No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Kingsteignton, Newton Abbot, TQ12 3QH
The BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel in Newton Abbot is a classy hotel with character! From superb conference facilities and comfy accommodation to a relaxing health spa and leisure club, we have everything you need to guarantee a super stay! Built next to a 17th Century inn on the banks of the Teign Estuary, the hotel boasts a luxurious leisure suite with a steam room, sauna and well-appointed gym. Our beauty salon offers a range of treatments, massage and aromatherapy too, so you'll be in safe hands whatever your reason for taking time out! As a base, the hotel is second to none. From the towering red sandstone cliffs and sheltered sandy coves with beautiful bays along the coastline to the contrast of the wild and rugged terrain of Dartmoor, you can discover Devon at leisure!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little piece of heaven by the river
We only stayed for one night but wished it had been more. Our room was sumptuous, huge bed, beautifully appointed modern bathroom and a wonderful view down the river to Teignmouth. In the morning we were treated to the most glorious autumn sunrise through the mist. Breakfast was huge and served unusually quickly. The staff were friendly and in particular Emma on reception was extremely helpful. We enjoyed it so much we have booked a further 3 nights next month.

Reviewed by
Gillian Darby

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

YabbaDabbaDoo
The Best Western was located off a narrow lane but was easy enough to find. The hotel was clean and welcoming, There was a pool and gym which was an added bonus. We didn't eat at the hotel as we fancied a curry in Newton Abbot. Overall it was very good value and I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
gordon c

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, comfortable stay.
Lovely big room, spotlessly clean with a fantastic view across the Teign estuary (room 209). Very quiet room - no noise from other guests. Good shower. Didn't eat at hotel but nice enough pub next door for basic tasty, well-priced evening meal. Sign for hotel from main road doesn't indicate that you have to drive approx. 1 mile to the end of a tiny lane to get to the hotel but just keep going until the road stops!

Reviewed by
Helen B

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break
A very relaxing break everyone very helpfull and friendly lots of lovely places to visit and very good food

Reviewed by
B Ricketts

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
The hotel was clean but a little confusing to get too as it was down a country lane.

Reviewed by
lee oakley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally situated & Lovely views
The hotel was nice enough, the location of it is ideal particularly for visitying places in and around the area, most places we wanted to visit were only 10-15 minutes away. The views over the estuary from the breakfast area and pub were lovely. Breakfast was good quality and the staff were very friendly.
The only downside was our room was literally right next to the dual carriageway!

Reviewed by
Simon H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

test the bed before you commit to a room
The beds we had were the worst I have ever experienced - felt every spring. I mentioned this in the morning and was asked if I had contacted the reception desk when i noticed the problem - at midnight in my pygamas to walk across the courtyard and road to the main building? I don't think so. Besides we were so tired, to change rooms if that had been feasible would have had us up later still. But the reception girl's response in the morning was "Well then" as if it was my fault the bed was uncomfortable, with no apology at all. So no marks for attitude and no marks for bed comfort. the room itself was fine, clean and had fresh bathroom facilities with moderate size towels.

Reviewed by
L Katie

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scenic and quiet
Most notably we enjoyed 2 excellent nights sleep without being disturbed by a single banging hotel door. An early morning stroll along the Teign was also most enjoyable and although we didn't get a chance to make use of the Leisure Club we were impressed by what we were shown there. All the staff were professional, courteous and efficient. All in all definitely different from the norm in an excellent setting and pretty good value for money to boot.

Reviewed by
Darryl Thysse

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
great location for dartmoor & the coast so plenty to do in the area. Rooms very comfortable & quiet. Main hotel nice atmosphere & conservatory area nice to relax in overlooking the estuary. Have been before & certainly will go again.

Reviewed by
Sue C

From Stoke Sub Hamdon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectations
Stayed in South Lodge. Very spacious quiet room with superb view of River Teign. Free Wifi a bonus.
Housekeeping was more thorough on some days than others. Excellent shower although control knob was loose. Staying over Christmas so didn't report it.
Inn next door serves very good reasonably priced dinners that can be added to your room bill
Our only gripe was finding it in the first place. Satnav plus postcode takes you into a housing estate
Look out instead for the large sign at the turning into Hackney Lane.
Follow the narrow lane to its end. The hotel really is there and you won't be disappointed

Reviewed by
Alan F

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next