No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kingsteignton, Newton Abbot, TQ12 3QH
The BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel in Newton Abbot is a classy hotel with character! From superb conference facilities and comfy accommodation to a relaxing health spa and leisure club, we have everything you need to guarantee a super stay! Built next to a 17th Century inn on the banks of the Teign Estuary, the hotel boasts a luxurious leisure suite with a steam room, sauna and well-appointed gym. Our beauty salon offers a range of treatments, massage and aromatherapy too, so you'll be in safe hands whatever your reason for taking time out! As a base, the hotel is second to none. From the towering red sandstone cliffs and sheltered sandy coves with beautiful bays along the coastline to the contrast of the wild and rugged terrain of Dartmoor, you can discover Devon at leisure!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

test the bed before you commit to a room
The beds we had were the worst I have ever experienced - felt every spring. I mentioned this in the morning and was asked if I had contacted the reception desk when i noticed the problem - at midnight in my pygamas to walk across the courtyard and road to the main building? I don't think so. Besides we were so tired, to change rooms if that had been feasible would have had us up later still. But the reception girl's response in the morning was "Well then" as if it was my fault the bed was uncomfortable, with no apology at all. So no marks for attitude and no marks for bed comfort. the room itself was fine, clean and had fresh bathroom facilities with moderate size towels.

Reviewed by
L Katie

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scenic and quiet
Most notably we enjoyed 2 excellent nights sleep without being disturbed by a single banging hotel door. An early morning stroll along the Teign was also most enjoyable and although we didn't get a chance to make use of the Leisure Club we were impressed by what we were shown there. All the staff were professional, courteous and efficient. All in all definitely different from the norm in an excellent setting and pretty good value for money to boot.

Reviewed by
Darryl Thysse

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
great location for dartmoor & the coast so plenty to do in the area. Rooms very comfortable & quiet. Main hotel nice atmosphere & conservatory area nice to relax in overlooking the estuary. Have been before & certainly will go again.

Reviewed by
Sue C

From Stoke Sub Hamdon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectations
Stayed in South Lodge. Very spacious quiet room with superb view of River Teign. Free Wifi a bonus.
Housekeeping was more thorough on some days than others. Excellent shower although control knob was loose. Staying over Christmas so didn't report it.
Inn next door serves very good reasonably priced dinners that can be added to your room bill
Our only gripe was finding it in the first place. Satnav plus postcode takes you into a housing estate
Look out instead for the large sign at the turning into Hackney Lane.
Follow the narrow lane to its end. The hotel really is there and you won't be disappointed

Reviewed by
Alan F

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A visit worth making
When arriving, we were somewhat disappointed to find that we were not booked into the hotel but instead, we were booked into a separate set of buildings 100 metres away from the main building. However, the room was spacious and spotless and although we were only there for two nights, the towels were changed each day and the bathroom was thoroughly cleaned. All in all, it was well worth the money.

Reviewed by
George M

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Be prepared
We stayed in the North Lodges, super room ,great bathroom , all very clean and well presented, only problem is the beds, lumpy, uncomfortable and in need of urgent replacement. you can feel all the springs through the mattress, I wish the manager would try sleeping on them for a night then maybe things would change, Putting the spare blanket under the bottom sheet helped, but really should you have to do this in a quality hotel?

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet stay
I stayed with my 85yr old mother is a very light sleeper, she slept as if in her own bed.
Staying in the North Lodge meant we had to walk to breakfast, but this meant we were away from the noise of two coach loads of people, Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly.
The room had everything you need and was very clean - my mother didn't like the quilt so we swapped it for blankets and the maid remade her bed the same way. Small touches mean lots.
Short walk down to the inn where you can watch the tidal river flow in or out. Peaceful and beautiful.

Reviewed by
Penny F

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No food after 9.15 pm!
We arrived at the hotel after our car had broken down and two hours waiting for a tow truck - famished, tired, stressed! Looking forward to a nice supper - no chance! We were calmly informed that the restaurant was closed and no room service was available after 9.15! In a hotel???
Apart from that, you get a better equipped room in a Premier Inn - no reading lamps by the bedside, fro example.

Reviewed by
C Grist

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.
Good value for money. Rooms quite basic but the price was low so very good for what you pay for. Couldn't fault it. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Ceri Harger

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't fault it !!
Excellent hotel for the price !
Good food in the on site pub,good shower pressure,good facilities
And the breakfast is value for money.
I stay away a lot but this is the best budget hotel for a while.

Reviewed by
D B

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next