Gipsy Hill Hotel

3

Gipsy Hill Lane, Exeter, EX1 3RN

Price From 157.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (110)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Steve M

  • May 2015

Attacked by shower curtain and pole

I don't really want to criticise any business but its difficult to complement this hotel.

I stayed in room no. 23 to be honest I can only describe the smell has a 'creosote' smell, quite fusty and wasn't really nice. The hotel looked ok but I stayed in an annex. To top it off after pulling the shower curtain open the whole thing fell on me. The reason for me doing this review was the fact I wanted to see if the receptionist asked how my stay was but they didn't.

  • A Ray

  • April 2015

Clean rooms, friendly staff but dated decor in public areas

Whilst the bedrooms are clean and modern, the decor in the public areas is very dated and a little shabby looking.

Friendly and helpful staff. Accommodation okay for a 1 night stay whilst working away.

  • c wall

  • April 2015

Recommended

Lovely stay.

Friendly staff, clean room, pretty grounds, amazing food, great value.

  • Ron P

  • April 2015

Excellent accommodation, great food.

Our room was spacious, quiet, comfortable and well furnished.

Dinner in the restaurant was first class and friendly, efficient service from Thierry completed a most enjoyable experience.

  • Mark G

  • March 2015

Breakfast woes

I have stayed at this hotel and will no doubt do so again.

I have always found this a good hotel for my business trips to the area and in general the staff are always friendly and helpful. However, on my recent stay I found the breakfast experience to be really poor. The breakfast is a cross between table service and self service buffet and seems to vary by day. The first day I found the breakfast room with not a single clean table, no staff for several minutes and lengthy waits for coffee and juice refills on the buffet, not to mention very little hot food available and no sign of a chef with any interest. The second day there was a different member of staff who was friendly and showed me to a clean table quite quickly, however this time no jug of coffee was offered, instead a single cup was poured and no return to offer more coffee. Also, the toast had been pre-toasted and left to dry under the warming lamps making it very brittle and not particularly pleasant. Such contrasts but neither showing that they have a good understanding of what customers actually need in the morning, i.e. brisk, organised and friendly service.

  • Jenny K

  • March 2015

I needed to stay close to the hospital at short notice whilst a relative was extremely poorly.

The staff at Gipsy Hill Hotel were all very kind and supportive and made my stay as pleasant as possible in the circumstances. I hope to visit again for happier reasons.

  • Dennis Freeman-Wright

  • March 2015

Stop over

If I knew it as a Best Western I wouldn't have stayed there

  • Rachel L

  • March 2015

Home away from home

What a lovely break, the hotel is comfortable and welcoming and the staff are a cut above.

We were welcomed by Sue and she was absolutely lovely. We had a nice relaxing drink in-front of an open fire in the bar and relaxed in the peace and quiet. Our room was lovely, beautifully decorated with dark tasteful furniture, The food was good, we had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast was very good too. We would have loved to stay longer, looking forward to going back.

  • P Worsfold

  • March 2015

Excellent experiances

Booked for one night stayed two , every one very friendly and accommodating .

Rooms were clean and once heating turned on at radiators warm !.

  • Elaine Andrews

  • March 2015

Great hotel

We needed to go to Exeter to look at a house and wanted somewhere inexpensive to stay I found this hotel online and it looked cosy and it met my budget.we were warmly welcomed and our room was lovely everything we needed and I had the best sleep the bed was really comfortable and in the morning the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food excellent.

The only criticism I have was it seemed a bit tired and in certain areas needed updating. Would I recommend it to you and would I stay there again Yes in an instant.