You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Connaught Hotel


West Hill Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5PH

Price From 99.62 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • jose claudio t

  • August 2016

BEST WESTERN Connaught Hotel

great attention

  • Samantha W

  • February 2016

The perfect break away!

Beautiful hotel and an excellent location - close to town and the seafront.

The hotel staff were very friendly and the Bluewater spa was delightful and never overcrowded. The steam room had a lovely eucalyptus smell which was very calming. The gym was a little basic but provided everything you would need. Breakfast was great - I particularly enjoyed the tropical fruit salad. The staff were friendly and attentive (regardless of our age - 22). Overall, a really pleasant stay and I would return.

  • Sue Bell

  • February 2016

Disappointing Breakfast

Checking in and out at reception was very good, rooms (1 single & 1 double) very nice and no complaints at all.

Swimming Pool lovely. Breakfast - very poor. We weren't able to be accommodated in Blake's for breakfast without a wait but a very charming man offered us a table in the Brasserie area which was no problem. He took our order for hot drinks and toast and we made our way to get cereals and juice. Having consumed that part of breakfast no hot drinks had arrived so after waiting a little while longer I went to enquire. Our order had been mislaid and had to be replaced so we headed off to the hot breakfast buffet. There were a couple of things missing altogether - sausages and fried eggs so we had to stand around a little while to wait. We didn't make a part order and then stand around, we waited until the items had been replenished before starting to order. Returning to our table, reaction to our breakfasts was a chorus of "My breakfast is cold!" and they were, all three plates. We asked the young lady at the buffet to microwave them (she did offer to serve us fresh plates but what would have been the point it was coming from the same servers). The plates were taken away and returned but I suspect they'd just been placed under or on top off a warmer and actually weren't so piping hot as we would have liked. Maybe just a one off but we were very disappointed none the less. It has to be said that we stayed in a very low priced B&B the night before and the breakfast we had there knocked the socks off what we had at the Connaught in every way except that your restaurant staff are extremely polite and obliging as were our hosts at the B&B also.

  • derek l

  • February 2016

short stay

The reception is great and helpful, the rooms are clean and well equipped, morning service is exceptional, both restaurants are amazing, it is central, it has a good gym a good cardio vascular suite, a good pool sauna and steam room, I love the place

  • Jerry L

  • November 2015

The good, the not so good and the inconsiderate

The good: This is a nicely presented and well located hotel in close proximity to the beach and the Bournemouth International Centre.

The staff were polite and helpful and very kindly agreed to a later checkout at no extra charge since there was no one scheduled to come into the room that day. The not so good: We paid extra for a (supposedly) better room but I couldn't tell what we were actually getting for the not inconsiderable increase in price. The hotel is rated 4 star (or rates itself at that level) and what we received was an average room for this star rating albeit with a smaller than average bathroom containing a shower but no bath. I queried whether we had been allocated the wrong room but was told that there was some variation among the (supposedly) better rooms. If you're tempted to upgrade, I strongly recommend you check what you're getting first otherwise you may find that you've wasted your money. The other problem that we encountered the following morning was that due to the incredibly small lift and the fact that there are only two upper floors most people take the stairs when on their way down. Unfortunately our room was close to the staircase and consequently about two thirds of the guests went past the door on their way to breakfast. Again, it's probably worth finding out which rooms are available before committing any money if you possibly can. The inconsiderate: The hotel has 2 car parks and has clearly done its' best to ensure that everyone can park on site. This is to be commended however it does mean that many of the spaces are very narrow. Sadly there appeared to be a good number of selfish people who had made no effort to get between the white lines preferring to park across them thereby reducing the number of available places to park. If you have a small car you'd be wise to take it.

  • L Johnson

  • July 2015

Exec suite review

Nice hotel, generally nice staff, comfortable room with balcony in a good location and good leisure facilities inc pool & gym.

Wasn't too pleased when I was told I could leave the car in the parking bay post check out only to get a phone call whilst wondering around the beach on our last day demanding we come back and move it. Very nice staff until the point of payment it felt like. Could be a one-off so won't allow sour final experience to taint the pleasant (if not a little pricey) stay for 2 nights.

  • sarah h

  • June 2015

BEST WESTERN Connaught Hotel

Professional, smart, clean great spa.

  • Peter Murphy

  • June 2015

Connaught Hotel Bournemouth

An enjoyable overnight stay here.

Any concerns were very minor and the staff were generally friendly and helpful (bar staff a bit difficult to find just before dinner when most needed). The location is close to ideal in a quiet road 200 metres or so from the cliff top. All in all, to be recommended.

  • Michelle V

  • May 2015

would definitely go back

We stayed here for the night and had a lovely stay.

The room was great and the breakfast was delicious. After breakfast we then went into the spa area which was very relaxing. I could have stayed there all day.

  • Christine Ensor

  • March 2015

Wonderfull Stay

We have just returned from a two night stay in this nice hotel with friendly and efficient staff, the food was excellent and the room very clean and nicely decorated will certainly book this hotel again