Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Yard , Exeter, EX1 1HD
ABode Exeter enjoys a peaceful location in the heart of Exeter opposite its magnificent Cathedral. Following recent refurbishment, the hotel proudly boasts 53 contemporary styled bedrooms with the traditional values of comfort expected from such an historic property. There is plenty of opportunity to treat yourself as the hotel is home to Michael Caines Fine Dining Restaurant, Champagne Bar, Cafe Bistro and even its own traditional tavern serving local real ale.
Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy
Picture of ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
The lighting in the room was very poor. It was impossible to read in bed or use the bedroom mirror. The food was good but took a very long time to come.

Reviewed by
Elisabeth T

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great stay!
Friendly and helpful staff, an unexpected upgrade to a beautiful room, great location, great character features like the wonky staircase and old fashioned lift - we will be back!

Reviewed by
anna d

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Post-Christmas rest!
We had booked a table in the restaurant for dinner following a week of hosting guests for Christmas and decided late in the day to treat ourselves to a night in the hotel. What a great idea! The hotel was welcoming and festive, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean with a fantastic shower and lovely bed and the food in the restaurant was a really special treat. Although we only live 6 miles away we will definitely do this again when we need some TLC!

Reviewed by
Mary Greener

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location same about the noise
Great location, nice staff, good food. Request a cathedral facing room. If you get an inside facing room you won't get much sleep though. The kitchen fans are only off midnight until 6am and they are ridiculously noisy.

Reviewed by
c w

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Very efficient and friendly hotel. I had the most enormous bed I have ever seen - three pillows wide - which pretty much occupied the whole room. I arrived late-ish on a Sunday night, but they found me a nice meal and a good glass of wine and I went to bed happy.

Reviewed by
S L

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
N Dewey

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abode-A truly luxurious break
Abode provided us with a luxury break in contemporary style. In contrast ,the view over the Cathedral Green transported us into a bygone era. Our business takes us all over the country and into an assortment of accommodation. This was by far the best.

Reviewed by
P THOMAS

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel - Shame about the Parking
Good Hotel in a good location. Room very well furnished and very clean. Friendly staff.
Minus Points - Fire alarm sounded for 5 seconds in the middle of the night - woke everyone up with some confusion and no explanation available in the morning.
- Parking. City Centre and therefore, accept not always able to park on site. However, arrived in the dark and raining hard. Dropped my guests at the door as suggested . No turning point and therefore, had to back all the way down the road as others had parked. Not easy to see in the dark and wet, especially as two lampposts had clearly been backed into and weren't working!! Further, I was given a very poor photocopy of where the car park was. This was important as I was not able to go the way that staff told me. I compare this to the tear off colour photocopy I receive at other hotels. Arrived back soaked and had to then pay for the parking. Should at least be included in the price.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Exeter
Stayed at Abode for 2 nights in October. The hotel is ideally placed for the cathedral and access to shops.
There is no parking on site but we travelled by train and the hotel is a short walk from Exeter Central station.
The room was decorated to a good standard and generally comfortable. We had a great breakfast but did not dine in the hotel otherwise.
There is a lot of noise in the hotel at about 6am onward which is great if you need an alarm call but annoying if you want a lie in.
All things considered I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
John C

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Diner invitation
Great service, great food and lovely wine. Bed was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
karen b

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next