Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff


Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5JS

Price From 156.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (127)

49% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Thomas S

  • November 2015

Would not recommend

Firstly the hotel clearly does not have enough parking, we could not get in to any of the hotel parking areas at all.

In the end we had to abandon our car on the road away from the hotel.

Our room was on the second floor, the decor was poor, tired and in need of a good freshen up. The room was cold with all the heating off, we had to call the maintenance man to resolve the issue, he could only get one of the radiators working. We had to contact reception again for a electric heater which did not show up. We later went to reception and we were assured the heater would be in our room by the time we returned from our evening meal. Once again we were let down and had no heater in the room. The shower was rubbish, I've had better showers with a water pistol. You could hear every footstep from the guests above us. The room was equipped with a worn out looking ironing board with no iron, brilliant. The spa was also a let down. On arrival we had to wait some time for a member of staff to arrive, she eventually came with not an apology in sight for the delay. The place was a mess, jacuzzi was not working, the sauna was not overly hot and the steam room was not really steamy.

On the plus side the hotel is close to town centre and the beaches.


  • October 2015

A pleasant stay.Lovely looking hotel near to town centre.Good facilities in room and leisure option

Lovely look on arrival in hotel entrance and friendly informative staff when questioned on particular information requested.Nice spacious roomfor a double with flat screen TV and all the necessary iron,board,fan etc.Only disappointing part was the bathroom needed some TLC and the plumbing needs attention as I believe it shares with the space with the next room as the pipes make funny noises when draining out the water.Not best in the early hours when you have to wash your hands.Overall though,quite pleasant.

  • R Hartwell

  • October 2015

Disappointing for a 5star

Customer service good but hotel needs a bit of painting in places.

Could improve on food. Very slow service from kitchen when ordering bar food at quiet time of day. Frozen scones in the middle which staff did rectify with more and extras. Following day very chewy sandwich and couldn't eat the Caesar salad as completely swimming in dressing. They did offer to do another but we didn't bother. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. Fruit salad tasteless out of a tin and mainly consisted of tinned orange segments. Tea very weak, mushrooms tasteless and watery and fatty bacon. We are not fussy eaters and do not normally complain but we weren't impressed when this hotel was advertised as a 4 star hotel.

  • Mandy G

  • July 2015

Close to beach, slightly dated bedroom.

Very modern looking from the front, I was somewhat surprised at the the corridors and interior of the bedrooms as they were very dated.

The bathroom however was modern and clean. Towels and bed linen were clean, and location of the hotel was good. A short walk to the beach and not too far to the town centre.

  • Julie t

  • July 2015

Nice pool and spa with pleasant seating area

Our bathroom could have done with a new bath and shower.

Lovely breakfast but the bar food was expensive.

  • H Pitt

  • July 2015

Dirty hotel, dirty room

Everything in the hotel was sticky and in need of a deep clean.

Didn't want to eat there because it was so filthy

  • Hazel S

  • June 2015

no charger for razor.

big gap in bathroom ceiling. sunday meal was slop for cost. breakfast average. tables sticky. stair rail yucky. pool ok. no mint with salad cream.

  • natalie hoskin

  • May 2015

anniversary break

Lush hotel, excellent customer service, beautiful room and generally an outstanding hotel however, the window in our room was broken making it beyond beyond freezing and had we have been staying another night we would have had to have swapped rooms also the downstairs pool, bubble pool etc were very disappointing, they had 2 of the 3 lights were out and the cleanliness was awful, also the 2 large pools had no working bubbles as suggested.

Making the spa area a Big disappointment to be honest.

  • J Pearce

  • April 2015

Short break near the sea.

The hotel itself is very smart with some luxurious features.

Ideal for couples wanting a zhort break near the sea. The room itself was to a good standard and breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only negative is that the lift was not working and no alternative was available for those needing access via a lift.

  • A Sanson

  • April 2015

Relaxing but a little shabby

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the service was really great by all members of staff.

Whilst the hotel was clean, it seemed quite shabby and a bit run down, especially in some of the common areas - hallways, staircases etc were in need of a good lick of paint and general spruce up. We only had breakfast at the hotel, which was ok but nothing special - would have been nice to have better quality yoghurts and coffee that was a bit stronger than water!