No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cedars

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bickington Road,Sticklepath , Barnstaple, EX31 2HE
The Cedars Inn Hotel Barnstaple is situated in the Devon Town of Barnstaple with easy access to the North Devon Coast via the A361, within easy reach of Bideford. The Cedars Inn Hotel was formerly an elegant early Victorian country house, and is set within three acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, on the outskirts of Barnstaple. The addition of an enormous conservatory (in which the original conservatory is incorporated) to create a sun-filled dining room makes the internal space brighter and more airy still, blurring the boundary between indoors and outdoors. Close by is the spectacular North Devon coast and Exmoor National Park-creating an abundance of attractions to see and do during your visit to the area.

The majority of the accommodation is just a stone's throw away from the main house and all the 32 lodges are self-contained, with en suite facilities, colour TV, Free Wifi, direct dial telephones, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and hairdryer, making it perfect for your business stay or leisure break. We offer a range of double, twin, and family rooms and have a feature bedroom for those special occasions, located in our main hotel building. Ground floor rooms and wheelchair access are available. Travel cots and Z-beds are also available on request.

Whether your visit is for a breakfast meeting, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or a three-course dinner, at the Cedars we have everything you need. You will enjoy our seasonal menu packed with a mouth-watering selection of modern and traditional favourites, at great value prices and complemented by selected fine wines and ales. Chef's Daily Specials are also available. On Sunday lunchtimes we offer a Carvery that has become popular throughout North Devon.
Picture of The Cedars , Barnstaple at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's very good I recommend to all my friends

Reviewed by
Gabriel F

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stopover was 1st class. the room & bed linen was clean. the breakfast was also very good. value for the money £55 for both of us. many thanks, we will come again.ray jenkins

Reviewed by
ray Martinez-Jenkins

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although it states that The Cedars Inn was completely refurbished in 2010, I find that hard to believe. I understand old but this was grubby. Bed linen and bathroom clean but rooms dark and old wooden structure. Take a fan if you are going and weather is hot. Good selection of food for breakfast but Customer Service not great. Receptionist never got out of her seat to greet us. I would not recommend this Hotel.

Reviewed by
W Field

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The inn could do with a bit of a make over, as the decor looked a little tired, as did some of the seating. On the plus side the staff were all pleasant and helpful. A good value inn if you get it at the cheaper rate, but not at the higher.

Reviewed by
David D

From Truro, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Guests
This accommodation was good for a small family, the room was clean and the staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
karen c

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would return but only if same price wouldnt pay full price
Having asked for 2 rooms close together ended up at opposite side of quadrangle. My dad is 89 and infirm, also a lot of steps. (Ramps available for wheelchairs but more walking if not using wheelchair) Photos deceptive on the back of a housing estate.

Reviewed by
Shaun O

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay for family getogether
Excellent service,friendly,all in all, faultless.

Reviewed by
Andy Gibbins

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be a very nice place to stay, good location for exploring Devon.
Good sized room away from restaurant and party noise which was good but it smelt very musty. Too few staff are working very hard but this results in long waits and menu shortages which is a shame given the location and expectation of a vintage inn.

Reviewed by
V Bradshaw

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice grounds, well placed for Barnstaple centre
The food was expensive for what it was. The experience would have been first class if the food was better. The salmon was dry and crying out for a sauce. The Hollandaise sauce on the Eggs Benedict tasted like it came from a mass produced sauce bottle. Its a shame because the accommodation is different and good food would have made a return a definite probability.

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly. helpful staff, delicious food
We have stayed here several times and have always found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Everything necessary is provided in the rooms - hairdryer, iron and ironing board, extra pillows, etc. Breakfast is always plentiful and delicious with plenty of choice.
This time we visited the restaurant for Sunday lunch with my parents. They are in their 80s and disabled. My mother chose to visit the carvery and was accompanied by a very pleasant helpful young man. He helped her to the food she required and carried it to the table for her. They were very impressed with the service and the friendliness of the staff, as well as the quality of the food.
The only problem this time was that we could not book a proper double room, in that we did not have a double bed but twin beds joined together, which was not as comfortable.

Reviewed by
Sherri K

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next