No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Western House Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
2 craigie road , Ayr, KA8 0HA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

*Free Parking & Free WiFi*

The Western House Hotel not only occupies a unique position as a stylish high quality Visit Scotland four Gold Star hotel, but it also has a very special location adjacent to Scotland's premier horse racing venue - Ayr Racecourse.

Located in the town of Ayr and close to Prestwick Airport the hotel is convenient, while still allowing guests to escape for a tranquil stay in elegant surroundings.

The Jockey Club Lounge offers a varied range of lunch and supper menus, and the accompanying restaurant caters for 30 guests, with award winning Scottish cuisine. The Hotel also features complimentary parking for guests.

All children under the age of 12 years stay on a complimentary room only basis, when sharing with 2 adults. All children 12 years and over will be charged full adult price. Cots are available free of charge.

Some recent accolades the hotel has achieved;

"Scottish Hotel Wedding Team of the Year"

"Scottish Reception Excellence Team Gold Medal 2012"

"Senior Wedding Planner Fellowship 2012"

"Scottish General Manager Gold Medal 2012"

"Scottish Rising Star Gold Medal 2012"

"Scottish Rising Star Future Hotel Manager 2012"

Picture of Western House Hotel, Ayr at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Western House Hotel - luxury and quality
Our stay was an overnight stay for my daughters birthday. The hotel was stunning. The atmosphere was wonderful and the decor was luxurious and welcoming. All staff were courteous and friendly and willing to assist. There was no aspect of our visit that I found any issue with. The facilities were excellent and the quality of the room and food offered excellent value for money. We used room service and the food was also beautifully presented. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and i won't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
P Campbell

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant stay value for money
We just stayed here for one night it was the autumn DBB offer would highly recommend as there was no supplements could have anything on menu, room was very clean and bed was comfy, will be back.

Reviewed by
C Agnew

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel - great staff !
This is a wee gem of a hotel. Big comfortable rooms. Great staff and great food. We'll definitely be back !

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having booked a 2 night relaxing break in Western House Hotel in one of the Courtyard rooms we were delighted to be told when we arrived that we had been given an upgrade to an Executive room in the main hotel. Our room was luxurious and had everything one would need in it. The staff were all very friendly and attentive and could not do enough to help. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the choice of menu was excellent. The gardens around the hotel are kept beautiful and there is a large car park. The hotel sits on the edge of Ayr Racecourse which would make it an ideal choice if attending the races. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing few days away and hope to return sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
M Anderson

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent hotel
First class attention to detail, very helpful staff

Reviewed by
michael c

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay !
We stayed in the courtyard rooms which we found lovely they had everything we needed for our 2 night stay. I would definitely go back and would recommend the hotel to anyone. The food was lovely not too expensive and good sized portions.

Reviewed by
N Millar

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good but could be better
3 big bags of dirty laundry had to be asked to be removed at 9pm at night

Reviewed by
SUSAN M

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing
Very good and relaxing hotel with excellent food and very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
James Kilday

From Auchinleck, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed every minute of our stay, only regret we didn't stay long enough. w e r

Reviewed by
anthony h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the hotel
A great experience, couldn't fault it. The room and the food were brilliant.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next