No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Rita Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
76-78 Alma Road Pennycomequick, Plymouth, PL3 4HD
Inexpensive, clean accommodation in a family run, family friendly hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the City Centre and shopping precinct (including the new shopping mall), the university and the train
station. Easy walking distance to the Barbican and seafront. Closest hotel to HMS Drake, convenient for HMS Raleigh. Closest hotel to Home Park Stadium
Closest hotel to the site of the new Life Centre.
Twin, triple and four person en suite rooms available, good rates for CONTRACTORS, early breakfast. A convenient departure point for Brittany Ferries. Single occupancy rates for our double rooms.

Picture of St  Rita  Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good for price of Money
The room was at top building if my wife disabled wife had come would not have made it to the room. Bed did not have a sheet on the bottom on mattress cover. There cobwebs in room, was not any thing about there being breakfast available. In bathroom side kept falling off bath. I think that for the quality of room and price just two night was far too expensive

Reviewed by
r morris

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sorry Did not feel comfortable atall
I would not recommend this hotel I am sorry it was not clean, even the sheets had stains on and my son was very uncomfortable. Beds would where like planks and there was rotten floor boards where the carpet was coming up. There was damp in the bathroom. I have stayed in travel lodges for about £20 a night and they where fine I paid £45 for this experience. My son taped it on his phone to show my husband as we couldn't believe the state of the room.

Reviewed by
M Symonds

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Stay Again
Friendly atmosphere. Lovely staff. Huge comfy room

Reviewed by
Helen S

From St. Mary's, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good cheap hotel let down by poor wifi and breakfast. Found only ceareals. No drinks/toast available. Not really a continental breakfast

Reviewed by
richard a

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel or student accommodation ?
Arrived in our room to find what appeared to be like a lounge (including slate fireplace with copper hood) with a bed in it and pop socks drying on the radiator. Bathroom was large and clean. After a night out we went to bed around 1:15 a.m. only to be woken at around 3:30 a.m. to the sound of loud talking, laughing and banging from a group of people returning from their night out, this continued until around 5:30 a.m., so thank goodness we were only there for one night. It did appear that the rooms were a mix of hotel rooms and student lettings, so not a good experience at all.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay.
Arrived Friday, staff were pleasant, ensured space was made for our car to be safely parked. Check in didnt take to long. The room was ground floor at the rear. Spacious with ensuite. There were clothes and other items in the drawers. The room smelt musty but generally clean. The toilet was like using one in a little old ladies house, with paper stuffed in holes in door to stop peepers. We were given two wifi codes but no connection was established. The towels were of average condition. We didnt eat breakfast as value our lie ins. The noise from other customers was quite loud and on occassion the hotel seemed like a hostel. Probably wont be goin back, would rather spend a few more pound on alternative accommodation. We had read previous reviews but gave it a chance.

Reviewed by
tim w

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Good Room with nice view but service at breakfast a bit lacking.

Reviewed by
Roy F

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice for a short stay
Stayed between Monday - Wednesday, was a nice hotel as a stop off point. Facilities in the room weren't great (lights not working, bed a bit tatty). Was informed that I may have to change rooms too which wasn't ideal but luckily I didn't have to. Staff were accommodating & the room was a decent size. For a cheap stay, this is ideal.

Reviewed by
A Sutton

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as thought it would be after reading reviews
I was nicely surpised of this accommodation big room and airly. Matresses are little hard and bumpy but happy with price. Location was good.

Reviewed by
paul a

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but Awful
The room was stated as a 3* double on suite, although the bathroom was clean it was basic and small with no toothbrush tumblers or soap etc, the room however was more of a box room which had overloaded adapter plugs (fire hazard), cobwebs all over the ceiling, coffee splatter marks all over 1 of the walls, mattress was ripped down the side (springs visable) and unironed marked bed linen (the room was just not cleaned at all before our arrival), we were very disappointed and would not recommend or stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
M S H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next