Reviews - Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel


Harnham Road, Salisbury, SP2 8JQ

Price From 206.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (64)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Roger B

  • October 2015

A pleasant stay with a beautiful view of the River Avon and the Cathedral!

We spent a wonderful two days in the historic Crown and Rose.

Salisbury is a fantastic town to visit. It you want peace and quiet with lots of beautiful architecture and bucolic scenery, then this is the place to go.

  • Laurence F

  • October 2015

Cardinal Suite

We were lucky to get the Cardinal Suite for our last minute booking.

The room was splendid: huge and comfortable bed, wonderful bathroom, etc.... But... the room is just above the kitchen and there was a fridge or a deep freezer which didn't stop vibrating and buzzing. I couldn't get asleep. A shame for such a beautiful and luxury accommodation...

  • Anthony P

  • August 2015

Continental breakfast limited choice

  • M Perry

  • August 2015

Stop over

My husband wanted to see Salisbury so we booked the hotel through late rooms.

Got a good rate and was very pleased with the accommodation and the setting from the dining room overlooking the river was lovely. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • S Rasmussen

  • August 2015

Old worldly

Very lovely and exceptionally helpful staff beautiful old world hotel ( 13th century ) spotlessly clean close to town centre beautiful location on the river Avon highly recommended.

  • G Williams

  • August 2015

Good sized room overlooking the garden, but every floorboard from the room above creaked when the occupants walked across the floor, despite being in the newest part of the hotel.

Even woke me up at night - must have forgotten to sound proof when building. Parts of the shower area could do with a steam clean to remove discoloured/brown stained grout. Otherwise a pleasant room. Dinner was very good and reasonably priced but the inclusive continental breakfast was very basic and £9.95 extra for a full English was expensive. Even hot porridge or cheese and ham was an extra £3.45. Pleasant staff on the whole except for one young waiter who refused to close the door from the restaurant to the patio, despite it being a cold and windy evening. He insisted on leaving it open for the (non existent) guests who were outside. Silly, he should have looked after the guests that were there!!

  • C Barnes

  • July 2015

Overpriced for the experience

This was a last minute booking, so I don't know what I was expecting really, but we paid way too much for what we got.

The 'luxury' room clearly hadn't been updated since the 1970s. Whilst the bed and bathroom were clean, there was a thick layer of dust on everything, in the bath, on the lamps and even on the coffee maker and the guestbook. The bathroom needed updating. There was a wedding on and the wedding party seemed to be having fun, but it meant that hotel guests were unable to use the patio areas that came with their rooms, nor go onto the lawn to enjoy the 'river and cathedral view' that had been paid for. Other guests were overheard to be rightly annoyed that they couldn't even order a drink until the wedding speeches were done - when asked when that might be, the not-helpful receptionist stated that she didn't have a clue. We were only given one bath towel between two. I had to contact reception twice to request a second one. The following morning I was asked whether I received the 'extra' towel we wanted. I got the second towel that should have come with the room, yes. Due to the restaurant being closed we quite happily went elsewhere for dinner. When we arrived back, there was no room in the car park, so we parked out of the way, in front of reception. My partner informed reception of this fact, then was grilled as to why he hadn't parked in the car park (as he had already said, due to the car park being full of wedding guests, which we obviously didn't mind). We were asked whether we parked in a parking space. Again, no for the above reason. The following morning we were asked whether we had moved the car later on. Since the wedding went on past midnight and we were asleep, we said no and received raised eyebrows. We decided to ask for room service breakfast . It was ok - cold toast, gritty coffee, stale pastries. Thankfully we got some milk (none was provided on the 'tea and coffee tray' - which had four, open teabag sachets on and a kettle full of stale water. Obviously we didn't use that tray!) but they forgot to provide butter, so we had to ask for that too. It's a shame, it could have been so much better but there is so little attention to detail here that I just left with a bad taste in my mouth.

  • A Jackson

  • July 2015

A comfortable stay

Knowledgeable receptionist, room 11 on ground floor was clean, a good size, bathroom was great, view of the car park.

Beer garden was glorious with view of the river, beautiful scenery. Food was lovely & the staff were exceptional. Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay..

  • John Newcombe

  • June 2015

Legacy Rose and Crown Hotel

Access to the city is excellent and very close to main roads to all surrounding areas.

Beautiful views of the cathedral from the gardens running down to the River Avon. Sara is a gem!

  • Alyson B

  • June 2015

Lovely location

This is a lovely place right by the river Avon, drinks are a little on the pricey side, and for the price of the room, you would expect the cooked breakfast to be included in the price, it was still nice though.

Staff are very friendly.