No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kitley House Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Kitley Estate Yealmpton, Plymouth, PL8 2NW
Luxury Country House Hotel & Restaurant, Trout Lake and Extensive Woodland Walks. Access to the sea @400 yards. Kitley House is an oasis of quiet luxury, providing the highest standards in comfort, cuisine and personal service. A sweeping staircase leads up to 19 spacious bedrooms and suites. Each has panoramic views over the estate and is richly appointed with furnishings designed to reflect the traditional elegance of the house while incorporating all modern facilities.
Picture of Kitley House Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with fabulous grounds
The staff were really helpful and friendly. Everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations except for the room which was a little tired looking, but comfortable evenso. We did find there was alot of noise when people were walking up and down the corridor and the walls are surprisingly thin.

Reviewed by
DEBRA D

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly careworn standard room but fine for our purposes (a short term break). Better value than many B&B's via laterooms.com. Lovely setting, good local pub dining.

Reviewed by
Christopher C

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel and Surroundings friendly helpful staff
My third time at Kitley House. It is a beautiful place, an old manor house in lovely surroundings. Staff very friendly and helpful and a pleasure to stay. Only gripes are the less than impressive shower and the price of the breakfast which was not included in the price, but these are minor issues and would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Zeb E

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place overall
My stay was absolutely value for money, let that be said first!
Staff excellent, views amazing and probably a great wedding venue.
A few down sides:
1. The room was not better than a Premierinn ( Room 10 )
2. Phone signal ( O2 ) was virtually none existent
3. Butter ( from the fridge ) should arrive at the same time as the toast, not minutes later ;)
4. The road leading to the hotel is lethal, drive carefully

Reviewed by
G COleman

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Four gorgeous days in Devon
An excellent hotel set in beautiful countryside, with very pleasant and helpful staff, the dining in particular was very good without being over elaborate. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean though a little tired but is to be refurbished. My friend's room was already done and very well presented. Definitely a hotel to be revisited and ideal for a special treat.

Reviewed by
Malcolm R

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming location, was lovely to stay.
Stayed here with a friend for the eve and had a lovely time, the accommodation was clean and the quality of the room was good. Excellent value for money too considering the location.

Reviewed by
L Pour-Hashemi

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful surprise getaway!
We came to Kitley as a surprise fo my little girls 10th birthday and I am so glad that we did. Everything was perfect. My daughter had the best time. I would also like to give Nathan a big thank you for the time and effort he gave to us expecially Caitlin. Nathan is a credit to the staff team at Kitley.
We were thinking of going abroad for Christmas but we quite like the idea of staying at Kitley instead.....hope that they are open!

Reviewed by
angela flamson

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great last minute deal
I booked this place the day before ur stay, and was very impressed with the family suite, and the staff. The proximity to the main road and plymouth, but the beautiful remote setting make this a fantastic place to stay

Reviewed by
Luke B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, with very helpful staff
This is a very fine country-house style hotel, in a building with plenty of Elizabethan/Victorian character, set in hugely impressive grounds. The driveway up to the hotel itself is rather less impressive - being full of potholes and crevices - but the place itself is very fine. The staff were quite superb. I had a couple of small issues with my room which were instantly resolved. The ability not to have breakfast if not required was also particularly handy.

Reviewed by
Phil Taylor

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't rest on your laurels
The staff and food were very good but the physical condition of the hotel did not live up to expectations.
The room (No. 11) had wooden window frames that were rotten - you could push the wood in. It was OK for one night but not any longer even at the Laterooms discount. This was probably the servants quarters so we don't know what the quality of the suites was like.
There is a marvellous staircase that should be expressed and enjoyed but it was dark and drab.
Overall the building needs a facelift and brightening up.
However the staff were excellent as was the food.

Reviewed by
Norman A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next