No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ferndale Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
22 St Marychurch Road, , , Torquay, TQ1 3HY
Ferndale Lodge is a small, friendly, family-run, guest house. You can be assured of a warm welcome, personal service and value for money. We are committed to the highest standards of care and attention. We look on our guests as family and will make every effort to ensure you get the most out of your visit to Torquay. All our rooms are en-suite with free-view flat screen TV/DVD, hairdryer, kettle with tea/coffee, complimentary toiletries etc. Towels are provided. We also have free WIFI. We have a large private car park. There is also a covered area ideal for motorcycles and bicycles. We are centrally located, with the top of the town centre only 5 minutes walk away. We are 12 minutes walk to the harbour in one direction and between 12 and 20 minutes walk to various coastlines and beaches in other directions. We are in an ideal position from which to access all of Torquay's attractions: Model Village, Kents Cavern, Living Coasts, Torre Abbey and Cockington. Pets are welcome by prior arrangement but are not allowed in all rooms so please contact us in advance to discuss your requirements. For a special occasion book our room featuring a beautiful Italian four poster bed. Ground floor rooms are available. All rooms have colour flat-screen TV / DVD player, clock radio, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a personal safe. Our wonderful breakfast includes tea/coffee/orange juice, cereals, toast, fresh seasonal fruit, yoghurt, tinned fruit, and choice of cooked breakfast etc. We endeavour to use locally sourced, free range ingredients, wherever possible. We offer a free/courtesy transport to and from the local train and coach stations which are only minutes away (by prior arrangement).
Picture of Ferndale Lodge, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
We booked this B&B based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. Family run B&B and upon arrival John the owner couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful in his reviews of the area and suggestions of places to visit. Unfortunately, we were only staying for 3 nights, so were unable to do everything suggested! The room was a good size, the bed very comfortable and the room was clean. Joan, the owners mother in law was a real star and we enjoyed our little chats with her. We were served breakfast each morning by the owners son George and he was the real star of the show. I would be hard pushed to say that I have ever met a more charming and personable young man in a long time. He chats to you like you've known him for ever, nothing is too much trouble for him, a real asset to this business and I imagine he will be sorely missed when he goes to Uni shortly. The breakfast was substancial and very tasty and definitely set us up for the day. Some of the furniture is dated, however do not let this put you off, this really is a little gem in Torquay.

Reviewed by
M Hancock

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
J Johns

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
The man who greeted us was pleasant and helpful but after that we only ever saw him on one more occasion, the young man who served breakfast was excellent. Never saw the land lady? But most of the time we were out in the excellent weather we had that week.

Reviewed by
John Hickton

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ferndale lodge
Lovely,lovely place. Excellent room. Great breakfast.thank you

Reviewed by
Michael McDonald

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely book this accommodation again next time we visit, could'nt fault anything absolutely lovely.

Reviewed by
lorraine fowkes

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ferndale Lodge Great
Great location, great lodge, great room, great food and great hospitality. Very clean all round, bright fresh rooms. Will recommend to all who wish to stay at Torquay.

Reviewed by
A Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ferndale lodge review
A very pleasant family run hotel. Staff were friendly and made you feel very welcome on arrival. Staff always seemed to go the extra mile, offering advice, tips and pointers on where to go and what to see/do around the area. Room decor very tasteful and the overall experience was great.

Reviewed by
Katie T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
The accommodation was very well situated. The room was spotless. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent!

Reviewed by
T Toth

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our experience at Ferndale
I booked this accommodation through late rooms .com. It was a very easy process. I was very pleased to find that it it had a car park in fact it was one the reasons for choosing Ferndale Lodge. I was given instructions as to how to find Ferndale, but found them difficult to follow I would recommend issuing a map with road names and also placing a light on the place name and car park sign. We had in fact passed it several times without noticing! However once we were there everything was fine. Jon the proprietor was extremely helpful and welcoming. He gave us suggestions of where to eat in town and we certainly enjoyed our meal at the Hole in the Wall a very old pub near the harbour. The next day he recommended taking the Cliff Railway at Babbacombe since we wanted to go for a walk this fitted our plans exactly but we wouldnt have known the Cliff Railway as open since the leaflet said April to October only! Breakfast was absolutely delicious with a wide choice of things on offer. We liked the fact that it was a family run guest house and we enjoyed meeting Jon's mother in law. All in all a very good experience.

Reviewed by
A Chaplin

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great break away

Reviewed by
Nicola James

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next