No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Long Range

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5 Vales Road, , , Budleigh Salterton, EX9 6HS
A warm welcome to The Long Range Hotel, highly commended for providing high quality guest accommodation in Budleigh Salterton, Devon. Just a gentle five minute walk from the Jurassic Coast, sea and the picturesque Otter Valley and a ten minute walk from the high street.

The delightful and spacious gardens have received three awards in the Budleigh in Bloom competition so what better way to start your day than a delicious breakfast taken on the patio overlooking the tranquil gardens. To excite your taste buds quality local produce is used to ensure the very best of flavours.

For your further overall comfort the bedrooms and en suite bathrooms have been refurbished and upgraded to a high quality luxury standard.

Our aim is to ensure that you have a relaxing and memorable stay and whether you just wish to take it easy and enjoy the magnificent views and unspoilt countryside or enjoy the numerous local activities and musical festivals we are here to help.

Guests can enjoy the cosy sitting room (with daily and local newspapers, and plush sofas or walk through the French doors into the spacious, bright and comfortable conservatory where you can enjoy a drink from the well stocked bar with its interesting selection of
wines and beer. Even on a grey day, have your spirits will be lifted.

Budleigh Salterton is an exclusive residential coastal town situated on the East Devon " Jurassic Coast" World Heritage Site. The Long Range is the ideal location to enjoy a relaxing break or to use as a base to explore the delights of Devon and the Southwest. With its characteristic cobbled beach and colourful beach huts Budleigh Salterton successfully combines an aura of “days gone by” with the 21st century.
Picture of The Long Range, Budleigh Salterton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb very friendly,would definitely recommend .

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming!
Lovely hotel. Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Our room overlooked the garden with views of the sea. The room, bedding and bathroom were 'spotless'. Good off road parking.
Slight complication with an 'over booking' which Brian tried extremely hard to sort out - however this did mean that we only stayed one night instead of two.

Reviewed by
Janice S

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service at a lovely little hotel
The hotel is situated in a quiet residential road about half a mile out of town. The walk into town is very pleasant and the hotel makes a good base for exploring the area, either by car or on foot. Our room was large, well-equipped, clean and had a great view - all you could ask for really.
The best feature was the service offered by Brian and his team. We arrived just after 10am after driving down from Surrey early to beat the traffic. We only wanted to check it was OK to park the car and wander off into town for a coffee but Brian brought us drinks and had his girls prepare our room in double-quick time. We've stayed at places where you wonder why the owners bothered to go into the hospitality industry with their attitudes but this was the complete opposite.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing retreat
Enjoyed a lovely stay here for 2 nights. Really relaxing and really nice place. Lovely food and nothing too much trouble would recommend.

Reviewed by
P Orr

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Long Range Hotel- Highly Reccommended
This was a lovely hotel in an excellent location. It was clean, bright and spacious- especially the wonderful conservatory which overlooked the lovely garden.
The room was clean, tidy, bright and very functional. The hosts excellent and very friendly. The area in which the hotel was based was quiet and only a few minutes walk to the sea and the small town.

Reviewed by
steve johnson

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Welcoming Hotel
Good location set in lovely grounds that are relaxing, quiet and private. Check in was informative and welcoming. Room (No 1) including bathroom was spotlessly clean, spacious (mobility friendly) and of good quality. Comfortable, spacious bed and our extra request upon booking was fulfilled which was appreciated. Breakfast could be served either inside or on terrace which was a nice option - local produce used. Accommodation seems more suitable for the mature market, but this is due to the nature of Budleigh Salterton.

Reviewed by
Cheryl T

From Chipping Campden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful and relaxing
Lovely few days at this hotel which was located just outside Budleigh Salterton. The owners were very pleasant and friendly and provided us with lots of information regarding local walks and places to eat. We were able to park our car for a few days, use local transport and see this lovely area of Devon. We will be returning again to explore further.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend. Lovely friendly people. Loved budleigh.

Reviewed by
Carol L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay at The Long Range Hotel.
Warm and friendly welcome. Good service with a small but clean single en-suite room. Spacious dinning room with a good choice of breakfast overlooking a large and well tended garden. Off road parking means no concerns about the security of ones car.A ten minute walk and one is in the very quiet town centre. I would be happy to recommend this small family hotel

Reviewed by
David Richardson

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place
From the moment we stepped through the door we were made welcome. Our room was very spacious and had geogeous views over the Devon countryside and sea, facing East the sunrise was a sight to behold.
Breakfast in the garden was a first for a UK break, definately one to visit again.

Reviewed by
ian b

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next