No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Collingdale

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe, EX34 9NU
The Collingdale Guest House is an award winning four star Ilfracombe Bed and Breakfast, offering affordable, quality accommodation which is perfect for your Devon holiday.

On an elevated position with stunning views of the beautiful historic harbour and just a few minutes walk to an excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafés and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance.

All bedrooms are furnished to a high specification throughout with many thoughtful little extras. There is a cosy licensed bar and an elegant dining room serving your freshly prepared award-winning breakfast, using local Devon produce and locally caught smoked haddock and kippers and you can be assured of an excellent start to your day. Relax on the sun terrace over-looking the harbour where you can enjoy your morning coffee or an aperitif in the evening.
Picture of The Collingdale, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful hotel and a warm welcome
We enjoyed a perfect one night stay at this lovely hotel in Ilfracombe situated just above the harbour. We were fortunate enough to be in a well appointed room with a seaview and balcony. The room was full of character, beautifully decorated and furnished and very clean. Sharon and Daryll were extremely welcoming and made us feel at home even on arrival in our muddy walking boots! Breakfast (smoked haddock with poached egg and an English veggie breakfast) was mouth wateringly good. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
J Dixon

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
Thank you very much for a delightful stay, great access to central Ilfracombe, clean, tidy friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
C Nicholls

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great guest house
We stayed at the callingdale for 1 night and everything about it was just perfect. Easy to find, spotlessly clean from top to bottom, lovely bed and linen plenty of facilities and after a great comfy nights sleep a wonderful breakfast. The owners were very welcoming and took an interest in our visit and were ready to offer any advice required. Would love to stay there again and cannot recommend it more highly.

Reviewed by
Janet Hannaford

From St columb, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding Value for Money
Our stay at the Collingdale was perfect. The proprietors did everything they could to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Our room was small but compact, with a massive comfy bed, which is the most important thing.We would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended plus our room had a view of Verity.

Reviewed by
Clive M

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
A really friendly, comfortable and clean guest house and the breakfast was amazing. The location was perfect, with lovely views of the sea and surrounding country and it was just a short walk to the harbour and town where we dined in some lovely restaurants. We would highly recommend this guest house and we will definitely stay there again when we return to Ilfracombe, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Reviewed by
W REECE

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one of the best
on arrival sharon very helpful and friendly, room very clean and tidy, breakfast was very good local produce, smoked haddock highly recommended for breakfast, have already booked our return for next year.

Reviewed by
paul s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family room - 2 kids aged 11 and 8.
A lovely location, handy for evening walks into illfracombe, Sharron was extremely welcoming and we thoroughy enjoyed our stay. Excellent vlaue for money and a lovely breakfast. (p.s parking was never an issue for us)

Reviewed by
M Tuttle

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we found the hotel spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were exellent. the hotel owners were very freindly and gave us lots of information on where to go and how to get there.

Reviewed by
m hewitt

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine Victorian Hotel

Reviewed by
Chris N

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend
An oasis in a row of terraced 4 storey buildings, some of which are a bit neglected. Friendly welcome by owners, attentive at all times. Breakfasts very good. 3 out of 4 days managed to park in the road outside, had to park overnight in the nearby Car park for the last night. Not really a problem. We were on the top floor, good view from up there, but loads of stairs, so not suitable for the infirm or unfit - try the floors below. We would recommend the Collingdale, and will go back if we return to the area.

Reviewed by
John Irvine

From Coventry, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next