the only downside was the fact that the room was very dark and dismal due to the 'jungle' that surrounded the accommodation.

Reviewed by
Susan P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
Accommodation was awful. The damp stench that welcomed us when we opened the door wasn't a good start! Room was dark and dingy and desperately in need of modernisation. The bathroom was awful, very mouldy and unmaintained. The fourth bed was a "put you up" folded up in the corner and when we opened it, it was damp and very lumpy - luckily the main bed was a large kingsize so three of us slept in that. On the plus side the breakfast was very good with excellent choice and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
s parish

From market harborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next