No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
16 Gervis Road , Bournemouth, BH1 3EQ
The privately owned BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms (including eight spacious chalet family rooms) have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large indoor swimming pool for laid back lengths, and the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens are ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sunshine in! Surrounded by seven miles of golden beaches, the town also puts you in the enviable position of having a wide range of excellent tourist attractions nearby. Why not explore the mysteries of the deep at the Oceanarium or step back in time at the Russell-Cotes Art Gallery and Museum? For those of you who enjoy a night out, Bournemouth has a buzzing scene with many popular pubs and clubs to enjoy a drink or three.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Couldn't fault this hotel. Beautiful surroundings. Comfy bed, clean, spacious, and free hot drinks and biscuits!! Staff were lovely and cheerful. Would recommend for business or leisure stays.

Reviewed by
K ASKIN

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
We had a family room with more space than a standard double. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The room was pleasantly warm and had everything one could possibly want: coffee/tea making facilities, TV which was easy to operate, lots of information about the surrounding area etc etc. The Reception staff were very friendly and could not do more to help us.

Reviewed by
R Copestake

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressive food
The hotel was fantastic value for money. The rooms were a little dated, but very clean and comfortable. The pool is small and outside the main hotel building, but pleasant. The outstanding thing was the food. Had a really good restaurant quality meal for only £10!

Reviewed by
H Jeffery

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful, with great food and service. Very good value hotel near the beach.

Reviewed by
M Street

From Exeter , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel but bathrooms need updating.
Nice enough hotel, however I stayed in room 303 and the shower was very poor. Its not a power shower and when my colleague in the room directly below had his shower on, my shower lost all water pressure and I had to wait for him to finish before the pressure came back!
When I had my courtesy phonecall from reception, I informed her but she just said that sometimes happens.
I think Best Western need to update their bathrooms in order to compete with the likes of Premier Inn etc.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
Friendly staff ,short walk into town, clean bright rooms and late check out (11am ) highly recommend.
( And don't moan about the £2 overnight car park charge like I did to find out all the money goes to the local children' charity ...... ;-)

Reviewed by
Richard J

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame
shower and bath combi had a problem with it which resulted in the shower running all night so couldn't sleep..... to make things worse the valve must have broken that changes hot water and cold water so only hot was running which ment there was steam everywhere.... no one was able to sort it out so I had it on all night , you would think a big group like this would have had a maintenance man on hand or if not then call out a plumber!!!

Reviewed by
andrew p

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well run hotel with friendly staff
Compares well with other pleasant hotel stays in Bournemouth with the staff definitely the friendliest and well led by superb management.
On a pleasant tree lined road a few streets away from the East cliffs it has a pleasant garden out front. It has an old style with all it's charms and limitations for instance a lift which is modernised but only takes two people. A lot of the Bournemouth hotels are similar but much better than the soulless modern blocks!
Remember there is a parking charge but this is mentioned at time of booking and is preferable to local on street parking rates.

Reviewed by
C Hunt

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place and people
I booked a few nights at this lovely hotel and then added on one night via this website. Although there was a second booking reference the receptionist was helpful in making sure I could stay on in the same room.
See my favourable review for the same stay. Great staff and convenient but relaxing location.

Reviewed by
C Hunt

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel, overpriced for the room rate paid
On the positive side: Good front of house service and excellent breakfast and restaurant staff.
The pool area is very good but has an uncovered walk if its raining or cold.
Negatives: Tired old fashioned decors and carpets, poor quality room furnishings and bed and pillows. Charging for car parking is extra, and the car park is hard to get a space in the evening without double parking. The pool has no separate male and female changing areas.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next