No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rising Sun Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Harbourside, Lynmouth, EX35 6EG
Step inside this thatched 14th century historic smugglers inn nestled in the picturesque harbour of Lynmouth. The hotel has been gently transformed over the years into an elegant harbourside hotel. Boasting superior standards of service, comfortable surroundings and fine cuisine combined with truly magnificent views of the harbour and Exmoor coastline. The Rising Sun offers warmth, friendliness and a personal touch whilst providing the highest standards.
Picture of The Rising Sun Hotel, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Rising Sun Hotel
Excellent location by waterside. Noisy but happy pub atmosphere. Good food, beer, and bedrooms.

Reviewed by
John U

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Food
Only negative comment is that service at mealtimes was a bit slow, even when restaurant was not that busy.

Reviewed by
J Powell

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent old fashioned bar and fantastic food. Comfortable, friendly and very welcoming after a long drive. The staff were very polite and made everything run smoothly. We would go back again.

Reviewed by
Andy M

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another lovely stay
The Rising Sun is always worth a night away - beautifully clean and comfortable rooms, wonderful food and good service.

Reviewed by
J Challis

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Stay

Reviewed by
Anthony Sadler

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My partner and I stayed for 2nights and we can honestly not find anything negative to say, Staff were welcoming from the minute we arrived , the room was exactly as we hoped, we ate in the restaurant both evenings and couldn't fault either meal on both occasions ,we will definitely be back, we feel we have found a perfect bolt hole to retreat too whenever we can .

Reviewed by
GARY P

From Farrington gurney bristol , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A special hotel in a special location.
This is my third stay here and as before, a very enjoyable experience. The room had a view of the harbour and had a lot of character. Dinner was excellent, the dining room very cosy. Great for couples especially. Breakfast is cooked to order and is very fresh, so much better than a buffet. Staff encountered were all friendly, unobtrusive, polite and efficient. Lynmouth is a great place to stay, very attractive and a good base for exploring the area.

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From Maldon, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lynton overnight
Stayed at Rising Sun before. Very quirky medieval hotel. All little nooks and crannies and wood panelling. Room was lovely and spotless, and the bathroom stunning, but couldn't climb into the high-sided roll-top bath! Food was really good, but restaurant extremely busy. However the staff found us a space as long as we could vacate the table before the reserved party arrived, which suited us.

Reviewed by
S Mitchell

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night mid-week 'walking and dining' stay in a characterful inn with fabulous location!
We were made most welcome on our arrival. The small, but beautifully appointed, sea view room was very clean and comfortable. The en-suite was very stylish and functional, perhaps a little on the small side (we stayed in room no. 5) however, a very minor disadvantage considering the age of the building (en-suites not about when this Inn was built, I suspect!!). The restaurant and bar were both comfortable and welcoming and the staff most attententive. We dined 'in' both nights and found our choice of meals excellent. Once the pub closed, it was very quiet and peaceful - conducive to a good night's sleep! Would not recommend to families - more adult orientated. A charming harbourside inn in a stunning location.

Reviewed by
r brown

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.