No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Preston kingsteignton, Newton Abbot, TQ12 3PP
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel is a delightful blend of Tudor and contemporary architecture, from our beautiful 15th Century thatched farmhouse, to our
contemporary En-suite Barn Conversion Rooms and apartments providing character and comfort. Our location is peaceful yet offers excellent access
to Exeter, Plymouth, Newton Abbot, Dartmoor and Torbay, which makes us popular with corporate travellers and holidaymakers alike.

We have a unique “character” restaurant where our talented chefs serve the best produce Devon can muster.* Please note the Restaurant is closed on
Sunday evenings.* Our Full Devon Breakfast using free range eggs from our own Hens is a great way to start the day.

At Sampsons we offer first class service but with a warmth that you will not forget.
Picture of Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome, very well looked after.

Reviewed by
jamie macneil

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sampson Farm Hotel
If its customer service you are looking for you will not be disappointed with your stay at Sampson Farm. Quirky, interesting experience and a pleasant surprise. Check out the rare breed chickens! Never realised there were so many different breeds. Food and wine excellent. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Reviewed by
Jay Dorling

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Olde world buildings and charm with a modern touch.
If you seek a restful and peaceful break with comfortable rooms and excellent food then Sampsons Farm should be high on your list. Conveniently placed close to Newton Abbot and the A38 all the delights of South Devon are easily reachable. Lovely walks and views in the immediate vicinity. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and welcoming staff and the free ranging geese, chickens and goats simply add to the wonderful atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Eddy Hampson

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing stay
We had a great time, the accommodation was amazing, perfect location, all the staff were very kind and very friendly and the food was lovely.

Reviewed by
Rickey Gregory

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous place, very friendly staff who looked after me as I was on my own. Excellent food and nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful setting but easy to find.

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Friendly staff, quality food. Breakfast was a good buffet selection of cold food with hot food to order. Evening meal up to £24.95 for three courses. Our room was small but adequate, clean, with interesting views of chickens and goats with Dartmoor in the distance. Rural so look out for the stars after dark. Riverside walks right outside.

Reviewed by
M Bailey

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Makes a change!
Lovely farm with great views over countryside, plenty of lovely walks. Staff all very friendly. A great place to visit for peace and quiet - apart from the hens that wake you up every morning!!

Reviewed by
Demi Constant

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
What a beautiful place. So peaceful an relaxing. My only complaint is that we weren't staying longer. But we will next time.

Reviewed by
Andrew Stirrat

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stopover in Devon
We booked Sampsons for 1 night only to break our long journey to Cornwall but were very impressed with the standard of our room and the service we received. The room was in a barn conversion attached to the main house and was spacious and nicely decorated. We even had our only little balcony on which we could relax and watch the family goats and chickens. The breakfast was excellent and had we known what standard to expect we would definitely have booked dinner the previous evening. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Lesley P

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning barn hotel
What a beautiful place to stay. The breakfast was surreal the eggs picked fresh from the chicken pen as I ordered my breakfast. Rooms are simple yet so relaxing. Based in the farmyard the sounds of the chickens and billy goats was a nice change from the usual sounds of car engines.
Gorgeous locations superb staff. Look forward to returning here next time.

Reviewed by
Simon Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next