Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Webbington Hotel and Spa


Loxton, Axbridge, BS26 2HU

Price From 170.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (154)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Jenkins

  • October 2015

Free swimming

We like staying at the Webbington when the price is slightly cheaper than normal.

The perks of being to swim for free in its lovely little swimming pool is great.

  • Paula Quinby

  • September 2015


Room dirty.

Food not good for price. General state of repair was poor too, eg carpet in reception was rippled and held with masking tape. The staff were lovely but there was no help or instruction on arrival. Being shown to the room and given a guide of facilities would of been much better.

  • K Rogers

  • September 2015


Wasn't a great start as we were given a room that had not yet been cleaned, but the lady on the reception was very apologetic and quickly gave us another one.

The room was spotless and lovely.

  • G Thomas

  • August 2015


when booking it might be helpful to ask the age of the client booking as I was not impressed to be placed two floors up with no lift and having to navigate 32 steps.

I realise disabled will say they are disabled but people of 55 plus may well look elsewhere next time i know I will after my experience the only saving grace was the excellent staff at the hotel

  • Jasvir B

  • August 2015

Beautiful place

Amazing location with stunning scenery.

Room bit small but clean and comfortable. Good swimming pool but no Jacuzzi.

  • Paul G

  • July 2015

Only fault

The only fault was no hot water on the second day.

  • J Clarke

  • July 2015

The staff were really rude and barely spoke English.

We weren't warned of the two weddings that had music playing loudly until 12pm. Also we were woken up by loud noises right outside our window at 00:30 because metal rollers were being dragged along the cobbles.

The signs in the hotel weren't clear. The spa isn't a spa, it's a pool and a sauna plus a gym. The changing rooms had no stalls to get changed in so you had to change in front of strangers. I wouldn't go there again

  • stephen b

  • July 2015

Should be more Worst Western instead of Best Western

On arriving to the picturesque setting of this hotel, our first thoughts were good.

However, that soon changed. Whilst waiting for the receptionist, the guests before us were checked in, but when they asked if there was a lift, the receptionist gave them such a look that it would turn milk sour!. The customer advised that she had called the day before to make sure that they had a disabled room because her dad was elderly and although the receptionist did this, she was not happy about it.

When it became our turn to be checked in (with a different receptionist), there did not seem to be any welcome or warmth. She asked if we wanted to add extras to our bill, which at the time was very odd as I thought, why would I want to add extras. However, we found out later on that she meant we could have a card which allowed us to put a meal or drinks to our room!. I found this out by listening to one of the other guests who had tried to put a round of drinks to their room but was told that they couldn't as they did not have a card.

When we entered the room, our initial thought was, that it was cosy and although not that spacious, we did book it through Late Rooms so it was never going to be their best room, However, the view was a bank of weeds (which you could have touched when you opened the window). the vent from the kitchen also ran under the window, and although it was really sunny outside, we had to have the light on because it was dark inside.

After using the leisure facilities (which was good), we got back and decided to have a shower, as my partner went in first, I put on the TV to find out that there was no signal, I tried all the channels but had no Joy. As my partner came out of the shower, she mentioned how dirty it was and then pointed out the dirt and grime on the widows (inside and out) the shower screen, the shower head, the toiletries etc. I then went and had a shower and the shower head was not even fitted properly and I ended up having to tighten it myself.

After having the shower, we decided to go and get something to eat on the 'terrace' bar, there was a wedding going on at the time, and all the tables were either used or dirty, there was a big queue at the bar (this is where I found out about the card) so we decided to go elsewhere for food. When we got back from our meal, I went to reception and asked if there was a problem with the freeview...The receptionist looked at me blankly and said "we do not have freeview in our rooms" to which I had to reply saying that it is in the guest handbook that they do and ours was not working. She then said that I should press a button on the TV remote and it will work (she obviously thinks that I am 8 and not 38!!). When we got back to the room, I decided to check the TV again, and with no signal I looked behind the TV to find that the Ariel had been knocked loose.

The next day we went to the reception to check out and there was another very unhappy customer speaking to the manager, who to be honest, looked like he really didn't care.

The receptionist that checked us out, never asked if we enjoyed our stay, never said have a safe journey home or anything else that would make me think, well maybe they were just having a busy night with the wedding. Instead she just told me the amount to pay, said thank you for the payment and then bye. I see this hotel every time I head to Bristol, and I have been wanting to stay there for a long long time, however, that is now a dream ruined.

  • vicky c

  • July 2015

A very pleasant stay.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast very good value for money. Rooms clean beds comfey. Swimming pool nice steam and sauna good. Would stay again.

  • Raymond Moe

  • July 2015

Excellent hotel and service