No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cedars

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bickington Road,Sticklepath , Barnstaple, EX31 2HE
The Cedars Inn Hotel Barnstaple is situated in the Devon Town of Barnstaple with easy access to the North Devon Coast via the A361, within easy reach of Bideford. The Cedars Inn Hotel was formerly an elegant early Victorian country house, and is set within three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, on the outskirts of Barnstaple. The addition of an enormous conservatory (in which the original conservatory is incorporated) to create a sun-filled dining room makes the internal space brighter and more airy still, blurring the boundary between indoors and outdoors. Close by is the spectacular North Devon coast and Exmoor National Park-creating an abundance of attractions to see and do during your visit to the area.

The majority of the accommodation is just a stone's throw away from the main house and all the 32 lodges are self-contained, with en suite facilities, colour TV, Free Wifi, direct dial telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and hairdryer, making it perfect for your business stay or leisure break. We offer a range of double, twin, and family rooms and have a feature bedroom for those special occasions, located in our main hotel building. Ground floor rooms and wheelchair access are available. Travel cots and Z-beds are also available on request.

Whether your visit is for a breakfast meeting, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or a three-course dinner, at the Cedars we have everything you need. You will enjoy our seasonal menu packed with a mouth-watering selection of modern and traditional favourites, at great value prices and complemented by selected fine wines and ales. Chef's Daily Specials are also available. On Sunday lunchtimes we offer a Carvery that has become popular throughout North Devon.
Picture of The Cedars , Barnstaple at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cedars
The staff were friendly and very helpfull, however, I was disappointed with how tired everything looked, a refurb is much needed. We were there for our daughters wedding, a beautiful event very well organised and the staff were brilliant, the whole day couldn't of gone any better. A coat of paint in the function room is needed as the paint is coming off the walls just where the happy couple signed the register.

Reviewed by
ERIKA L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for cyclists on Devon Coast to Coast
We stayed 2 nights. After first night we found an old pair of pyjama trousers behind a chair. Receptionist was very apologetic. All staff were lovely apart from chef who swore loudly about my wife's breakfast choice. I complained and manager spoke to him immediately but I got the impression it was not unusual. Secure place to store bikes which was good. Birds singing in matures trees were lovely. Food was not notable. Mass catering and non-descript, for example, breakfast porridge was instant and pretty disgusting. Very close to Tarka trail which was good. Overall ok because it was convenient.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cedars
I went to a wedding here and the food was of a good standard and so was the room. Perhaps if you are really fussy or expect a lot for your money then you may be able to find fault as some people do can in everything but I thought it was a nice clean and friendly place to stay with a good sized room. The food is also of a good standard.

Reviewed by
c marsh

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Wedding
We had a wonderful weekend staying here to attend a wedding.The room was cosy and clean with every home comfort.Yes it may have been a bit dark due to the trees.The staff were all friendly and efficient despite having our party and others to contend with.The meal in the restaurant was good,but the wedding breakfast was excellent.The breakfasts were also enjoyable with enough choices.Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sharon F

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay for Business
Comfortable Room, lovely large bed, clean and tidy and staff very approachable on arrival

Reviewed by
M WHITE

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sadly not a good stay.
I Was expecting great things from reviews, but sadly not the case. Although the room was ok, the bed was saggy lumpy and not the best. The restaurant was poor, of the menu, the first 4 choices were unavailable. settling for the rib eye steak, it was far too fatty and gristle, the belly pork not food, very disappointing.
Can't see me going back in a hurry sorry.

Reviewed by
peter s

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sub standard
Damp, smelly, noisy, and dirty. Places such as this are the reason that Premier Inn continues to thrive. A typical British seaside hotel in need of a total refurbishment.

Reviewed by
David T

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mr Feely
The welcome was excellent.
The beer was excellent.
The price per room was excellent.
My two companions eating > One thought that the steak was of a poor quality the other thought that the chicken was tough.
My nachos were not the best that I have eaten. Perhaps we came on an off night.
My breakfast was a little not warm enough.

Reviewed by
wilfrid feely

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second time at The Cedars and must say all the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was very good.

Reviewed by
J Merrington

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience & value.
Cosy but spacious accommodation. Nice that it was separate from the bar. Problem with shower but were very prompt to respond & resolve. Breakfast was adequate.

Reviewed by
Ruth B

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next