No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fowey Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Esplanade , Fowey, PL23 1HX
Set in beautifully landscaped gardens right by the water's edge, the Fowey hotel majestically watches over the lazy yachts and quaint fishing boats as they creep in and out of the mouth of the river. Privately owned and renowned for its friendly, relaxed atmosphere and high standards, many of the individually decorated en suite bedrooms offer panoramic views as do all of the public rooms.~~ Ranked as one of the UK's most desirable locations, the pretty village of Fowey is a joy to wander around, with its myriad of charming shops and galleries, wonderful vistas and walks are all around, with plenty to see and do on land or water.~~ Parking at the hotel is limited and can be pre-booked ~~ WIFI in public areas. Recently awarded Silver Small Hotel of The Year by the Cornish Tourist Board.
Picture of Fowey Hotel, Fowey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful views but a bit faded
Its worth a stay for the view and to use the old lift with brass gates, wood panelling and mirrors.
Good big bed and good bathroom. Carpets and fittings a bit old. Feels old fashioned.
Lovely helpful staff - all a bit split between wonderful and ordinary

Reviewed by
michael baird

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at fowey hotel
Everything was perfect from the moment I booked, reception rang me to check my requirements, then I received a warm welcome on arrival. Every member of staff smiled and asked if they could help when they saw me. Food was wonderful. Only drawback was the parking but I knew that before I booked.

Reviewed by
jane gibbs

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class accommodation and excellent staff.

Reviewed by
Paul Saunders

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
Our room was very comfortable but the windows/ carpet need an upgrade this apart . no complaints at all with the overall standard of the room and grounds
the breakfasts were excellent and the staff each morning were very pleasant and quick to meet all requests
we did not eat dinner in the hotel as we wanted to visit local eateries ..but the menu looked tempting
The check out system should be looked at.......whilst we were in no great hurry it was annoying to have to wait behind a guest arranging to stay another night and being in a chatty mood whilst doing so
we were very lucky being able to park in St Finnbarrus St ? each night but shudder at the alternatives

Reviewed by
lucy russell

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
This was just what I needed a relaxing stay with the staff helpfull and accommodating

Reviewed by
David N

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay but very enjoyable
Booked into the Fowey Hotel for one night stay but delighted with the service and the attentiveness of the staff. I would suggest to anyone staying here that booking a parking space outside the hotel is essential as Fowey is built in and estuary with very steep streets. Next time we will go for a room with the harbour view. Stunning location.

Reviewed by
Angela Harper

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old-fashioned hotel. Would have breakfast elsewhere in future.
We booked two nights for our honeymoon as we love Fowey. The staff were lovely, the room had a gorgeous seaview, four poster and jacuzzi bath and we loved the old lift. The breakfast was a bit 'so-so' - juice from concentrate, no real vegetarian option, and atmosphere a bit 'clinking teaspoons stuffy.' There are so many gorgeous little cafés and Fowey that we would eat there instead in future. I've stayed here before and will stay here again. Last time I took my dog which was fabulous.

Reviewed by
Emma S

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning views & great service
Views are absolutely stunning and the breakfast service is superb.
However when advertising a superior room you have to read the small print as it is a standard room with a view. The standard room is quite small and basic.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback. This is greatly appreciated as we are continuously working to improve quality and services. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Fowey Hotel and completely agree that the view here is second to none. After reading your comments about the room descriptions provided we will be working with Laterooms to update these to give our guests a more detailed idea of each room type we offer to make it clearer. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed by
Corrie Williams

From Saundersfoot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great trip to Cornwall
Me and my partner, Trish, have just returned home after a visit to the Eden project and a two night stay at this wonderful hotel over-looking the Harbour in Fowey. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff extremely helpful. Our room was on the first floor which was a bit of a shame as we couldn't justify using the fabulous old lift. Our room was small but perfectly formed, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need. The beds were very comfy and the linen was crisp and white. The bathroom had a full sized bath and brilliant shower. Actual HOT water and lots of pressure. The towels, (thick, soft and fluffy) were probably the best I have ever encountered in a hotel As we hadn't booked a premium room, we were unable to reserve a parking space, and I expected to have to park in the public car park about a five minute walk away from the hotel itself. However, as the hotel wasn't full when we arrived, we were allocated a parking space at just £5.00 per night. Be warned, though. If you have a large car (mine is a Vectra Estate) driving in Fowey can be a bit of an adventure. Some of the roads were barely wider than the car and some of the corners required a 3 point turn to negotiate. The breakfast menu is extensive and there would be something to satisfy the fussiest eater. Your bacon and eggs is freshly cooked and brought to your table by friendly, attentive staff. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but chose to walk into town and sample the local eateries. On consecutive nights we chose The Galleon Inn and The Ship Inn. The food was fabulous and very reasonably priced. The walk down to the Harbour and up again is a bit steep, so take care if you have too many glasses of wine with your dinner. Would we go back? Absolutely. If you choose to stay here you will not regret it.

Reviewed by
M Wright

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fowey Hotel Accommodation
Not a sea view, but bedroom was large with a good sized comfortable bed and and decent bedroom furniture. Bathroom was large with a separate bath and shower and good water pressure in the shower. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean. My wife and I thought the room good value for money.

Reviewed by
Martin Cooke

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next