Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Yard , Exeter, EX1 1HD
ABode Exeter enjoys a peaceful location in the heart of Exeter opposite its magnificent Cathedral. Following recent refurbishment, the hotel proudly boasts 53 contemporary styled bedrooms with the traditional values of comfort expected from such an historic property. There is plenty of opportunity to treat yourself as the hotel is home to Michael Caines Fine Dining Restaurant, Champagne Bar, Cafe Bistro and even its own traditional tavern serving local real ale.
Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy
Picture of ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly located but rooms variable
Bedroom was dark and looked directly on to a brick wall a couple of feet away. The shared spaces were much nicer.

Reviewed by
Michelle M

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was disappointing!
Having booked this quite some time ago and reading other reviews i was quite disappointed in the type of room we had. Very small for a double and for the price we paid for just one night. We have stayed in quite a few hotels around the globe and must say we have had better for cheaper. The bed was lovely and the bathroom was clean but the room was just far too small.

Reviewed by
C Bastow

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
We had a lovely stay at Abode, the hotel interior was well mainted and plesent, the room was immaculate and the view onto the Cathedral was calming.
We had a couple issues with noise (we stayed on a Friday evening).. The staff were very friendly and offered us the oppertunity to change rooms. The manager William was very helpful with this and went out his way to make our stay plesent..
We love Exeter, Abode allows us to enjoy our trips in comfort.. we would stay here again.

Reviewed by
E Blundell

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
The lighting in the room was very poor. It was impossible to read in bed or use the bedroom mirror. The food was good but took a very long time to come.

Reviewed by
Elisabeth T

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great stay!
Friendly and helpful staff, an unexpected upgrade to a beautiful room, great location, great character features like the wonky staircase and old fashioned lift - we will be back!

Reviewed by
anna d

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Post-Christmas rest!
We had booked a table in the restaurant for dinner following a week of hosting guests for Christmas and decided late in the day to treat ourselves to a night in the hotel. What a great idea! The hotel was welcoming and festive, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean with a fantastic shower and lovely bed and the food in the restaurant was a really special treat. Although we only live 6 miles away we will definitely do this again when we need some TLC!

Reviewed by
Mary Greener

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant room friendly helpful front of house staff. Our stay was let down by our dining experience
Dinner - food excellent but let down by the surly male wait staff; Wine was poured without offering a tasting. Was not given a detailed bill when I requested the bill only a total. I included a gratuity but was shocked to find that an % gratuity had also been added to the bill when I saw the detailed account in the morning.

Reviewed by
John N

From Fowey, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location same about the noise
Great location, nice staff, good food. Request a cathedral facing room. If you get an inside facing room you won't get much sleep though. The kitchen fans are only off midnight until 6am and they are ridiculously noisy.

Reviewed by
c w

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Very efficient and friendly hotel. I had the most enormous bed I have ever seen - three pillows wide - which pretty much occupied the whole room. I arrived late-ish on a Sunday night, but they found me a nice meal and a good glass of wine and I went to bed happy.

Reviewed by
S L

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
N Dewey

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next