Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

3

Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth, PL7 5EB

Price From 124.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (142)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • ross b

  • March 2015

Great combined hotel

This was picked on location and based around the facilities, I wanted a gym/pool to use and searched laterooms to find only a few to pick from, the price was very fair for here on a one nights bed and breakfast basis.

The room was well equipped, the shower was fantastic, wonderful pressure, towels provided were just about big enough to wrap my waist, I'm not big. Gym was showing its age with the equipment but practical, locals appear to crowd it after 5pm. I had no time to use the pool but looked great. Brassier bar served a great easy menu and well priced, or there was the option of the main restaurant for a finer diner. Staff were all pleasant and polite and helpful. I'd happily stay again at the price I paid anymore, that would leave me questioning the quirky and tiredness of certain areas.

  • F Graham

  • March 2015

Elfordleigh great hotel

Always stay here when in Plymouth, great venue huge rooms great spa and service is always good and with a smile

  • I Deumayne-Jones

  • February 2015

In need of a little updating and refurbishment, but still excellent value.

Large, well furnished room that could stand a little updating and a few touches.

The food although good, was a little disappointing. Maybe just my choice, or time of week. The hotel looked a little tired in places, but had super views and helpful friendly staff.

  • Katie C

  • February 2015

stay at elfordleigh

Very welcoming reception, massive bedroom.

Wonderful view. Good leisure facilities, used the spa before tucking into a delicious steak and chips and dessert, in peaceful dining area. Good nights sleep. A hearty full English breakfast.

  • Ruth H

  • February 2015

No hesitation to return

Stayed just down the road in another hotel but the food was terrible.

However the food here was perfect, good portion size and value. Food was absolutely delicious and there was a great choice. Breakfast was fantastic too but if you have the brie and bacon croissant you may have to run around the golf course for a week to work it off!. Really recommend this hotel. Only drawback was the road up to it which is single lane in some parts and the locals don't have much patience!

  • Ian B

  • February 2015

Elfordleigh Hotel

The staff were friendly, the bar food was excellent, good beer (1 real Ale on tap) rooms were to a good standard, and overall clean accommodation and value for money.

  • s r

  • February 2015

Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

We had room number1 overlooking the golf course, which was a good size and offered a lovely outlook on the cold and frosty morning.

It was also very well heated,

The food in the restaurant was very good and good value for money.

  • D MCEWEN

  • December 2014

Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

The room was huge, so that was perfect.

The bathroom was huge, again very nice to have. The beds were very uncomfortable - lumpy mattresses and not enough pillows. No spares left in room either. The carpet showed pet hairs which I was not too happy about as I was not aware that pets were allowed in the room. When I saw a dog staying in the room next door, it clicked what the hairs were from. I had two young children crawling/playing on the bedroom floor, so seeing pet hairs was not welcomed. Some of the general décor/carpets showed signs of wear and tear, which is an opinion felt across the hotel generally. I think the hotel has the basis to be amazing, with some general refurb work in all areas, I think it would dramatically improve the customers experience. The windows in our room were filthy, which did spoil the golf course views :(. The TV in our room was very small for the size of the room, and there were faulty lamps (wobbly bases). No fridge either which with kids, you really need to store extra milk etc. There was adequate hanging space, but there was not enough table space for kids to draw etc. The leisure facilities were good, but again, in need of an upgrade (gym equipment) and some of the pool areas (tiling/changing areas) could do with a refurb. The brasserie food was fine, if not a bit pricey along with the cost for a hot choc - £3.60!!. Breakfast was ok, but I did not like not having a table numbered for your room. We turned up every time to find tables laid out for 3 people (we have four in our family) so we had to move chairs, cutlery etc every time. Queuing up to make toast was not good, as other people kept taking the toast you put in the toaster. It took ages to toast anything. I think the cereal table should be larger so that people are not queuing up behind you every time. There was not enough room for people to access everything at the same time. The carpet in the breakfast room was wearing in places and a cat was walking around?. Ok if you have pet lovers, but my kids were petrified when they saw it. It would be better to make sure animals are not wandering around at breakfast or in the communal areas of the hotel full stop. The setting of the hotel was stunning, but I think more should be done to improve the interiors and address some of the issues I mention above. We would return again as I did think the hotel has the basis to be something special.

  • Peter B

  • December 2014

A good pre-Christmas one night stay

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here.

I booked a single room and was pleased on arrival to find I had a large room with a small double bed and bay windows overlooking the golf course. Debbie in reception was friendly, the pool was quiet around 4.30pm though the water could have been warmer. I had a great night's sleep, no noise though of course the hotel must have been virtually empty. The room could have been warmer bearing in mind this was mid-December, the radiator didn't come on until about 5.30. My egg mayo sandwiches with garnish from the bar were fine, as was breakfast in the morning (apart from poached eggs being quite soft). £64 B&B was good value and I would stay here again..

  • P Watson

  • November 2014

Excellent Elfordleigh

Fantastic experience from check in through to check out