No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth, BH1 3EQ
The privately owned BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms (including eight spacious chalet family rooms) have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large indoor swimming pool for laid back lengths, and the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens are ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sunshine in! Surrounded by seven miles of golden beaches, the town also puts you in the enviable position of having a wide range of excellent tourist attractions nearby. Why not explore the mysteries of the deep at the Oceanarium or step back in time at the Russell-Cotes Art Gallery and Museum? For those of you who enjoy a night out, Bournemouth has a buzzing scene with many popular pubs and clubs to enjoy a drink or three.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale  , Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful, with great food and service. Very good value hotel near the beach.

Reviewed by
M Street

From Exeter , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel but bathrooms need updating.
Nice enough hotel, however I stayed in room 303 and the shower was very poor. Its not a power shower and when my colleague in the room directly below had his shower on, my shower lost all water pressure and I had to wait for him to finish before the pressure came back!
When I had my courtesy phonecall from reception, I informed her but she just said that sometimes happens.
I think Best Western need to update their bathrooms in order to compete with the likes of Premier Inn etc.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
Friendly staff ,short walk into town, clean bright rooms and late check out (11am ) highly recommend.
( And don't moan about the £2 overnight car park charge like I did to find out all the money goes to the local children' charity ...... ;-)

Reviewed by
Richard J

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame
shower and bath combi had a problem with it which resulted in the shower running all night so couldn't sleep..... to make things worse the valve must have broken that changes hot water and cold water so only hot was running which ment there was steam everywhere.... no one was able to sort it out so I had it on all night , you would think a big group like this would have had a maintenance man on hand or if not then call out a plumber!!!

Reviewed by
andrew p

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well run hotel with friendly staff
Compares well with other pleasant hotel stays in Bournemouth with the staff definitely the friendliest and well led by superb management.
On a pleasant tree lined road a few streets away from the East cliffs it has a pleasant garden out front. It has an old style with all it's charms and limitations for instance a lift which is modernised but only takes two people. A lot of the Bournemouth hotels are similar but much better than the soulless modern blocks!
Remember there is a parking charge but this is mentioned at time of booking and is preferable to local on street parking rates.

Reviewed by
C Hunt

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place and people
I booked a few nights at this lovely hotel and then added on one night via this website. Although there was a second booking reference the receptionist was helpful in making sure I could stay on in the same room.
See my favourable review for the same stay. Great staff and convenient but relaxing location.

Reviewed by
C Hunt

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel, overpriced for the room rate paid
On the positive side: Good front of house service and excellent breakfast and restaurant staff.
The pool area is very good but has an uncovered walk if its raining or cold.
Negatives: Tired old fashioned decors and carpets, poor quality room furnishings and bed and pillows. Charging for car parking is extra, and the car park is hard to get a space in the evening without double parking. The pool has no separate male and female changing areas.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated, comfortable hotel. Not near noisy main roads, but close proximity to shops and beaches.Lovely buffet style breakfast.

Reviewed by
stephen c

From Birchington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointed
The staff at the hotel were polite and help full and in general everything was clean and tidy. The breakfast was well cooked and fresh although the produce itself wasn't of the greatest quality. Our double room although adequate for sending a night in did leave me feeling somewhat short changed however. To call it small would be an understatement. The bathroom was nearly as big as the room itself. It was clean and the bed relatively comfortable but the wardrobe was so small it was next to useless the TV was tiny and in an odd possition made worse by the small size of the room not allowing you to move a chair to a comfortable possition. I understand that this was a basic room but even considering its relative low price it was too small and I'm sure with amount of hotels locally a better option would be available elsewhere. To sum up, knock off £20 from the room price & I'd think about staying again and use it purely for sleep. At this price or for a longer stay I'd look elsewhere.

Reviewed by
M Cooke

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay Business Trip
My double room was small but good value for its price. Cleanliness of the room was excellent as was the bed comfort. Staff were very helpful and friendly and made more than polite conversation. The staff were a credit to best western group.
I travel to Christchurch on business every two / three months and will be staying at the Royale from now on.

Reviewed by
garry barker

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next