No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Invicta Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
11/12 Osborne Place, Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth, PL1 2PU
The Invicta Hotel is a friendly family run, 3 Star Hotel. Situated on the famous Plymouth Hoe, commanding views across The Hoe Park and Bowling Green. Sea views to the right and on a clear day into Dartmoor, what a wonderful location! Centrally located to all amenities the city centre and the historic Barbican with its Edwardian, winding narrow lanes are but 2-3 minutes walk. For those of you travelling to France or Spain the Brittany ferry port is 2 minutes by car. Recently refurbished, the hotel accommodation offers twenty-three fully en-suite rooms comprising of single, double, twin and family rooms with executive "Classic" rooms located on the first floor. Each room includes tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries, a hairdryer, colour television and radio, direct dial telephone and BT Broadband internet access. Please be aware that being a grade II listed building we do not have a lift - third floor rooms are reduced in price to compensate for this but may not be suitable for guests with mobility problems. If you require a low floor please let us know when making your reservation. We will accept small dogs in our First Floor Classic Rooms, but there is a surcharge. No Pets are allowed in our standard top floor/family rooms. Relax and unwind in our comfortable lounge bar after a hard days work or sight seeing whilst taking advantage of our well stocked bar, or simply join us for a pre dinner drink. Whether you are visiting Plymouth on business or for pleasure we offer a warm and friendly welcome.
Picture of Invicta Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Found everyone very helpful and friendly. Only had one issue which was the shower which had little pressure.
Mentioned it at the desk and they immediately investigated and found it faulty and offered us another room. Staff there could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one.

Reviewed by
Edwin B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Didn't stay long enough other than to say the staff were very friendly and the room was clean and tidy. Thank you

Reviewed by
Phillip S

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel , great location.
One of the best privately owned hotels I have had the pleasure to stay at, family room nice size, food was great ,the location was brilliant, never used the car once, the staff were friendly and attentive, good value for money, will stay this hotel every time I visit Plymouth .

Reviewed by
Kevin Merryweather

From Sandown, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Invicta stay well worth it
the hotel was well positioned to explore the hoe and shopping area , the staff were friendly and the room clean and tidy as expected. would stay there on next visit to Plymouth , good value for money ,

Reviewed by
j morrison

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful
An excellent service team, who made me very welcome and dealt with all of my requests promptly.

Reviewed by
Rob C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good hotel will stay again

Reviewed by
R Lees

From Middlewich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central hotel by the Hoe
Clean and comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the Hoe and the town centre. I had a comfortable single en suite room on the third floor. No lifts so good exercise! The ensuite shower room was a bit cramped but adequate. The building is on the corner opposite the memorials on the Hoe and at the end of a georgian row with understandably consequently poor soundproofing, but in a quiet area if you discount the odd reveller early on a Sunday morning. Lovely breakfast choices including a recommended fishy breakfast.

Reviewed by
Christine R

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean friendly and accommodating. Organised early breakfast no problem.

Reviewed by
Geoff Baker

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The stairs were too steep, room very small and should not have been called a double. Shower poor.
I left my comments with reception and was assured that the Management would get back to me. They have not. My stay was not a pleasant experience. Night service for drinks was a joke and very expensive, which would have been acceptable if the drinks were drinkable. No ice no choice and the lager was off! I couldn't recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Candy

From Shepton Mallet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for 1 Night stay!
I was staying here with friends for a party, room was very small and I could not get the shower to work just got a dribble (no bath either) Its a listed building so no lift I knew this, not good if you have problems with lots of stairs. Breakfast was ok have had better to be honest coffee was awful. Staff quick to serve helpful and check in/out quick and easy. Room was warm clean and had 2 pillows comfy beds. Was woken at 4am by youngsters outside no double glazing! Got a great deal from Late Rooms as was on a budget including breakfast. Not sure if I will stay here again!

Reviewed by
Carol R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next