No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandbanks Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
15 Banks Road , Sandbanks , Poole, BH13 7PS
The Sandbanks is the perfect choice, whether you simply want a relaxing break, need to entertain a family, want a quiet business meeting or plan a full-on activity holiday.
For families, the major attraction is perhaps the sandy beach with its Blue Flag for cleanliness, with RNLI lifeguards on duty in the summer season. There’s also the 10m heated indoor swimming pool and the organised entertainment programme that helps to keep children occupied (and gives the adults time to enjoy themselves too).
If rest and relaxation is your aim, you may be happy just sitting and wandering along t he beach.
For Watersports, our Watersports Academy is on the doorstep. Here you may take courses or just hire the equipment you need. You can choose from a wide range of activities, including windsurfing, kite surfing, wakeboarding, power boating, dinghy sailing, diving, kayaking and bike riding (and we have tow-alongs, trailers and mini-bikes for children). If you wish to venture further afield, you can also charter our 44’ sailing catamaran, or one of our ribs.
For a memorable event, or celebration, the combination of perfect location, excellent service and outstanding value is hard to beat.
Picture of Sandbanks Hotel, Poole at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decor
Initial impression of hotel in reception and restaurant was good, however more effort with the rooms is required to bring them to the same standard as the downstairs area.

Reviewed by
M Miller

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff and good value
Bit old fashion but excellent staff, good location and very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Hugh Allan

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sandbanks Hotel, not to be confused with opulence of Sandbanks itself
Located on the beautiful Sandbanks Beach, this expensive hotel has a 4* rating and commensurate price, but it does not offer the quality one expects from a top establishment. The bland corridors, complete with stained carpets, lead through a labyrinth of doors and require accessing a function room that according to the sign is constantly in use; guests are directed on a detour to reach reception and the other facilities. The standard family room, whilst large did not have air conditioning and was too hot in the evening/night even though it was late September, what must it be like in the height of summer. The decor in the room was tired, as it is throughout the hotel, the chairs in the breakfast room/ restaurant are worn and urgently need updating. The only saving grace was the small swimming pool which was warm and ideal for my daughter, the life guard was a pleasant, helpful chap too. All in all the hotel was a real disappointment, failing short of my expectations in many areas and it is in need of a significant update before I would consider returning.

Reviewed by
Ian R

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just one night
I was pleased to find my single room included a balcony overlooking the beach! This hotel is just perfectly positioned for walks on the beach or the promenade, to enjoy the sunset and sunrise. A relaxing break in a long journey for me. Breakfast was Ok, but a tad disappointing as the variety of continental style pastries was limited and the fruit selection likewise. But this is carping, it is a very special location and a pleasant hotel.

Reviewed by
Noreen Brosnan

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location
The hotel location is fantastic, with an outside bar overlooking a lovely sandy beach the children can play while you enjoy a drink. The family room was a good size with separate bedroom for children. The hotel could benefit from a facelift as the rooms are a bit tired, but for somewhere with access to a family friendly beach you can't go wrong.

Reviewed by
J Quartermaine

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was very good

Reviewed by
K Mist

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two day stay in june 2014
Excellent stay with single room overlooking the beach. Modern room and a self service full english breakfast.

Reviewed by
S PASS

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant staff and owners
Great stay staff carnt do enough for you! Yes it's under refurbishment but patents is a vertue and this place is going to be amazing !!!

Reviewed by
J Keys

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food in restaurant was lovely however the bar food was undercooked £10 burger raw!!!

Reviewed by
a lant

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mr sawrey and I both injoyed are stay we both had nice rooms

Reviewed by
Margaret Wincote

From Nuneaton, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next