No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thorverton Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Th Berry, Thorverton, , Exeter, EX5 5NS
We look forward to welcoming you to the Thorverton Arms, a former coaching inn located in the centre of the beautiful village of Thorverton in Devon. We are in the heart of the English countryside yet only minutes away from Exeter and the local market towns of Tiverton and Crediton, making us the ideal touring base for the north and south Devon beaches, Exmoor and Dartmoor. Exeter University is on 'our' side of town, and Exeter Airport is easily accessible. We have six en-suite letting rooms, all with comfortable beds and flat screen televisions with Freeview. One of our rooms is a large family room with a double bed and two single beds, and an ensuite bathroom. We welcome children of all ages, and have a cot, baby bath and listening monitor available so that parents can enjoy a meal alone if they wish. We also welcome well-behaved dogs as overnight visitors and in the bar. Our friendly establishment includes a restaurant using produce sourced as locally as we can. We cook meals to order and vary the menu according to what is seasonal and good at the time. We are very flexible and will do our best to cater for individual dietary requirements. Our bar is comfortable and traditional, serving an extensive range of drinks, including traditional cask ales and west country ciders. Popular with both locals and visitors, there is always someone interesting to talk to. In the winter, we have an open log fire and for warmer times there is a large south-facing patio and garden with one of the oldest wisterias in Devon. We have plenty of free parking for guests.
Picture of Thorverton Arms, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog-friendly pub near Exeter
An enjoyable stay, particularly good for families with a dog as there is a community field very close to the pub for exercising the hound. Breakfast was very good.
An admin error on check-in was soon sorted. Staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
David K

From Alcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome
Very friendly welcoming staff in beautiful surroundings, Great food and atmosphere

Reviewed by
i white

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor, highly overpriced
I booked a family room for the price of £360 for 4 nights which stated 4 adults with breakfast. On arrival I was charged an extra £40 for the extra adults. The breakfast was very poor the full English was one sausage, one rashon of bacon, one fried egg, half a mushroom, half a tomato and a slice of toast. The prices of drinks in the bar varied on who was serving you at the time. Every evening after work the towels were still damp and made it difficult to dry yourself. My personal opinion was the landlord was very tight and it was the same opinion from the locals of the village. The locals on the other hand are very friendly and would recommend the pub just up the road (Exeter arms) with it's wide range of antique guns a very nice country pub.

Reviewed by
D Joyce

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely friendly place to stay
This is a beautiful, quiet, old pub, in the middle of a stunning little village. The rooms are not shiny, modern and square, but nicely kept, in keeping with the age of property and perfectly adequate. The staff and Landlord couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The food is exceptionally good both in the morning and the evenings. It has a good central location in Devon and we traveled in all directions from there. It was a joy to stay here and we would certainly not hesitate in staying again.

Reviewed by
Philippa J

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Time
A lovely Inn, only 5 or so miles outside Exeter but totally remote. Great staff, fantastic standard of food, clean room, Ill stay again.

Reviewed by
I Goodwin

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really pleased, the owners are caring people, no need to say anything else etc etc

Reviewed by
andrew plume

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly pub atmosphere
does what it says on the tin

Reviewed by
mark cox

From Lightwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was basic and in need of some modernisation. We did have an issue with the plumbing in the bathroom which we discussed with the hotelier and he reduced the bill by £20.00 which we felt was fair. Breakfast was of a good quality with great service from the staff on duty.

Reviewed by
M Finch

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, many thanks

Reviewed by
Roger G

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for a stop off on the way to Cornwall
Hotel was in need of a refresh which made it overpriced for what we got. Although it was in a very quiet village (with NOTHING else around) there were lots of slamming doors and car alarms going off at midnight, which we accept isn't the hotels fault We chose to eat our evening meal here - very bland food and very slow service even though there were only 2 tables occupied.
Breakfast was very poor - 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage. No beans, no hash browns

Reviewed by
S Davies

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next