No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Tumbling Weir Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Canaan Way Ottery St Mary, Exeter, EX11 1AQ
The Tumbling Weir is a thatched hotel, converted from a 17th Century cottage, nestling between the River Otter and its mill stream. The hotel is family owned and run and is in a very tranquil, rural setting.The Tumbling Weir has a 2 star AA rating with a merit score of 78%. The hotel has an excellent location in Devon, being 12 miles away from Exeter. It is just 4 miles from Exeter airport and within easy reach of the M5 and the east Devon coast. The hotel has its own restaurant serving local West Country produce, imaginatively cooked and beautifully presented. The breakfasts are famous with homemade preserves and the freshest local eggs and sausages. The Tumbling Weir is set in nearly an acre of pretty landscaped gardens with interesting plantings and extensive wildlife. A new terrace overlooks the gardens and is an ideal spot to enjoy the peace and quiet of the rural aspect, yet the town centre is only a 5 minute level walk. The 10 bedrooms have very comfortable beds, smart bed linen, down bedding and a range of English toiletries. The majority of the bedrooms have rural views and they are a haven of peace and quiet, far away from traffic noise and street lights. The Otter Suite is the perfect location for conferences, meetings and parties. The light filled room overlooks the tranquil gardens and the function menus on offer are interesting and keenly priced. PLEASE NOTE: Check In is from 13:00 to 22:00. Check Out is by 10:30. IF YOU ARE BOOKING FOR ACCOMMODATION ON THE DAY, COULD YOU PLEASE RING THE HOTEL TO CONFIRM THE RESERVATION. Please advise if you are arriving after 10 pm, so special arrangements can be made. Regrettably we cannot accept pets. The Restaurant is open every day, except Sunday evening and Monday lunch. Last orders for dinner are 8.30 pm. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the Hotel, including the bedrooms
Picture of The Tumbling Weir Hotel & Restaurant, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ottery
This hotel is located next to a nice and quiet park along a river. Whilst the approach by car may make you wonder where you got to, you will eventually arrive at a lovely and relaxing location with friendly people. The room was well furnished, clean and quiet as I requested. The staff were all very obliging and pleasant. 10 out of 10.

Reviewed by
F Opitz

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
Fantastic hotel, great reception and excellent value for money. Have used before and will use again

Reviewed by
Simon Jay

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
Better than some top notch hotels I've stayed in london

Reviewed by
George McCourt

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable short break
A friendly family hotel in a quiet environment.

Reviewed by
D Holden

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hidden gem
Knew of the hotel but had never stayed there before. very welcoming host. The room was spotless and well equipped.
The breakfast was excellent.
Can't fault.

Reviewed by
Alan M

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
All very nice for a relaxing visit to the west country. Lovely setting well placed for Ottery and the surrounding countryside. We've been to the Tumbling Weir 3 times now and enjoyed every trip.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent stay
Exceellent place to stay and lovely food

Reviewed by
Mary P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyable stay. A bit difficult to find, between two warehouses, but the place itself is very nice. Room very comfortable and the food was excellent !
Ottery St. Mary itself was beautiful !

Reviewed by
James Wimbush

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Very Good

Reviewed by
i davies

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for Exeter airport with exceptional "cherry pie" fragranced cherry tree in garden!
Needing somewhere close to Exeter airport to stay the night as our flight was very early next morning, we chose this place it because it was described as offering peace and quiet. We were greeted in an efficient and warm manner although the owners had a domestic incident going on so perhaps were a little preoccupied. Before dark we took a short walk around the garden and were wowed by a mature cherry tree in blossom, its fragrance wafted through the grounds. I have since bought that variety for myself. We ate in and found the menu a little dated but cooked to a satisfactory standard. Because we had to leave before anyone was up next morning we were kindly offered a packed breakfast that was left in a fridge behind the bar for us. We tried to leave quietly but were thwarted by some creaky floor boards and stairs, only to be expected in an old property.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next