No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mount Somerset Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Henlade Taunton, Somerset , TA3 5NB
A gracious Regency Country House Hotel, cradled by both the Quantock and the Blackdown Hills and sits in an elevated rural position and enjoys some of the most beautiful views in England. It has the warm, inviting feel of a delightful, private country house and, having only 19 bedrooms, gives you the feeling you are staying with friends.
Positioned as the jewel in Somerset, the spa will provide an exclusive and intimate atmosphere, the idyllic combination of heat and water experiences, fitness essentials and first class bespoke treatments, will guarantee that this bathing house offers the perfect therapy to well being.

Spanning over two floors, this Somerset gem, includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, foot spas and experience showers then on a completely separate level offers a fitness suite and two beautifully appointed treatment rooms.

The team pride themselves on delivering the highest standard of client care with exceptional attention to detail creating an exclusive and intimate spa like no other.
Spa Memberships, Day Spa Packages, Overnight Retreats, Treatments available.

Our kitchens have been awarded a coveted Two AA Rosette rating for their culinary creations in our Fine Dining Restaurant, so you can be assured that your meal at The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa will be one to remember for years to come.

We look forward to welcoming you….
Picture of The Mount Somerset Hotel & Spa, Somerset  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unwind in perfect peace
Stayed here for a single night for a birthday celebration
Staff couldn't have been more helpful or attentive.
Spa was wonderful and the view from out suite was amazing.
Cream tea wonderful, and the food excellent if a little expensive for the a la carte menu.
Left with a favourable impression and would love to go back for another stay.
Very very glad we stayed here.

Reviewed by
Damon Allen

From Treharris, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully peaceful location. Rooms can get hot and stuffy. Food is good but service in the restaurant is poor.

Reviewed by
Clifford L

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay!
We spent 2 nights at the Mount Somerset Hotel and wished we could have stayed longer - the hotel is beautiful, the room was spotless and the food in the restaurant was really excellent. The spa is small, but perfectly formed - the experience shower was out of order while we were staying but I'm sure this was a one-off. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help at every opportunity. We'll be back!

Reviewed by
Karen B

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to lay my head
I arrived exhausted after a long journey in appalling weather conditions. I just needed a comfortable room for a one night business trip. Mount Somerset Hotel & Spa exceeded my expectations. I was greeted by a smiling friendly face and walked - not shown - to my room. The room immediately offered a welcoming sight of clean, comfortable accommodation. Relaxation soon set in, I was able to get comfy on the 2 seater settee, the bathroom was beautifully presented with walk-in shower, deep cast iron bath on cast iron feet and nice decor throughout. The bed must be the most comfortable one I have slept in for a very long time and I so did not want to get out of it in the morning. Upon opening the curtains I found a beautiful view overlooking Somerset - I just wish I could have stayed here for longer. My room service was delivered by another bright friendly face but I was surprised at the small portion size of the beer battered fish - albeit very edible. Breakfast was cooked upon request & served in the conservatory. Check-out was smooth & friendly. I look forward to staying again at this lovely hotel but preferably for leisure next time.

Reviewed by
Alison D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous meals beat mixed reception
We recently enjoyed a relaxing two day break at the Mount. The hotel was very comfortable indeed, with spacious accommodation and an outstanding location. Meals were excellent, with imaginative touches in the evening and a wide range available for breakfast.
The spa and gym were good, although our booking for a treatment for my wife was "lost" (even though it had been made less than 24 hours earlier) and the receptionist who dealt with our complaint was not helpful, eventually offering a 10% discount (even though this was available for ALL clients on the day of the booking) for "any inconvenience and embarrassment caused"! She was the only employee who failed to live up to the high standards of customer care and attention to detail which all the other staff displayed so fulsomely.
Our room was comfortable, well-furnished and well-resourced. We liked the little touches (fresh fruit, home-made biscuits, turning down the bed whilst we were dining, etc). The only down side was that the room was at the top of the grand staircase, and thus above the reception desk - the early morning conversations and hoovering were clearly audible.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey A

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday trip
We had an excellent stay at the Mount Somerset hotel. We were given a free upgrade to a suite which looked out across the beautiful gardens and the hills beyond. We used the spa facilities and enjoyed two evening meals which were very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. A delightful stay.

Reviewed by
Helen N

From Bathampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed.
Never got there. After booking room @ an amazing £30, was contacted by hotel saying there had been a 'clerical error' and room was actually £130. They offered me it for £100, which I declined.
They didn't specify whether the error was theirs or laterooms.com
Very dissapointed with both.

Reviewed by
K Bowen

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay in a tranquil environment.
I hate chain hotels and liked the Mount Somerset for having all the touches I would expect in a good stay but in an unfussy environment. We were very impressed with our room, service, the tranquil environment and lovely gardens. We had Bar food in the evening and a substantial and excellent breakfast. I enjoyed the spa, and also found it a good environment for working.

Reviewed by
Oona H

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury hotel..very friendly and competent staff.

Reviewed by
S Baker

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elegant
the accommodation exceeded my expectations and was immaculately clean with a lovely country house ambience throughout. One of the best designed hotels I have stayed in for ages. The food was excellent and breakfast much better than the usual standard in hotels.

Reviewed by
Susannah H

From Crieff, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next