Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton Hotels > Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dartmoor National Park , Plymouth, PL7 5EB

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Golf 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are
warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is,
the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only
minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth,
the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business
or pleasure.

At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At
the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie
serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the
splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the
classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy
conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine
dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes.

All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully
equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.
Picture of Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 144 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed and breakfast
Beautiful setting but accommodation dated and very tired.

Reviewed by
M Prince

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

late booking find
Quite hard to find but plenty of parking space
the room was very large and clean but dated and like the rest of the hotel in need of a bit of tlc and refresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meal was very good and reasonably priced.nice to have a pool and great to have a wide vegetarian breakfast choice.

Reviewed by
c dansie

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean hotel, staff very friendly, fantastic location

Reviewed by
Caroline E

From Beaminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost perfect
Lovely grounds and great view from room.
A reall nice spacious room and lovely good size clean bathroom.
The room had no pictures on walls which I found slightly strange, it would be a nice enhancement.
Really quiet and I slept well.
During the evening though I did notice that the door in the corridor by room 25 which goes to the gym is a little noisy, it bangs. Again a simple fix with a soft closer.
The main bar area could do with the little updating.
Otherwise and as I say, almost perfect just a few small enhancements would take this to a score if 6

Reviewed by
D Howard

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comments regarding stay at Elfordleigh
Could not fault cleanliness of bedroom and bathroom and the view from the room over the Golf Course was great. Staff were always polite and very helpful. Food was also very good, both breakfast and evening meal.
Minor gripes were that the restaurant evening meals were the same for each of the three nights that we stayed and we were told they only changed the Menu once a week.
Also the car park out side the hotel was used by golfers who tended to fill a good proportion of the spaces during the day even though they had their own parking area. In fairness to the hotel they went out of their way late one afternoon to find us a parking space.

Reviewed by
David S

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly

Reviewed by
R De paiva

From Ferndown, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold shower
Everything was fine although the room was hard to find and the cold shower in the morning was a terrible shock!

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location For Plymouth area
The Elfordleigh sits in a beautiful Devon valley with what looks (to a non-players eyes) a scenic and challenging golf course set out before it. It offers easy access to the South West of Devon on the edge of Plympton with easy access to Plymouth and surrounding areas.
That's not to say the hotel itself is perfect. For starters someone decided it would be a good idea to paint it bright pink with bright yellow internal walls in places - an interesting contrast. Yet there are pictures of its past appearing to see it decked in white in keeping with the style of the property.
A little more thought to decor would enhance it considerably. In the guests lounge were many picture lamps but no pictures. In our spacious high ceilinged room similarly no artwork on acres of white wall. The furniture in the room looked to have been recently updated and it was of good quality but it felt too small for the size and scale of the room.
However I would recommend it. It has a certain charm in part at least due to its location. It was a relaxing place to stay with patios overlooking the golf course for an evening drink in the sun. It has an excellent pool, spa, gym and squash court - all surprisingly rare in this part of the world. We had a spacious room and good size-able bathroom. There is plenty of parking - always a problem if you would otherwise wish to stay in the heart of Plymouth and breakfast was excellent (though net curtains in the breakfast conservatory added to the feel that easy enhancements were manageable).
So all in all generally positive and good value (just get the whitewash out for now I think)

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Situation
Great location with pleasing views. Rather a rambling building. Room was large but in need of some attention. No instructions for operating the shower and the shower screen could have been cleaner. Food was more than ample.

Reviewed by
g clarke

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding party
I found the room a bit smaller than I had expected as my brother had stayed there before & had a huge room. I did change my original room as I had booked an excecutive room & the room I was given was smaller again to the one I ended up with. It also didn't have a view. However the room I had was clean & had a lovely view. There was a big damp patch on the wall but nowhere near me so was fine.

Reviewed by
M Prowse

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next