No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW
The Manor House Hotel, a 35 bedroom AA 3* hotel conveniently located in the charming village of West Auckland, is a historic, family owned hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and extensive facilities.

With 35 well appointed bedrooms, a mix of doubles, twins and spacious Four Poster rooms split between the main building and the courtyard area, The Manor House Hotel is the perfect destination for both business & leisure.

Food is served all day in the hotel’s Juniper Restaurant with a range of quality, affordable dining options. Relax after a long day with a drink in the lounge or Stables Bar. Make use of the hotel’s leisure facilities - free for all hotel guests - complete with pool, sauna, steam room and gym. A variety of spa treatments are available on request - pre booking essential.

We also have extensive business facilities, with two meeting rooms and free wifi available in the hotel’s public areas, which include the hotel’s lounge area.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring everything that County Durham has to offer, including the famous Bowes Museum, and is less than half an hour’s drive from Durham Cathedral & Castle.

The hotel is famous for it’s history - reputed to be King Henry VIIIs hunting lodge, the Manor House Hotel offers character, heritage, and history all rolled in with friendly customer & modern conveniences.

Part of the family run STR/Keeping Inn group, who also own the the Honest Lawyer Hotel in Durham, the Centurion Bar in Newcastle Central Station, and the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh.

Picture of Manor House Hotel & Spa, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful hotel with a warm and welcoming feel.
This ancient building with its draughty doors and creaking floorboards, gave a warm and homely welcome that extended beyond the comfortable sofas and blazing fire in the lounge.
It was a truly relaxing end to a busy day. Breakfast the next morning was excellent.

Reviewed by
Shane Bradley

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old hotel but full of charm and character
Would recommend for a short break.

Reviewed by
judith frisby

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely historic hotel
If you want a modern clinical hotel this is not for you. However if you really like quaint, historic, higgledy piggledy, friendly hotels then this is definitely for you. The hotel is great and the staff are very attentive and friendly. I can recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Reviewed by
paul g

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great atmospheric hotel
This is a wonderful old hotel with a wonderful atmosphere, cosy lounges with lovely old fireplaces. I had a magnificent bedroom with a 4 poster bed up at the top of the oldest part of the hotel. The only downside was the very weak wifi signal in the main bar/lounge area. Although I found that there is an excellent strong signal over in the Stables bar across the courtyard.

Reviewed by
Kathy G

From Askam in Furness, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manor House Hotel and Spa
Only just ok. Not bad at £32. Would not pay anymore than that. No wifi in rooms.

Reviewed by
m Doran-Banks

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stagy at manor spa hotel
Very beautiful and characteristic building. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and very good choice. Of breakfast. Rooms had character and very clean.

Reviewed by
jean cooper

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place to stay.
Lovely place, staff are helpful, I thank mostly the lovely lady at the desk who made our night special for being most helpful. (Apology as I've forgotten her name).
We'll definitely stay again. :)

Reviewed by
S Millward

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manor House Hotel & Spa
Beautiful hotel , lovely staff great spa. Will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
sally f

From Ongar, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Good value for money with caring staff and service

Reviewed by
Edward G

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap couple getaway
We stayed for one night and made use of the spa facilities. The gym was ok, not the best but did the job. The pool area was lovely and the staff very friendly. Both me and my partner had top quality massage's as well.
Special mention to the stables bar. Really loved this place! Overall a great weekend.

Reviewed by
James Kirk

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next