No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glendower Bed & Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Glendower, Falkland Road, , Torquay, TQ2 5JP
We would like to thank all our 2013 guests helping us win a Laterooms 'Simply The Guest Award'

We go to a great deal of effort to ensure your accommodation and breakfasts are of the highest standard. We use only the finest ingredients to produce a breakfast of a very high quality. Our local butcher makes our sausages using quality ingredients and also provides extremely tasty thick cut bacon.

We also make all the Marmalades and Jams ourselves (the Strawberry, Raspberry and Blackberry are made from fruit grown in our garden). Fresh fruit is also available at breakfast, much of which is grown in our garden.
We also make all the bread, both white and multigrain and all the yogurts are made on the premises.

Our rooms are large,spacious and well equipped with free high speed wifi. Many of our guests make particular reference to the beds and comment frequently on how well they slept. A number of guests have shown a genuine interest in buying the same beds for themselves.

All our bedrooms are furnished to a high standard,and they all have tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen television with freeview WiFi internet connection,hair dryers and personal security box.

We are one of the closest establisments to the seafront and Torre Abbey Sands in only a short walk away through Torre Abbey Meadow.

Picture of Glendower Bed & Breakfast, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay in August 2014
Friendly host, excellent breakfast, decor somewhat dated and could do with a refresh but generally good value for money.

Reviewed by
JOHN C

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely room, extremely comfortable beds, great breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Bramham

From Betws Y Coed, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, value for money accommodation, great guest house. Very welcoming, clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful owners, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit..

Reviewed by
Graham Auton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, value for money accommodation, great guest house. Very welcoming, clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful owners, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit..

Reviewed by
Graham Auton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Would definitely stay here again. Peter and Jacky are extremely friendly and accomodating, making an effort with all guests throughout. On arrival Peter takes the time to explain the local sights and sounds, in addition to giving you a weather forecast for the coming days and when to fit it all in.
The food is very good and plentiful, with the hosts taking the time to tailor the breakfast to each individual liking. The fruit (and homemade jams) on offer are fresh from their own garden, and have that 'just picked' taste that is impossible to find in any supermarket.
If I had to criticse anything, I would suggest that the communal areas could do with a bit of an update to bring it into the 21st century. Though on the upside, this did give it a homely and lived in feel.
All in all I would highly recommend this B&B.

Reviewed by
Rob R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Second Booking
Perfect location, great hosts who will bend over backwards for you and a lovely lovely weekend.

Reviewed by
Julia G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family holiday
My husband and our two teenage grandchildren have just spent a thoroughly enjoyable week at the Glendower. The rooms were well equipped, the beds very comfortable and the breakfasts are just as described on the website, delicious. It was the perfect location for access to the beach and town center with a bus stop nearby if you wanted to explore further afield. We had a very warm welcome on our arrival and although we had arrived earllier than expected we were able to park our car and gain access to our rooms . We would not hesitate to book here again.

Reviewed by
G Taylor

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 3rd-5th
Fantastic hosts. Accommodation was lovely. Breakfast brilliant. Homemade bread and jams gorgeous. Couldn't fault a thing

Reviewed by
sheila benham

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family stay
Most enjoyable time, staff very friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

Reviewed by
alan walker

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Only stayed for one night, but the room and facilities were perfect and real value for money.
The breakfast was freshly made and delicious. Also I'm very fussy about my coffee but I must say The Glendower makes a damn fine cup of coffee !

Reviewed by
Dudley K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next