You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel


Harnham Road, Salisbury, SP2 8JQ

Price From 129.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Stiles

  • August 2016

Short break in Salisbury

Friendly and helpful staff, very poor WiFi system, lovely location but food not up to four star standard.

What is a sandwich doing on the evening dinner menu. Food served on slate, why not use a plate. Room very good but no walk in shower.

  • Amanda G

  • July 2016


This hotel has all the ingredients of a fantastic break.

It is in a superb location for accessing the Cathedral and city centre yet is set in quiet and beautiful grounds going down to the river. However it just gets it wrong and is so disappointing. Some of the staff really knew the meaning of customer service and were welcoming and clearly hard working, some just hadn't a clue to the point they were rude. The hotel is tired, clearly in need of general maintenance. We had mould growing round our bathroom window frame, dust on the bath, carpets in the corridors were in need of a vacuum cleaner. The lovely view of the river from the dining room was spoilt by dirty windows. We had dinner in the hotel which was at best mediocre whereas the continental breakfast was very good. All the ingredients are there - it's just not done well and definitely not a four star experience.

  • Neale S

  • June 2016

Not too bad

This is a nice hotel in a lovely location and ours opened onto the garden alongside the river.

It's a two minute stroll from the cathedral. The only real let down was breakfast, which would have been fine if it was included in the price, which in itself was probably top end for this standard of hotel. Instead for an extra tenner each we got a muddled order that took an age because there were not enough staff for quite a lot of guests. Chaotic sums it up. Nice hotel though

  • sally stephenson

  • June 2016

Room with a view

Room 29.

A little dark but a beautiful view of the cathedral. 5 minutes walk into Salisbury makes this an ideal hotel for sightseeing and set on the river means the restaurant has lovely views.

  • Steve P

  • May 2016

gacy Rose and Crown Hotel

Good breakfast.

Riverside rooms have direct access to garden but need better soundproofing from rooms above.

  • Anne B

  • May 2016

Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel

An overnight stay in a good position for town and sightseeing.

We could walk, no need for the car once at the Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel.

  • Bernie Laffan

  • May 2016

Very Nice Surprise

Staff was excellent and helpful even with a wedding going at the time of our stay.

Food was very good. The view from our room overlooked the river with a sheep field and the cathedral spire in the background. It couldn't have been better. We were in room 25.

  • Lawrence Knox

  • May 2016

Good lodgings & great character

Hotel has lovely setting, easy walking to town centre and with lots of character.

Receptionists very friendly and helpful. Great choice of breakfast options. Good car parking.

  • myra grist

  • March 2016

Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel

Every thing was excellent.

  • G Boylan

  • February 2016

Lovely hotel shame about the service

Firstly, we were given the key to the room only to find it had not been cleaned from the previous occupants.

We we were offered a complimentary dink whilst we waited for it to be cleaned, however open returned to the supposedly cleaned room we found the door had been left propped open with a dirty towel whilst all our belongings were still in the room. Although the room had been cleaned the toilet was still dirty with splashes all over the seat and pan. Secondly, the following morning my husband tried to take a shower but there was no water, eventually the water did come back on but by this time it was too late as we had to go to breakfast. The restaurant was quite busy and we waited over 15 mins for our order for tea to be taken. The booking on stated very clearly Full Breakfast included so we assumed this would mean a cooked breakfast. When the waitress explained very apologetically that it was misleading but only included a cold buffet, we both felt this was not good enough. In fact the breakfast was poor consisting of only cereals, fruit, plain yoghurt, bread and hard boiled cold eggs which contained green yolks. My husband did order a full cooked breakfast which was lovely and cooked fresh and served hot but at £9.95 seemed excessive when we had already paid for breakfast. Lastly we order a morning newspaper which did not arrive, and when we mentioned this to the receptionist, she was very apologetic. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and could not apologise enough for the problems and the bedroom was lovely with views overlooking the river and Cathedral, unfortunately the service let it down, although I suspect this was due to staff shortages but is this really acceptable?