No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Rita Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
76-78 Alma Road Pennycomequick, Plymouth, PL3 4HD
Inexpensive, clean accommodation in a family run, family friendly hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the City Centre and shopping precinct (including the new shopping mall), the university and the train
station. Easy walking distance to the Barbican and seafront. Closest hotel to HMS Drake, convenient for HMS Raleigh. Closest hotel to Home Park Stadium
Closest hotel to the site of the new Life Centre.
Twin, triple and four person en suite rooms available, good rates for CONTRACTORS, early breakfast. A convenient departure point for Brittany Ferries. Single occupancy rates for our double rooms.

Picture of St  Rita  Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice for a short stay
Stayed between Monday - Wednesday, was a nice hotel as a stop off point. Facilities in the room weren't great (lights not working, bed a bit tatty). Was informed that I may have to change rooms too which wasn't ideal but luckily I didn't have to. Staff were accommodating & the room was a decent size. For a cheap stay, this is ideal.

Reviewed by
A Sutton

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as thought it would be after reading reviews
I was nicely surpised of this accommodation big room and airly. Matresses are little hard and bumpy but happy with price. Location was good.

Reviewed by
paul a

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but Awful
The room was stated as a 3* double on suite, although the bathroom was clean it was basic and small with no toothbrush tumblers or soap etc, the room however was more of a box room which had overloaded adapter plugs (fire hazard), cobwebs all over the ceiling, coffee splatter marks all over 1 of the walls, mattress was ripped down the side (springs visable) and unironed marked bed linen (the room was just not cleaned at all before our arrival), we were very disappointed and would not recommend or stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
M S H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
The hotel was lovely, on arrival we were greeted by a young man who was very polite and showed us to our room. However it had now been cleaned after the previous guests so we had to wait. Apart from this my stay was excellent and I feel that the quality of accommodation matches the price that I paid for the room.
I would without a doubt stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Nesbitt

From Northern Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Caroline's and Rhys' stay, overnight 21st - 22nd June 2014
The proprietor does a very good job of running this hotel single-handed, and even went out to get bacon for my partner's breakfast, and was also at pains to ensure that my breakfast had been adequate. Rooms and beds very comfortable, and the other guests (or at least those we met!) were an interesting and varied bunch. Well done!

Reviewed by
C Holmes

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and tidy room, albeit it a little outdated. No digital Tv, for example. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful once I was able to get hold of them in the morning.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel owners
My plans changed at the last minute and was unable to stay at the hotel, phoned the hotel to tell them ans they phoned me back to say they would not charge me for the second room booked and the two cooked breakfasts ordered, first class hoteliers, will deffinately stay there when I next stay in Plymouth, can't thank them enough.
Regards Sean Hart

Reviewed by
sean hart

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel

Reviewed by
andis l

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

st Rita hotel
Continental breakfast was just cereal - v disappointing.
bathroom light and side lights didn't work.
tv didn't work - was it still on analogue?
wasn't asked what time breakfast was needed and we had to be at the Uni for 8.30. Hard to get service
other guests had the same problem
a stag party group woke us as they arrived back to the hotel at 4.15 am

Reviewed by
L GETHINS

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

How can this be classed as a hotel?
On arrival through the back entrance, it was not very welcoming. The guy at the reception if you can call it that was very pleasant and showed us to our room. It was basic to say the least but as we were running late we dumped our luggage and headed out for the evening. On our return with time to look around the room the first thing we noticed was the large damp patches in the bathroom. Then we spotted the adapter plug with all the cables hanging out, then the cobwebs, and the foam strip on the beam to stop us hitting our head. The final straw was when we checked the bed and found that the mattress was ripped apart all down one side. I went to reception and complained and said it must of happened the previous night. What? Did no one noticed when they changed the sheets, or were the sheets not changed at all? Reluctantly as it was so late his offer of another room was acceptable at that point, but I told him I would want a refund for my breakfast as we would not be eating here. He said he couldn't do that as the owner was not here. Anyway the 2nd room was just as bad as the first. Both roller blinds were black with mould, the remote tv control only had one battery and to plug the kettle in you had to remove the tv plug from behind a wardrobe. The carpets were stained and there was cracks in the ceiling and walls. We decided to just grab a couple of hours sleep,,in between the noisy other guests, lying on top of the bed and still fully clothed, and left at 5am in the morning, totally disgusted at the state of this place. This totally spoiled the evening and our plans for the following day.

Reviewed by
Charlotte McConnell

From Beauly, Scotland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next