Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Yard , Exeter, EX1 1HD
ABode Exeter enjoys a peaceful location in the heart of Exeter opposite its magnificent Cathedral. Following recent refurbishment, the hotel proudly boasts 53 contemporary styled bedrooms with the traditional values of comfort expected from such an historic property. There is plenty of opportunity to treat yourself as the hotel is home to Michael Caines Fine Dining Restaurant, Champagne Bar, Cafe Bistro and even its own traditional tavern serving local real ale.
Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy
Picture of ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had an excellent stay, staff so helpful, hotel so convenient to centre of Exeter.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff so helpful. Disabled room very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
J Penrose

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great service
checking in eaisy and friendly staff the room was nice even tho the view from window less desirable as it was a brick wall.

Reviewed by
k jenkins

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
I was so disappointed with this stay. It was our 11th anniversary treat and because I wanted to eat at Michaels restaurant we booked in to the hotel so we were on site.
The pictures of the bed in the standard room are very deceiving. They look like super king, which is what I have at home and talk about the most comfortable beds you will ever sleep in. Well unfortunately that is not the case, they are standard doubles and the mattress is akin to a trampoline. Every time one of us rolled over in it we feared we would bounce the other one onto the floor.
The room itself slopes significantly, which means basically you are at an angle whilst lying in bed and both of us had mild headaches in the mornings. I appreciate this is a very old listed building so the rooms wont be exactly square but had I suffered with arthritis of the hip rather than the back it would have been impossible for me to walk around the room on a slope. I wont mention the lift, again old building and the lift is very quaint, we often had to walk to the third floor because they had left the gate open but that really didn't bother us.
The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly, shower gel was used up on first day and never replenished throughout our four day stay. Unfortunately I dropped a piece of tissue (Clean) and it fell under the sink on the first day, I cannot bend very easily because of the arthritis and my husband was not in the room at the time so I could not ask him and then forgot to do so. That tissue was still on the floor on our third morning.
We used the milk on the second morning from the tea tray and it was not replenished until the fourth morning. On our last night we did not receive our complimentary bottled water, which I will add was a lovely touch had we of received it every day that we were there.
We like to lie-in when on holiday so we never have breakfast and also like to sleep with the window open. Well the noise up until about 1am and then starting again at about 5am was horrendous. We had a front room with an excellent view of the cathedral, which was stunning but the noise from the delivery and collection lorries outside was pretty unbearable. The other guests would then seem to use raised voices whilst walking past the room on the way to the lifts, in the very early hours of the morning, didn't know you could even have breakfast that early! I must also add after about 09.30am you then had the cleaning staff who insisted on calling down the corridor to each other and banging about a lot, so all in all because of the noise my husband and I really didn't have much sleep over the four night stay.
You must visit Michael Cairns restaurant though. I have been fortunate enough to eat at five Michelin rated/starred restaurants in the last few years and this was excellent and the staff were professional and attentive, food was amazing.
If I had not got a special offer on some of my nights and paid the full 4 star prices I would have been very upset. If you can afford it I would highly recommend the suites, I am sure you would have a much more comfortable stay but if at the front and enjoy open windows, then I think you too would be disturbed by the noise.
May I add though that the hotel staff were outstanding. They were all very well dressed, polite, helpful and always had a friendly smile for you whatever the time of day.
One last note its cathedral policy that you can not drink a bottle of wine or any alcohol whilst in cathedral square unless you have a main meal with it. As we were eating in Michaels restaurant we did not want to eat and so we could not sit outside the hotel or along that strip and enjoy a bottle of wine before dinner. Of course not everybody drinks but I wanted to warn people as I have not read that on any of the reviews and we had to find outside seating in the town or by the quay every time we just wanted a drink.

Reviewed by
Claire-Louise C

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three day break
Stayed on a room only basis and did not eat at the hotel. Centrally located, clean comfortable rooms, efficient staff.

Reviewed by
Brian G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heavenly
Excellent centre location, without the traffic noise and usual city centre commotion, just perfect!
Minutes away from shops, cathedral, walks. One of the best we have stayed in and great value for money
Staff were first class, menus were varied, but only disappointment was no kippers-the delivery was late! However all the other things were their. (Do check on juice juices though, none there when we arrived)

Reviewed by
Chris Riley

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expected more from a 4* hotel
The hotel is in a great location with not too far to walk to the car park. We were a little disappointed with getting what seemed to be the smallest room in the hotel, when we were staying for a week. Little extras you come to expect in a 4* hotel were missing such as water. As the room was so small there was only room for a shower and there was no where to leave toiletry bags, bags, etc.
There were a few housekeeping niggles, which were quickly sorted out when I phoned down to reception to complain - such as ran out of soap, body wash and on one day we only had one towel between 2 of us!
The reception staff and most of the waiting staff for very attentive and very pleasant. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced, however kippers that were on the menu were not available until my last breakfast of the week. I have had better breakfasts elsewhere however.
We ate in the restaurant which was very good - but not necessarily good value for money. There are plenty of great places to eat in Exeter.
Overall it was OK to good - but we wished we'd booked the Mercure, as we have always been happy there

Reviewed by
carol s

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Will definitely stay here again.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Jamie A

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit, would visit agin
A very pleasant stay, lovely cocktails in the bar. The room was clean and reasonably roomy with a good comfy bed. Slight problem that one of the milk cartons was off when opened it, I then noticed the date was 11/2013. I did inform reception who offered fresh milk but we went out for coffee instead.

Reviewed by
S Dowle

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel centrally located in Exeter with views of the cathedral. Comfortable rooms and excellent service. Make sure you book a table in Michael Caines restaurant. We went for the a la carte menu. It was superb and the restaurant service was impeccable. Thoroughly enjoyable break.

Reviewed by
s wiltshire

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Base
The hotel is an ideal base to explore Exeter, overlooking cathedral green and close to all food, shops and entertainment. Its facilities are first class.

Reviewed by
Ray W

From Torrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next