You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Cleve Spa

4

Mantle Street Wellington, Taunton, TA21 8SN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrew W

  • June 2016

Nice relaxing stay

We wanted a relaxing break after a stressful year so far.

This hotel gave us everything to help achieve our aim. Very nice location, Wellington is also a nice town with some good places to eat. It was nice and quiet in the spa which has a pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. Often just the two of us enjoying the facilities. Only ate at the hotel on one evening but the food was very good and drinks reasonably priced. There was a good selection for breakfast. The staff were friendly right down to the cleaners. Would use again if staying in the area.

  • Simon W

  • May 2016

Don't look too close

Another expression for this hotel is 'fur coat and no knickers' on initial arrival it looks ok but as soon as you step out of reception and into the room corridors the hotel is tatty and aged.

The bedroom again initially looks fine until I went into the bathroom, I think the bathroom was fitted in 1970 and hasn't been updated since. The hotel is rated as a four start hotel but it is clearly a three star at best. The breakfast was nice, the food was cooked to order. The staff are friendly and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again but if you are looking for a four star hotel with true four star credentials then look elsewhere.

  • Rob Williams

  • November 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly staff

The only negatives I have is that the TV in the room only worked on a few channels without interference.

The WiFi is also very poor which when you are trying to work in your room is very frustrating. The hotel and it's facilities are excellent though.

  • Dave C

  • November 2014

Nice place, good gym with spa facilities, friendly staff but overpriced

This was a birthday treat for my wife.

Booking in and room - We were welcomed by a lovely receptionist and checked in to our room. The room was a disappointment. It was very small with an on suite shower - no bath - and smelt damp and of cigar smoke. The receptionist apologised and said that our booking showed for 3 but changed/upgraded our room with no quibble which we were grateful for. Spa - Fantastic Spa and Gym facilities. Loved it. There were no towels supplied and we used towels from our room. You also have to walk barefoot from the changing room to the pool unless you have the forethought to bring flip flops or sandals. Restaurant - We planned to dine in the restaurant that evening and studied the menu's in our room. The menus given to us at our table were not the same as read in our room which was dissappointing.

Somerset has some of the best real ales and ciders in the country and I was surprised to find the only draft on offer was a Becks pilsner and a mainline cider. The meals served were fine. Breakfast - We both enjoyed breakfast very much. Lots of choice and variety. One drawback. The toast was self service. One toaster that produced 4 slices to accommodate all. Cleve spa is a lovely place. The spa facility is great but I feel it's let down by high end room charges for a standard accommodation and restaurant experience.

  • D Sumner

  • November 2014

Nice Quiet Hotel

This is our second stay, and enjoyed the quiet location away from the town.

Plenty of parking and the staff are really friendly. The room was a nice size and comfortable. Breakfast had good choices and we were well looked after. Sadly we didn't have time to enjoy the spa facilities.

  • J Hayes

  • August 2014

Great Break Away

I booked the break away for my Mum's birthday treat.

The hotel is perfectly located for touring Somerset. We spent our days visiting local towns and Exmoor. The Spa was lovely and quiet with all the relaxing facilities you need and perfect to use on our return to the hotel. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. A lovely relaxing break and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I certainly would stay again. Thank you.

  • Sean S

  • August 2014

Friendly welcome - delicious breakfast

I've stayed here twice - first time I had a buffet breakfast but more recently breakfast was cooked to order.

Without a doubt the best veggie cooked breakfast I've had anywhere. Service is impeccable; friendly and helpful - rooms are quite warm and on both occasions I've requested a fan which has been quickly provided without any fuss. Comfortable bed - very nice shower rooms.

  • Roger Thorpe

  • July 2014

A nice family hotel run by dedicated people who are most obliging

The building has the appearance of a grand country house of the Victorian period, a little pretentious as it was built for the Fox family and is shaped in the form of a F.

The restaurant was good with some original slants on standard dishes. The Manager and his staff could not be faulted, We encountered a small problem which was fixed with alacrity. When next in the area we would not hesitate to book in again

  • T Bigelow

  • July 2014

Away from the maddening crowd but in a convenient location

The hotel is not far from the M5 and close to Taunton.

Keep an eye out for the entrance as it is easy to miss but once there it is easy to enjoy.