Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
90% would recommend it to a friend
we choose this hotel for its close proximity to The River cottage where we attending an event.
A charming, welcoming atmosphere as we walked through the door. our room was very well appointed, large, roomy bathroom and the most fantastic views from the bedroom window. The cooked breakfast was fabulous - better than the 5 star hotel that we recently stayed at in Loch Lomond, Scotland. would definitely recommend to friends and family and will look forward to staying there again in the future.
Very pleasant surprise
Hadn't heard of this hotel before and previous locations in the area were fully booked.
Very pleasant surprise as the hotel was clean, welcoming staff and our bedroom in the main house was excellent. Quiet since off the main road but only a couple of miles away so easy to get around. Quality of restaurant food for breakfast and dinner was very good.
We were absolutely delighted with the hotel that was very comfortable and clean with a lovely view.
The staff were very polite, pleasant and helpfull. The service and food were excellent. We will be making a return visit
Wished we had stay a little longer
All Round Excellent
What a gem.
This hotel is lovely and they have gone out of their way to try and think of everything you may need during your stay. The food was lovely, a simple menu which I loved but cooked to perfection and served piping hot. Would highly recommend and will certainly return.
Would have liked our towels changed during our stay.
Felt the drink prices were too expensive. Otherwise staff very friendly and facilities fine.
Response from hotel
We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback about your stay. I apologise if your towels were not changed during your 3 night stay. We do have environmental notices in the bathrooms asking guests to leave their towels in the bath/shower if they would like them changed, otherwise housekeeping will place them on the heated towel rails to dry. Having checked your room I can see the notice had fallen off the wall behind the towel rail which is why you would not have been aware to leave the towels in the bath. A new sign has been displayed in the bathroom to avoid this happening again.
Lovely venue for our anniversary break.
Quite location off the beaten track.
Lovely gardens with views of surrounding countryside to match. Meal in Brazzerie was excellent in quality, quantity and service. Will stay again!
Lovely hotel in a nice setting.....but
Let down by the small but significant points for a hotel that charged £125.00 per night.
1. No draught beer is kept at the establishment - only bottled beer. And even the bottled beer was warm. 2. The barman doubles up as the waiter in the restaurant - so if he is busy serving diners, you have to wait until he is free to serve at the bar. 3. Very poor offering for Breakfast. Everything pre-cooked and serve yourself. Poor quality bacon and sausage and no choice of how you want your eggs (come scrambled only). 4. En-suite bathroom - fully fitted carpet?. Extremely unhygienic. 5. No mobile signal at the hotel - beware using bedroom phone. I used it for 11 seconds only to find out an answer machine kicked in. Did not leave any msg and was charged £0.72p for my trouble.
Response from hotel
We keep a good range of “local” bottled beer, ales and cider as we are very keen to support local businesses and these are very popular with our guests. All of the bottles are chilled in a fridge at the optimum temperature for drinking so we cannot understand how the beer could have been warm, although the weather was particular warm at this time so it may have warmed up quickly once served. We staff the restaurant in line with the number of guests dining and as we had only 5 guests for dinner, we only required our
Restaurant Manager at that time of the evening to take the orders and serve in the bar. We have a bell in a prominent position on the bar which the guests enjoy using if the barman has stepped away to serve other guests. As well as the choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and juices, at busy times we offer a cooked buffet breakfast rather than ordering from the menu. This includes locally produced award winning Old English Pork Sausages and Dry Cured Smoked Back Bacon as well as local & free range eggs supplied by
Silverthorne Farm and as per the notice by the buffet you can ask the waiting staff for your eggs to be cooked to your liking. We receive very positive feedback from our guests about our breakfast so we are sorry to hear you felt it was a poor offering. We have started replacing the carpet in the bathrooms with lino or tiles as we appreciate it is a little dated to have carpeted bathrooms. The signal from mobile phone providers is unfortunately outside of our control. If a call is connected regardless of whether this is answered by a person or a machine there is a cost involved in making this call and our charges are clearly displayed in the bedroom
folder. I am sorry you had some concerns about your stay and we are disappointed they were not raised at the time so we had the opportunity to rectify them.
A hidden gem. Will return.
Professional service. Excellent food.