No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ferndale Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
22 St Marychurch Road, , , Torquay, TQ1 3HY
Ferndale Lodge is a small, friendly, family-run, guest house. You can be assured of a warm welcome, personal service and value for money. We are committed to the highest standards of care and attention. We look on our guests as family and will make every effort to ensure you get the most out of your visit to Torquay. All our rooms are en-suite with free-view flat screen TV/DVD, hairdryer, kettle with tea/coffee, complimentary toiletries etc. Towels are provided. We also have free WIFI. We have a large private car park. There is also a covered area ideal for motorcycles and bicycles. We are centrally located, with the top of the town centre only 5 minutes walk away. We are 12 minutes walk to the harbour in one direction and between 12 and 20 minutes walk to various coastlines and beaches in other directions. We are in an ideal position from which to access all of Torquay's attractions: Model Village, Kents Cavern, Living Coasts, Torre Abbey and Cockington. Pets are welcome by prior arrangement but are not allowed in all rooms so please contact us in advance to discuss your requirements. For a special occasion book our room featuring a beautiful Italian four poster bed. Ground floor rooms are available. All rooms have colour flat-screen TV / DVD player, clock radio, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a personal safe. Our wonderful breakfast includes tea/coffee/orange juice, cereals, toast, fresh seasonal fruit, yoghurt, tinned fruit, and choice of cooked breakfast etc. We endeavour to use locally sourced, free range ingredients, wherever possible. We offer a free/courtesy transport to and from the local train and coach stations which are only minutes away (by prior arrangement).
Picture of Ferndale Lodge, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a perfect and most relaxing stay,and just to say a big THANKYOU.

Reviewed by
alfred fry

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Ferndale Lodge was excellent, with nothing we required being too much trouble.
The accommodation we stayed in was of the highest standard and we were made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
J Johnson

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good experience
Good site parking. Friendly welcome. Excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Susan Sellek

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Fab place to stay!!! Definitely recommend room, food, service all brilliant for the great price!!!!

Reviewed by
J Fletcher

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm friendly and very clean
Lovely night away very welcoming, clean well decorated room and great breakfast. Definately worth a stay we will use again

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Allen

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely family!
The accommodation was absolutely fantastic. We had a lovely room with cookies, biscuits and hot drink facilities available. The Bathroom had soap, shampoo and necessities. The lodge itself is stunning.
But the thing that made this stay so wonderful was the family that run the place. They are so friendly and informative and breakfast was a hoot! (Grandmother and Grandson should be a comedy double act!) Such a wonderful place to stay in and very close to all the sights. I can't wait to book another short break!

Reviewed by
Emily Cooke

From Abertillery, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
We were well looked after in this pleasant family-run b&b. They catered for my wife's gluten allergy at breakfast, everything was very clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable I have ever slept in, though the novelty of the 4-poster was nice! The car park is quite small. But we would certainly happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
We booked this B&B based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. Family run B&B and upon arrival John the owner couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful in his reviews of the area and suggestions of places to visit. Unfortunately, we were only staying for 3 nights, so were unable to do everything suggested! The room was a good size, the bed very comfortable and the room was clean. Joan, the owners mother in law was a real star and we enjoyed our little chats with her. We were served breakfast each morning by the owners son George and he was the real star of the show. I would be hard pushed to say that I have ever met a more charming and personable young man in a long time. He chats to you like you've known him for ever, nothing is too much trouble for him, a real asset to this business and I imagine he will be sorely missed when he goes to Uni shortly. The breakfast was substancial and very tasty and definitely set us up for the day. Some of the furniture is dated, however do not let this put you off, this really is a little gem in Torquay.

Reviewed by
M Hancock

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
J Johns

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
The man who greeted us was pleasant and helpful but after that we only ever saw him on one more occasion, the young man who served breakfast was excellent. Never saw the land lady? But most of the time we were out in the excellent weather we had that week.

Reviewed by
John Hickton

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next