No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Osborne Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hesketh Crescent, Torquay, TQ1 2LL
The Osborne is at the centre of an elegant Regency-period crescent. It overlooks 6 acres of grounds that stretch to Meadfoot Beach, with stunning views across the English Riviera.

The elegantly peaceful hotel has indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools (seasonal) and one of the most exclusive health and leisure suites on the English Riviera.

Large enough to be luxurious, yet small enough to keep a personal touch, the Osborne Hotel is ideal for visiting Torquay or South Devon for business or leisure.
Picture of Osborne Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect break
We were blessed with brilliant weather which enhanced the fantastic views from our room (Osborne). The facilities were first class and all the staff were courteous, making us feel most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is in a delightful setting with excellent facilities and I would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting a true British holiday with traditional elegance.

Reviewed by
Valerie H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Fish & chips of my life! (And lots of other good things)
I'd worked all day and then flown and drove down for work the next day. I was a bit frazzled to say the least. The hotel & view took my breath away. I was greated by a wonderfully warm and informative receptionist who told me about all the facilities. I had a lovely swim in the indoor pool, then the best fish &chips of my life and then bed, woke feeling wonderfully refreshed and a great breakfast and thoroughly ready for work.
My only very slight gripe is the wifi didn't support me streaming Netflix and I'm in the middle of a box set (but that would be really digging deep to find a gripe)

Reviewed by
Jane C

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel and great location
We had a brilliant stay. Lots to do everyday. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Torquay a lovely quiet location @ Meadfoot beach. Easy access into Torquay by bus, taxi or walking. We visited Dartmouth by Steam train & ferry, Dawlish by rail, Babbacombe (Beautiful) Paighton Zoo, lots to do. If you don't want to go out, the hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool, a gym and two places to eat - restaurant @ Brassiere. The hotel had the same great service and staff as last year, but the choice of menu has changed to a monthly rotation option. So if you don't like something in the restaurant menu you had to eat in the Brassiere, which limited your choice a bit. We stayed in the Lewis room which has an excellent sea view and has a pair of binoculars for your use. A good comfortable bed and seating area. Our only niggles were that the water pressure for the shower is quite low, but it had a bath so okay and one of the sliding wardrobe doors was difficult to open fully. An excellent hotel and would recommend it to anyone for a relaxing break with plenty to do.

Reviewed by
Fiona Cowan

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

With the hotel having 4 stars, I would have expected the extractor fan in the enclosed bathroom/toilet to be working, and perhaps it would have been have been essential to have a loo brush provided.
It was a lovely room, but being the beginning of the summer season, I would have expected the carpet to have been cleaned.

Reviewed by
Raymond W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food
Lovely hotel with great views. Food was excellent - the dinner was well served, hot and tasty, and the breakfast was perfect.
The rooms were great, the corridors were a little tired but the rest of the communal areas were well kept.
I didn't have chance to use the leisure facilities so can't comment on them.

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Malpas, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Osborne Hotel
Very nice, but breakfast service was very slow

Reviewed by
Joan B

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
The Osborne is a lovely hotel in a stunning setting. Perfect for a romantic getaway and remarkably good value at £79 per room.

Reviewed by
John Chadwick

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant Service
The room was perfect,but the restaurant sevice was terrable the only thing that was missing was Basil Fawlty and Manuel.
We ordered our meal at 19.30 soup and Main Course, at 20.10 our main course turn up i told the waiter im still waiting for my soup,ok i will bring the soup right away 15 mins later we got our soup then we had to wait for them to reheat the main course.

Reviewed by
Elena Heard

From WESTON-SUPER-MARE, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seaside break
All good,but horendous walk into town(vertical up and down)would not stay again for this reason

Reviewed by
c grierson

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Setting the standard for others to follow
I can not ever remember being so happy to write a review on a hotel as I am on The Osborne of Torquay. My problem is to find the right words without sounding over the top. I am therefore going to just say one word EXCELENT, particlarly in value for money... and the position looking out over the bay, well what more can you ask for?

Reviewed by
Peter Abraham

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next