You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Tumbling Weir Hotel & Restaurant

3

Canaan Way Ottery St Mary, Exeter, EX11 1AQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Tessa C

  • June 2016

One night stay

My daughter and I stayed here for one night and shared a room.

The room was very comfortable, and very clean. We arrived at about 8pm on a Friday night, and when asked if we could eat at the restaurant were told, yes, but only if you're quick, which was a little disconcerting having just driven for 3.5 hours straight. The food was OK - my ribeye steak was a little overdone, but the service was good. Prices were for two ribeye steaks and one pudding, plus 4 soft drinks £47.00. When we asked about breakfast the following day, we were told that it wouldn't start until 8:30 which was too late for our arrangements on a Saturday so we had to forego that. No other option offered or refund. Having slept we left the hotel at 8am the following morning. All in all a pleasant enough stay.

  • David B

  • December 2015

Second Time Around

This stay was my second this year at the Tumbling Weir Hotel.

The hotel is situated in a very convenient and quiet position in Ottery. There is a comfortable feeling of being in a family run business and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. Breakfast is excellent. I stayed in a double room for single occupation. I have my own rating system and as a single room it scored a 9 1/2 /10 and as a double 9/10, as it may be a little cosy for two people. These are high scores, as I tend to be very particular about details. I have no hesitation in recommending it and would be my choice whenever staying in Ottery St Mary.

  • martin t

  • September 2015

Enjoyable Stay

A little difficult to locate, well hidden from the roadside.

Hotel very nice and comfortable, would stay again if in the area

  • G Mears

  • August 2015

Very nice stopover

Nice clean room and en suite.

Beds very comfortable. Hotel set well away from the road and was very quiet. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Very relaxing stay. Would definitely book again if in the area.

  • Peter M

  • August 2015

Excellent holiday

I thoroughly enjoyed my 6 night stay.

The hotel is in a very nice setting once you have travelled down the disappointing entry off the road. But once you have arrived the setting and the garden are wonderful and extremely peaceful. The owner and staff made me very welcome and the accommodation was of a very high standard as was the breakfast. I am recommending it to my friends.

  • S Tonkin

  • August 2015

Shoddy: Booked a double, got a twin with the beds pushed together

The proprietor and staff were always polite and of a friendly demeanour.

The food was competently cooked, but nothing special and dinner was somewhat pricey for what it was. The most disappointing thing was that, having booked a double room and had that booking confirmed, when we arrived we were shown to a twin room that had the beds pushed together (but under a large bedsheet & duvet). Had we not been exhausted from a long day, we would have refused it and found somewhere else. When I queried why this had happened, the staff-member told me that the proprietor had decided that we could have a bigger room if we had a twin, so she decided to put us in there. Really. How is a huge bed with a double ridge down the middle anything but a downgrade. How is it reasonable to have a single bedside table with two bedside lights on one side of the bed and nothing on the other. Other niggles:

* Room for two, but only one sachet of drinking chocolate. * Superficially clean, but obvious mould/algae growing under the tap handles of the bathroom sink. * Duvet cover was coming unstitched at the corner - had obviously been ironed like that, and it must have been obvious when it was being put on the duvet. * Door lock was difficult to operate with key: staff-member said there was a "knack" to it, so they must be aware, but done nothing to remedy it.

  • J Keers

  • August 2015

Tumbling Weir Hotel

Really loved this hotel, excellent service very friendly staff, would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Absolutely gorgeous garden really relaxing.

  • Anthony B

  • August 2015

Excellent stay in Ottery St. Mary

Very comfortable, clean, well.

Very comfortable, clean, well-equipped room. Welcoming, helpful hosts. Excellent breakfast. Would highly recommend.

  • John F

  • June 2015

Such a pleasant change to staying in a chain hotel.

Very friendly staff, lovely setting, clean and very affordable.

I had a lovely time, and the breakfast was brilliant. Comfy bed, and everything I needed was provided. Such a change for the usual chains I end up in. Will definitely be back again.

  • Susan O

  • April 2015

Overnight stay en route for the South East

Small, friendly and welcoming place to stay.

Off the main road and very quiet. An excellent breakfast, included homemade jams and local honey.